KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Maurices

Engaged Employer

Maurices

Add a Review

Maurices Employee Reviews about "store manager"

Updated Jun 25, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 of over 1,594 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Maurices President and CEO George Goldfarb and David Kornberg (no image)
George Goldfarb and David Kornberg
496 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Maurices and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "store manager"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great at first.

    Jan 14, 2016 - Part Time Assistant Manager in Ozark, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The discount is wonderful and so are the incentives: bonuses, free things, money load during the holidays. Also, I really enjoyed connecting with the customers

    Cons

    Rude and catty store manager and co store manager. Treated the lower people on the totem poll like we were idiots, even assistant managers. You must conform to their styles, even though their philosophies say that we CATER TO INDIVIDUAL STYLE. If you wore something that one of the store managers (not assistant) didn't like, you got judge mental looks or catty attitudes. There is also little to no room for improvement, because everything you do and say is wrong. You can't win, and you will constantly be stepped all over like you are a lowly peon.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Never again

    Jun 24, 2014 - Sales Associate in Fargo, ND
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really can't think of much......the discount I guess......

    Cons

    100% waist of my time. The manager couldn't give me over 14 hours a week. And still continued to hire people. I found there was a lot of gossip among the girls that worked there and alot of trash talk. Now, I understand that in a store only run and operated by females this sort of thing is bound to happen. However, I would expect the managers to not participate in this behavior. I worked in back tagging clothes...and I would often hear managers also 'gossiping' and talking about other girls working....as if I wasn't there. Disrespectful. There was alot of sneaky behavior...and the general manager of the store was very passive. She seemed nice enough....but she wasnt. Simply. Also after leaving maurices....I would expect to be treated like a guest or a normal costumer when I come in to shop. That is not the case however. And they won't be seeing me back.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Lots of opportunity if you are a favorite.

    Dec 1, 2013 - First Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great associate discount, great training, good benefits, and customer first service culture. The company's service culture does stand out against other retailers. We are empowered to do what we can to make our customers happy. The clothing is very trendy and good quality and we are encourage to keep up on trends and try on product to help in assisting our customers. The company does reward us for a job well done by holding contests and awarding us with prizes. The training programs are also great as well. I've learned a lot since I started here.

    Cons

    Individual sales goals, favoritism, no accountability, no communication, low pay. I have been here going on 3 years and still in the same position even after completing the maurices manager training program. I watch as other managers with lower position than me get other stores in the area without any mention of the opportunities to me. I am treated poorly by my store manager and my DM gives me very little support in dealing with her. I have shared my feedback and concerns about her more than once and nothing gets done. I have called human resources in the past with no success as well. There is no accountability in our store and our manager gets away with breaking company policy, comes and goes as she pleases, talks to us with no respect, and we see our DM about 3 times a year so she has no idea what is actually going on. It saddens me that myself and our girls are subject to a crazy and emotionally unstable manager who has full support from our DM. We have had over 20 girls quit in the past 2 years and a lot quit because of her. I don't know how much longer I will be here either, it is a shame because I love what I do and the company has a great service culture. If you are not a favorite of your DM or work in a store of a favorite you have no chance to get your own store. Part time assistant managers have been promoted to store managers over me and without completing the MBA program. They also came from stores of favorites. The other downside is the individual goals set of each person each week. If you don't produce your % of your hours in sales you are considered to be not doing your job or costing the company money. It can create a lot of stress because it does not promote teamwork which is one of the company values. Also if you don't work 'peak' shifts when it is busy it is not an accurate reflection of someone's selling abilities. You also have girls being sales hogs or stealing sales because the more money you bring the more hours you receive.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Sales Associate

    Jan 30, 2017 - Sales Associate in Port Huron, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You geta decent discount on their overpriced merchandize.

    Cons

    There is competition amongst all levels of employees which is created by sales goals and other related goals. Manages would steal the credit for sales from associates in order to make themselves look better to the store manager. The women there are very insecure and therefore it felt like an episode of Mean Girls every time I went to work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    store manager was a nightmare

    Sep 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of company enthusiasm for fashion and personalized experiences. cute clothes. 40% discount, plus an occasional additional discount. Lots of opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    store manager had inadequate training which trickled down throughout the store and resulted in low sales and numbers. instead of 'coaching,' like the company teaches heavily throughout training procedures, the store manager would often get angry, shift blame, resort to petty behavior, bad mouth sales associates and other managers, and make little to no effort to actually work on store wide opportunity areas. I also heard numerous racist comments out of the store managers mouth throughout the few months I worked there.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good and bad

    Feb 5, 2013 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The store is bright and open, has various 'shops' with everything from casual to dressy and in between. Co-workers are like a second family and really make the difference from good to great in terms of teamwork and support. For me, my co-workers are why I stayed as long as I did. The discount is great at 40% (additional 20% off sale merch) and there are clothes for most personal styles and occupations. The company's bottom line is great and they also like to promote from within. There are rewards for making goals and depending on your team the atmosphere is usually bustling and happy, even on slower days. Your experience will vary greatly depending on your team and the way in which the store manager runs the show.

