KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Maurices

Engaged Employer

Maurices

Add a Review

Maurices Employee Reviews about "pay"

Updated Jun 25, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 313 of over 1,594 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Maurices President and CEO George Goldfarb and David Kornberg (no image)
George Goldfarb and David Kornberg
496 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Maurices and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Sales Associate

    Jul 13, 2017 - Sales Associate in New Phila, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company culture was great and the overall organization, Maurices, seemed to care about its individual stores. Pay was like 9.50 which is good for someone in high school/college with zero sales experience.

    Cons

    The internal drama of certain stores was childish and made it harder to enjoy being there.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Growth with no work life balance

    May 24, 2021 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great positive environment with lots of room for growth with a great training program

    Cons

    Full time offers little to no work life balance and doesn’t compensate pay enough for missed time at home. As a store manager I was on call pretty much 24/7 and was always expected to be at work even when my child was sick and I had no one to take care of him.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company for first job

    Dec 18, 2020 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you're getting your first job I think this is a great place to start. I learned a lot about customer communication and sales.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't great as a regular sales associate but it increases significantly with managerial posistions

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    LOVE my job!

    Nov 11, 2014 - Sales Associate in Crystal City, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Getting to know "liv" (customers), fun work environment, flexible work schedule, working for a company that genuinely cares about associates and liv, the discount (of course), and I love working in an environment where I can actually spend time with liv and get to "shop with a friend"!

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say about my job, I absolutely love it! The starting pay is great and the fashion advice from associates and fashion magazines provided by the company is great!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    I used to love working here. Now I dread going to work.

    Apr 29, 2010 - First Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -customers -as long as your not just a part time sales rep the pay is good. -discount is pretty nice.

    Cons

    -snobby manager -catty coworkers -negative atmosphere after new manager came on board -can not express dissatisfaction for inability to connect with all workers without being reprimanded

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing place to work!

    Jul 25, 2015 - Sales Associate in Amsterdam, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company really shows how much they care. Great discount!!

    Cons

    Company doesn't pay as much as they should but other than that... Great!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Sales Associate

    May 12, 2015 - Retail Sales Associate in Albertville, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the customers and most employees are fun people to work for and there are a great incentives

    Cons

    the pay is low for how much you have to buy in clothing and I am unable to switch shifts often

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    assistant manager

    Jun 29, 2015 - Assistant Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    loved it its a great company to grow with and become something else in the company. Also the fashion is amazing

    Cons

    pay is not that great and sometimes dont get enough instruction on what exactly your supposed to do

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Love at first and full heart break at the end

    Mar 25, 2019 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -benefits -discount at 7 other companies - Co workers and multiple connections over the US -Lots of training materials to ensure you know policies and procedures. -incentives -bonus structure

    Cons

    -Learning all the materials but no growth opportunities -growth model severely outdated and expectation is to follow these and make the changes. -lack of support from district leaders and up -lengthy tenure of upper management develops into personal relationship versus being objective to all situations. -the practice of the promoted work life balance is consistent from leader to leader. -lack of communication from corporate to stores or delayed communication resulting in extra work. - Limiting pay to those who deserve extra and raise increases have been limited for over 4 years.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Part-Time Assistant Manager

    Oct 21, 2014 - Part Time Assistant Manager in Edinburgh, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a college student, I appreciate that maurices (and the store manager) allows the flexibility to schedule time off when needed. The pay is great for retail (at least it is for my location). Also, I've met some really great people.

    Cons

    You absolutely do NOT get paid for all the work you do. With how the sales work, you'd think you were working in commission, but you're not. Customers pick up on it too, which may put them in an uncomfortable situation as well. And the drama these "numbers" create between the staff is absolutely ridiculous. The new store manager is probably the best thing to happen to this company for quite some time. Before she came, the store was falling to pieces. Also, if you want an advancement, make sure you are persistent. I tried getting a full time position, and wasn't even given a chance before the hired someone else. I feel like favorites are played quite often in this business. If they don't like you, they'll do/come up with just about anything to get you out of there. The company seems money hungry. The upper management needs some serious work. And the company in general needs to catch up with the rest of them. Honestly, this is probably the worst company I've ever worked for.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 313 Reviews

Popular Careers with Maurices Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Maurices? Share Your Experiences

or

Maurices Photos

+ Add Photo
Maurices photo of: Our Home Office which opened in May of 2016.
Maurices photo of: Our amazing Family Room at our home office where associates can have meetings, eat lunch, or just get away from their desks.
Maurices photo of: All of the conference rooms in our home office have floor to ceiling windows to promote transparency.
Maurices photo of: The views from our front porches -- there's one on every floor -- are stunning!
Maurices photo of: Our 7th floor outdoor space at the Home Office
Maurices photo of: Group Fitness Room at our Home Office
Maurices photo of: Gym at our Home Office
See All Photos