KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Maurices

Engaged Employer

Maurices

Add a Review

Maurices Employee Reviews about "hour"

Updated Aug 9, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 1,625 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Maurices President and CEO George Goldfarb and David Kornberg (no image)
George Goldfarb and David Kornberg
502 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "the pay is low for how much you have to buy in clothing and I am unable to switch shifts often(in 112 reviews)
  • "bad management led me to look fork work elsewhere(in 73 reviews)
  • "Had bad managers(in 64 reviews)
  • "Poor upper management.(in 43 reviews)
  • "Full time offers little to no work life balance and doesn’t compensate pay enough for missed time at home.(in 36 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Maurices and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "hour"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Superficial but Fun

    Mar 29, 2014 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clothing is 40% off to employees and the sale clothing is an additional 20% on top of the sale. I got 8.25 an hour which is 40 cents more than minimum wage here in Ohio, which really adds up when you're working (so so much because the managers make you work so often).

    Cons

    *I'm like a really nice girl but I'm just going to be honest so.. here goes* SMALL TEAM. My store had a gillion managers but only 3 other sales associates. So, if something happens and you need to get someone to work instead of you, it's nearly impossible because one or two of them are already working one and the other one will already have something going on. There are no options and the managers just get ticked at you. Unrealistic sales goals. They make you sell like 1000 dollars of merchandise every time that you work and the girls working with me are like fierce lions hunting their prey when it comes to getting customers so they can meet their super-high goals. Vain and catty co-workers Piggy-backing on my fierce lion analogy, some of the girls were just super catty and rude. One time, a girl I work with and I just so happened to be helping the same customer without realizing it (when you help a customer, you get credit for their sale and it goes toward meeting your goal..... not meeting your goals = no more job w maurice). Anyway, I checked the lady out because I had been helping her and then when she left, my coworker asked me to go to the employee room with her and then YELLED AT ME because "that was her customer". And then followed to say "You are really lucky that I'm taking this so well because most girls wouldn't take this like I do" ....... Also, I would make jokes about "Maurice" to my co-workers and they never laughed. If you don't get" a joke about Maurice and you work at Maurice's, you probably shouldn't work there anymore... I don't think Maurice wouldn't appreciate that ;) They make you push people to get a credit card On top of your sales goal, they want you to get like 2 new credit card applications every time that you work which is really unrealistic. The pressure to get all this stuff was just kind of ridiculous.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    They only care about the customers

    Jan 29, 2013 - Assistant Manager in Covington, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They offer a great employee discount. I have a wonderful store manager.

    Cons

    With a below average salary and under 20 hours a week you can't survive, always pushing the MCC which turns off customers- we are in a recession, constant sign and window changes- we are women, required MBA program and sales goals and store recovery- not enough time on a 4 hour shift, $20 Christmas bonus only good in store

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    maurices

    Jul 22, 2015 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    40 hour hourly work week for Store Management. Hourly, not salaried, so you get paid for what you work. Flexible schedule. No crazy hours (can't start prior to 9:30am, can't leave after 9:30pm).

    Cons

    VERY low pay for Store Management. Restructured Field Management; more micromanaging, less communication, less freedom. (went from a personal business feeling to a very corporate feeling) No overtime allowed.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Worst job I've ever had!

    Oct 20, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Sonora, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's hard to think of any honestly because the job was so terrible, but I guess if I could say one thing it would be that the hours were flexible.

    Cons

    I was very excited about this job but that changed quickly. I was part of the crew that opened the new store. There was hardly any training. We had some before the store opened but it was literally the store manager just explaining the jobs and having us watch videos. There was no on the floor training at all once the store opened. I worked 2, 4 hour shifts that were a week apart and at the beginning of my second shift the store manager told me that I was too timid and that I needed to 'prove I wanted to be there' or she was going to cut my hours even more than they already were or fire me. She told me at my interview that I was going to get 28 hours a week, she cut me down to 8 hours a week and this was spread across multiple days! She did this to multiple other girls. She also was expecting me to wear the clothes from the store at work. How was I supposed to do that when I was hardly working? She was very toxic and condescending. I was in tears for most of my shifts because of how I was treated. Mind you, I had just found out that I was pregnant right before I started this job and like 2 shifts in I am worrying about how I'm going to pay my bills or whether I'll have a job tomorrow. I am sure this is not the case for every location but this location in particular was terrible. The store manager clearly had no idea what she was doing. I have never experienced a job that trained people this way, and I used work in fine dining where I was training other people after 3 weeks of working there.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    First Asst Manager

    Mar 1, 2018 - First Assistant Manager in College Station, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, benefits

    Cons

    no training, not a full 40 hour work week for full-time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good and bad

    Feb 5, 2013 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The store is bright and open, has various "shops" with everything from casual to dressy and in between. Co-workers are like a second family and really make the difference from good to great in terms of teamwork and support. For me, my co-workers are why I stayed as long as I did. The discount is great at 40% (additional 20% off sale merch) and there are clothes for most personal styles and occupations. The company's bottom line is great and they also like to promote from within. There are rewards for making goals and depending on your team the atmosphere is usually bustling and happy, even on slower days. Your experience will vary greatly depending on your team and the way in which the store manager runs the show.

