KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Maurices

Is this your company?

Maurices

Add a Review

Maurices Full Time Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 1,413 reviews

3.7
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Maurices President George Goldfarb (no image)
George Goldfarb
8 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Maurices and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Assistant Manager

    Sep 7, 2016 - Full Time Assistant Manager in Grandville, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment, fun promotions and wonderful staff. The company takes great care of all employees

    Cons

    There isn't a problem with the store in my life. I've never wanted to change a thing about the company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Make no mistake, it's a typical retail job

    Nov 28, 2020 - Full-time Assistant Manager in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relatively easy for a management position, great clothing discount, bonuses for meeting sales goals, size inclusive (00-24W, something for everyone), don't need a college degree

    Cons

    Not a sustainable company - clothing is hit or miss, poor quality ("fast fashion") and not ethically sourced or produced. Hourly wage should have been higher, considering it was a full-time management position in a city with a high cost of living. Store environment was catty and sales associates had little to no work ethic.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Review

    Nov 7, 2020 - Full Time Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for lots of perks

    Cons

    Moving towards social media for sales

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Team, terrible company

    Mar 13, 2018 - Full Time Assistant Manager in Gresham, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team environment, great place to learn, great product, great visual presentation. Learned a lot from my store manager and got great experience as a full time myself.

    Cons

    Upper management had unrealistic expectations with few hours. Pay also left a lot to be desired. They wanted a lot of time and dedication but didn’t want to compensate hard workers properly.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Customers and Good benefits

    Oct 11, 2016 - Full Time Assistant Manager in Amarillo, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has great benefits and customers are generally open to suggestion which makes the job easier. Plenty of room to advance.

    Cons

    I really don't like how the store set up is so strict. There's no free thinking on displays or mannequins and I miss being creative in that area.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Better than many other places I've worked

    Sep 7, 2016 - Full Time Assistant Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great camaraderie, growth potential. Company does listen to feedback from any level employee.

    Cons

    Full-time is anything above 30 hours, but nowhere near 40.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love my job!

    Aug 17, 2016 - Full Time Assistant Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    maurices is in a class of its own. It's not like other retail. They care about their employees and their customers. Your management team is everytjing, so it can vary from store to store, but overall maurices is the gold standard when it comes to retail!

    Cons

    There's not a lot of negative when it comes to my store. Obviously more weekends off would be great. A higher starting wage across the board would also be awesome.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Pro/Con List for maurices

    Aug 3, 2016 - Full-time Assistant Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, working with wide variety of customers, rotating Sundays for Management. 40% discount on clothes and shoes, first look at incoming product. Chance to boost fashion knowledge through videos and readings at work, as well as becoming involved in social media promotion. Can occasionally get discounted items or gifts from company based on performance.

    Cons

    Traffic patterns greatly affect scheduling - hours can fluctuate each week. Some times have to drop what you're doing to fill in for others. Hard to take home a paycheck, especially if you're only working a few hours each week.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company

    Jun 2, 2016 - Full Time Assistant Manager in Traverse City, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of training and resources are available. The company makes you feel valued with promotions and competitions almost every month. The discount is awesome. Strong belief in work life balance.

    Cons

    Without a solid and committed team, the whole store can fall apart. Even though the company acknowledges it's associates, they don't always realize the amount of tasks they give teams sometimes doesn't coencide with putting customers first.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Started Great, But Then....

    May 5, 2016 - Full Time Assistant Manager in Lavale, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are decent for our area. This was a new location, and the pre-opening training was great - lots of trainers and managers from other stores came to help set up and train the managers and staff. It can be a fun place to work. The clothes are really cute, and it was enjoyable to create outfits and displays and use some creativity. They expect you to dress in the style of the clothes the store sells, but they offer a great employee discount!

    Cons

    At least in my store, the management and staff was well trained when the store opened (it was a new location), but there was a lot of turnover early on, and the later management wasn't trained sufficiently AT ALL. I was promoted to assistant manager and didn't receive any additional training except how to open and close the registers. I received a great deal of criticism from the higher ups about things I wasn't doing or was doing incorrectly, but that I hadn't been trained on. We were understaffed, I didn't have a store manager, and was left to my own devices. The pressure to meet difficult sales and credit card goals was intense and created an unpleasant work environment. I ultimately quit - between the unrealistic expectation and the work overload from being the only full-time employee while we were understaffed, this was not a good experience for me at all. I think the company has the potential to be a great place to work, and I hope that things are becoming more streamlined, and that they are investing in their team.

    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

Popular Careers with Maurices Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Maurices? Share Your Experiences

or