Maui Jim Reviews | Glassdoor

Maui Jim Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Maui Jim CEO Walter Hester
Walter Hester
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maui Jim full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture and benefits.

    Cons

    Promotions are few and far between. Pay isn't great. Spend more money on alcohol and parties than recognizing employees that go above and beyond.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize when you have a hard worker and make it worth it.

    Maui Jim2019-01-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maui Jim full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The sun product is well made, great lenses and styling has improved year after year.

    Cons

    Absolutely no support for sales team, management uses scare tactics on field sales. No negotiating room in sales.

    Advice to Management

    Inspire with positive reinforcement and leading by example.

    Maui Jim2019-01-12
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "customer fullfillment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maui Jim full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    casual clothing, shorts, flip flops

    Cons

    if people we hirer up then you .. they thought they were better. lead need to be able to your job.. an supervisors need more of a back bone.. Leasds need to treat everyone the same..

    Maui Jim2018-11-22
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maui Jim full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Quality product and brand/product

    Cons

    Micro managed and actually tracked via an app. Upper management optuse and hard headed. Company destined to get swallowed up as no general direction from aged management ideas and concepts.

    Advice to Management

    Hire quality people and trust they know how to run their particular territories. Relinquish control you aren’t willing to have put on you.

    Maui Jim2018-11-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Maui Jim Company Rating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Entry in Peoria, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Maui Jim part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Maui Jim has a fun work environment. Even in a low level, data entry position I felt like part of the team.

    Cons

    My position was seasonal, and ended suddenly. However, I knew this when accepting and would go back in a more permanent role.

    Maui Jim2018-09-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at Maui Jim

    Pros

    There are a lot of pros in working customer service. Maui Jim is a great company that runs on the aloha spirit. They give their employees all the tools to make working in customer service easy and enjoyable.

    Cons

    The pay could be a little better for how many calls are taken

    Maui Jim2018-07-15
  8. "Repair technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Maui Jim

    Pros

    Bonus party not much anything else

    Cons

    Low pay mandatory overtime boring work

    Maui Jim2018-08-02
  9. "Event Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Maui Jim

    Pros

    Great team culture. Fun places to travel to. A good time for a young person .

    Cons

    Lazy management that doesn't value team members. Not much training to start. Long hours that are not recognized.

    Maui Jim2018-07-16
  10. "Maui Jim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maui Jim full-time

    Pros

    Casual clothes, Aloha Culture, Friendly Co-workers

    Cons

    Still an office environment

    Maui Jim2018-06-19
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Tonka Bay, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maui Jim full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great. Flexible environment. I work remotely so Have a home office and schedule my own appointments. Corp office is very friendly and we are known in the industry for excellent customer service, high quality product and fast turnaround times.

    Cons

    I really don’t have any cons. If you are in s field sales position, be prepared to be organized. There is not a true CRM system so you need to keep track of your progress.

    Maui Jim2018-04-25
Found 60 reviews