    Cons

    - This company is flat-out ridiculous when it comes to pushing their store credit card. Employees, associates and managers alike, are punished by upper management for not meeting credit card goals, which is about 30 new applications a week (this is impossible to reach, especially in smaller towns with a lot of regular customers.) You can be written up for not reaching your individual credit card goal (three write-ups and you're fired.) - While the company does like to promote from within, this takes a very long time. Also, depending on the size of your store, moving from part-time employment to full-time can be non-existent, and transfering stores is also quite the process and not very time efficient. - The pay is lacking for associates at around $8 - 8.50 an hour and you're only eligible for a raise once a year in the spring/summer; these can be good or bad (they're based on your sales numbers - for a low seller the raise can be nothing to about 10 cents.) Always ask for a quarter more when you're given the job. - The return policy is also ridiculous; the company is only hurting itself here. For example, I had a customer that returned a pair of jeans that she bought more than a YEAR ago, returning them because they "wore out." My manager said I had to do it. There are plenty of fraudulent returns as well, ones without receipts and from other stores, and you can be punished if you're the employee doing that return transaction. - The company's anti-shoplifting policies are also terrible - they basically make it impossible to apprehend shoplifters, and this can make for a stressful work enviroment during busier times. There can also be terrible communication (as was the case for me) between associates and upper management, and also bad communication between store managers and district managers. - While the company has an anti-gossiping policy, this is still a major issue that goes unaddressed (I heard many, many unprofessional comments made by both the store manager and DM) and can encourage cattiness in some situations. Cattiness also ensues if your store has individual sales goals and "games" to get larger sales. - Full timers are expected to make several thousand a week, which can be hard, and even part-time associates are expected to make up to $1200 individually, sometimes even on week days! Hours are drastically cut if sales numbers are not being made; sometimes I'd get cut after two hours of being on my shift. - Our DM would tell our store manager that some of our girls were "sloppy" and "unfashionable" for not wearing all Maurices and not wearing "enough" makeup. - Company policy is against telling customers the store is closed, so you can be there up to two to three hours after closing time. This wasn't as hard for me (single, no kiddos) but one of our girls was a mother of three and this was really hard for her to stay after hours (as late as 11 pm.) The worst part of this is the company then turns around and says you went over on hours so due to being open for customers after closing your hours are then cut the following week. This is contradictory and unfair. - If you are a "positive net producer" your hours are increased, but if you're a "negative net producer" your hours are drastically cut (sometimes down to four hours a week!) and you will be lectured by the managers on what you're doing wrong. My experience with Maurices is that they focus way too much on what you DIDN'T do, what sales you DIDN'T get and are constantly lecturing and punishing their employees. A little deserved praise and positivity would do wonders for employee morale.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    if you could work at the maurices of 5 years ago, I'd recommend it.

    Jan 15, 2017 - Store Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good coworkers, nice regular customers, good health insurance. They standardized the visual merchandising for the customer and this made sense. Most of the leadership are really nice. They did stop making us sell the credit card so it felt like I could be an honest person again when helping a customer.

    Cons

    The change in field leadership structure made it really hard to grow beyond a store manager. If you did get an area lead position, you'd probably need to relocate and it's not worth the small salary step to be running 4-5 stores. If you got the market lead position, good luck going any further because there's only TWO zone leader positions and both of those people aren't going anywhere (they are both wonderful). The quality of the clothing has really tanked. I have clothes from 5 years ago that are still in great condition, and my clothes from the last two years fall apart after a couple of washes. They also changed the bonus structure. Now the bonuses are laughable. If your store made plan your associate might get an extra $18. Not motivating to them. Or to the 1A/SM that used to get 1k and now you're getting $150. Same amount of work put into it...and just less reward. It used to be a fun company to work for, even though we knew we could make more somewhere else... we always felt appreciated. Then the trips, awards, and bonuses started to go away, and the recognition piece started to get lost. Nothing makes it worth it anymore. Also, good luck with the online ordering... or anything to do with the online store. It's a customer service nightmare and you'll get plenty of upset customers (rightfully so) coming into the store that either never received their order, or had their items canceled days after the order was placed. The technology just isn't able to keep up.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Working for Maurices was definitely a very rewarding experience and I grew a lot as store manager.

    Oct 28, 2014 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started as an Assistant Manager and worked my way up to Store manager in about 4 months. Moving up is very easy as long as you are motivated and love to work with people and help employees grow.

    Cons

    The only full time positions they offer are 1st assistant managers and store managers. If you are applying for part time assistant manager or just a regular sales rep it is impossible to get many hours. The pay is very low.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Visual Merchandising

    Mar 18, 2021 - Visual Merchandising Manager in Maize, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved the product and got discounts.

    Cons

    The atmosphere in the store when the leading manager was there brought everyone else down. Made multiple people cry and had many people quit because of a certain person. We were always having to hire new people.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Was an awful experience

    Apr 28, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is a great discount

    Cons

    Co workers were very rude and snobby. Wouldn't work with my schedule (sunday and wendsday church) to high of goals in sales and credit cards. Boss was unaware of everything going on in the store and the assistant manager ran the store

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 78 Reviews

Popular Careers with Maurices Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Maurices? Share Your Experiences

or

Maurices Photos

+ Add Photo
Maurices photo of: Our Home Office which opened in May of 2016.
Maurices photo of: Our amazing Family Room at our home office where associates can have meetings, eat lunch, or just get away from their desks.
Maurices photo of: All of the conference rooms in our home office have floor to ceiling windows to promote transparency.
Maurices photo of: The views from our front porches -- there's one on every floor -- are stunning!
Maurices photo of: Our 7th floor outdoor space at the Home Office
Maurices photo of: Group Fitness Room at our Home Office
Maurices photo of: Gym at our Home Office
See All Photos