    Cons

    - This company is flat-out ridiculous when it comes to pushing their store credit card. Employees, associates and managers alike, are punished by upper management for not meeting credit card goals, which is about 30 new applications a week (this is impossible to reach, especially in smaller towns with a lot of regular customers.) You can be written up for not reaching your individual credit card goal (three write-ups and you're fired.) - While the company does like to promote from within, this takes a very long time. Also, depending on the size of your store, moving from part-time employment to full-time can be non-existent, and transfering stores is also quite the process and not very time efficient. - The pay is lacking for associates at around $8 - 8.50 an hour and you're only eligible for a raise once a year in the spring/summer; these can be good or bad (they're based on your sales numbers - for a low seller the raise can be nothing to about 10 cents.) Always ask for a quarter more when you're given the job. - The return policy is also ridiculous; the company is only hurting itself here. For example, I had a customer that returned a pair of jeans that she bought more than a YEAR ago, returning them because they 'wore out.' My manager said I had to do it. There are plenty of fraudulent returns as well, ones without receipts and from other stores, and you can be punished if you're the employee doing that return transaction. - The company's anti-shoplifting policies are also terrible - they basically make it impossible to apprehend shoplifters, and this can make for a stressful work enviroment during busier times. There can also be terrible communication (as was the case for me) between associates and upper management, and also bad communication between store managers and district managers. - While the company has an anti-gossiping policy, this is still a major issue that goes unaddressed (I heard many, many unprofessional comments made by both the store manager and DM) and can encourage cattiness in some situations. Cattiness also ensues if your store has individual sales goals and 'games' to get larger sales. - Full timers are expected to make several thousand a week, which can be hard, and even part-time associates are expected to make up to $1200 individually, sometimes even on week days! Hours are drastically cut if sales numbers are not being made; sometimes I'd get cut after two hours of being on my shift. - Our DM would tell our store manager that some of our girls were 'sloppy' and 'unfashionable' for not wearing all Maurices and not wearing 'enough' makeup. - Company policy is against telling customers the store is closed, so you can be there up to two to three hours after closing time. This wasn't as hard for me (single, no kiddos) but one of our girls was a mother of three and this was really hard for her to stay after hours (as late as 11 pm.) The worst part of this is the company then turns around and says you went over on hours so due to being open for customers after closing your hours are then cut the following week. This is contradictory and unfair. - If you are a 'positive net producer' your hours are increased, but if you're a 'negative net producer' your hours are drastically cut (sometimes down to four hours a week!) and you will be lectured by the managers on what you're doing wrong. My experience with Maurices is that they focus way too much on what you DIDN'T do, what sales you DIDN'T get and are constantly lecturing and punishing their employees. A little deserved praise and positivity would do wonders for employee morale.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Challenging but rewarding

    Jul 27, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many, many opportunities to move up the company. Never experienced any drama in the store. My store manager actually applied real life situation role plays. Coworkers always played as a team. Credit cards weren't an issue, because training was great.

    Cons

    Not many pay raises. Sales associates have inconsistent hour schedule. Sometimes, they would get three hours and the next week they could get 20 hours.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Fun Part time job

    Jun 12, 2016 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great clothing discount and the quality of clothing is well above average. Fun environment and good team to work with. Perfect job to supplement income, increase your connections, update your wardrobe or get you out of your normal 8-5 grind with your regular job. Lots of opportunities for advancement being they have over 800 stores in the US & Canada.

    Cons

    Constantly having to update the wardrobe to what is on the sales floor negates the incoming paycheck at times. Scheduling conflicts can occur when already working a 40 hour full time job & taking educational courses.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Store Leader

    Nov 8, 2018 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company always challenges you to do better through a great training program (the MBA) and incentives. Clothes are amazing and pay is better than other retailers.

    Cons

    It’s hard to keep a good work life balance, but that’s the nature of retail. It’s hard to accomplish all that’s expected without additional hours (training, shipment, visual, etc.). Without adequate hours, traffic per labor hour is higher and it’s difficult to achieve the expected 5% increase in conversion.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 Reviews

Popular Careers with Maurices Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Maurices? Share Your Experiences

or

Maurices Photos

+ Add Photo
Maurices photo of: Our Home Office which opened in May of 2016.
Maurices photo of: Our amazing Family Room at our home office where associates can have meetings, eat lunch, or just get away from their desks.
Maurices photo of: All of the conference rooms in our home office have floor to ceiling windows to promote transparency.
Maurices photo of: The views from our front porches -- there's one on every floor -- are stunning!
Maurices photo of: Our 7th floor outdoor space at the Home Office
Maurices photo of: Group Fitness Room at our Home Office
Maurices photo of: Gym at our Home Office
See All Photos