KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Maurices

Engaged Employer

Maurices

Add a Review

Maurices Employee Reviews about "people"

Updated Jun 27, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 192 of over 1,595 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Maurices President and CEO George Goldfarb and David Kornberg (no image)
George Goldfarb and David Kornberg
496 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Maurices and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    You have to be a special kind of person...

    Aug 6, 2012 - Sales Associate in Pleasant Prairie, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discount Nice clothing : ) Good corporate ( free candy on holidays)

    Cons

    Have to buddy up with managers to get promotions Favoritism All the mangers walk all over you they nit pick on your attire and physic (chipped nails, wet hair) Managers and other associates steal your sales Have to give your sales away via 'rotating sales' on the weekends (the most volume days) Won't work with school or family life Cuts your hours if your not 'preforming' the way you want to Will cut hours due to stats but complain about how your not making stats (YOU HAVE NO HOURS TO MAKE THEM! ) Expects you to wear Maurices like clothing but will say something if managers don't think its very MauriceS Ran by teenagers (my one manager was 17) Never expect to get anything that is promised (compensation rates and such) Managers think they are better than you (and treat you that way when they work at a lady's clothing store!) Store managers hire new people and cut everyone elses hours (bad) to train them Holds meetings at 10:30 at night on weekdays when school is in session and expects you to be there Store managers make you complete worksheets Manager cant handle the store on her own POOR COMPENSATION RATES FOR ANYONE WHO ISN'T A MANAGER (sales associates and sales support) They 'prefer' associates to have the charge card Must be a mindless teenager to work there

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Would not recommend

    Mar 4, 2017 - First Assistant Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best thing about this, if you are an outgoing person is getting to work with the customers.

    Cons

    Pretty sure a lot of the great reviews here are people who were bribed to right good reviews or paid more too. This company is not a family, and will do anything for you too make them money. Management is caddy. Everyone talks about everyone. And you are never safe no matter how great of a worker you are. This company will use you, and drag you down till there is nothing left. They are very big on bribes and payouts and will down anything to get their way.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Oct 3, 2020 - Part Time Manager in Kingsport, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It has a small number of employees so its easy to get close to the people you work with and your customers. They are very flexible with your schedule and do promote within the store.

    Cons

    the only con i can think of is the pay. They aren't a big company so they cant pay you as much. As a manager I only made $9.50 an hour

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    So far so good...

    Mar 16, 2013 - Sales Associate in Rochester, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get a really nice discount on clothes! 40%!! The work is easy if you like selling things to people and getting to know your customers. You get to try on clothes at work so you are better equipped to help your customers with fit and style!

    Cons

    Can be boring when no one is in the store. Working with mainly women can get catty at times so there can be a lot of drama. Talking to everyone about the maurices credit card can get be a little overwhelming but it is a company standard.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Sales associate

    Jun 5, 2017 - Dining Room Hostess in Helena, MT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love seeing people enjoy their clothing and like to make people feel good about themselves

    Cons

    None that I know of at this time. I always hear good things about the company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    If any of my cons sound good to you, feel free to apply. But it will eat your soul.

    May 12, 2022 - Key Holder in Prescott Valley, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This place has more cons than pros. The ONLY pro is the discount. I’m sure Full-time can name one or two more but in that whole store only 2 are full time.

    Cons

    This company has an issue maintaining people especially in the Reginal and District Management making it difficult for Store Managers (who eventually quit). That being said, working your way up the ladder is easy and quick if you agree to sell your soul and body. After some time you will realize that an app is your best friend there and they will write out exactly what to say to customers. Making us sound like robots. Especially when it comes to pushing their credit card. The credit card goals are ridiculous especially working in a small town. The store sets are very frequent (a bit too frequent). The company overloads their stores with freight so you will ALWAYS be working on shipment and fixing the floor before store sets. You must maintain ‘their’ appearance which is border line grandma apparel. The customers are horrendous too. A bunch of Christian old ladies that must complain about everything. Also their styles repeat so you will get a lot of ‘I bought it three years ago, do you have it?’ If you have any other store around you I m sure it’s 100% times better than Maurices. You have been warned. Best of luck.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Spent a very long time with this company with very little complaints.

    Apr 17, 2018 - Store Manager in Tyler, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, honestly doesn’t get better than the people you meet at maurices. (At least with my experience.) work life balance was fantastic. Very flexible schedule no crazy quarter long black out dates! Great PTO and benefits. Lots of structure and organization throughout company. Do your job, don’t leave anything on the table and you will be taken care of.

    Cons

    I was in management for over 7 years and could have stayed forever if growth opportunities were more attainable. Too many stores! Over 1000 of any store is just too much and doesn’t leave much room for growth within. Very discouraging to see leaders coming in from outside of the brand when there are amazing people within their own walls. If you feel like you have to bring someone in from another brand, there might be an issue with people development, Just saying.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    Jun 11, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work environment and people

    Cons

    No work life balance at all.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Customer Service

    Oct 28, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Warrensburg, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very conscious of the people that came to shop with us and the customer service we delivered to them.

    Cons

    Smallish company, always adapting to the changes in the market.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good Company and People - Doesn’t pay well

    Apr 9, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Burbank, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved the people i worked with over the years and generally enjoyed the company. i was promoted to a full time position but the amount of work v. what you get paid is not enough.

    Cons

    the pay is not very much but great work environment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 192 Reviews

Popular Careers with Maurices Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Maurices? Share Your Experiences

or

Maurices Photos

+ Add Photo
Maurices photo of: Our Home Office which opened in May of 2016.
Maurices photo of: Our amazing Family Room at our home office where associates can have meetings, eat lunch, or just get away from their desks.
Maurices photo of: All of the conference rooms in our home office have floor to ceiling windows to promote transparency.
Maurices photo of: The views from our front porches -- there's one on every floor -- are stunning!
Maurices photo of: Our 7th floor outdoor space at the Home Office
Maurices photo of: Group Fitness Room at our Home Office
Maurices photo of: Gym at our Home Office
See All Photos