KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Maurices

Engaged Employer

Maurices

Add a Review

Maurices Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 of over 1,594 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Maurices President and CEO George Goldfarb and David Kornberg (no image)
George Goldfarb and David Kornberg
501 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Maurices and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Growth with no work life balance

    May 24, 2021 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great positive environment with lots of room for growth with a great training program

    Cons

    Full time offers little to no work life balance and doesn’t compensate pay enough for missed time at home. As a store manager I was on call pretty much 24/7 and was always expected to be at work even when my child was sick and I had no one to take care of him.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good job but DMs don't live by the same rules.

    Oct 22, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, excellent benefits. Recently all store managers were moved to hourly, resulting in more fair compensation. Now, any hours worked over 40 or on major holidays get paid time & 1/2. There are tons of incentives for meeting goals, and since getting the newest Sr vp there have been a lot of positive changes. He is very open to new ideas and has been testing a lot of new projects through different districts to make things even better. If you have quality associates, the stores run well.

    Cons

    The biggest disconnect seems to be between upper and mid level management. The Sr vp is awesome and cares that managers get a work life balance. But if the DM doesn't support this, it doesn't work. It doesn't help work life balance to take managers off salary if the result is them working later in the day every day and missing dinner with the family in order to be working the needs of the business. My DM never answers her phone. Ever. And if you ask for a call back, and you're lucky enough to get one, it won't be for at least a couple days. She never works past 3pm or God forbid on a weekend. Don't have any emergency situations arise outside of business hours because you're on your own. There's a confidential line you can call into but I know for a fact that my DM has been turned in on this line and was told which of her managers it was. And guess what... She's no longer with the company. So basically you get stuck with whichever DM you get and that's it. I've been in the same position for over 7 years with no options for moving up even though I know there are opportunities because they say I'm not relocatable. Which is funny since I've already relocated to a different store once. Advancement beyond store manager is very cloudy and there is no clear path to take if that's what you want. I've worked through the entire manager achievement program (DMBA) and still no opportunity for advancement. My store is in the top 3 for my district. My staff could all be promoted up. There is no reason I couldn't do more but again they don't have a connection between the mid and upper level management.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    First Assistant Manager

    Jul 14, 2020 - First Assistant Manager in Myrtle Beach, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work life balance is highly promoted

    Cons

    certain things should not be mandated to be in a job description such as forcing employees to take pictures weekly of them trying on clothing

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love

    Apr 24, 2021 - Store Leader in Rock Springs, WY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Care and work life balance is great!

    Cons

    No room for growth. DL positions are only given to leaders around big cities. Doesn’t make sense! I have zoom! I have an airport! I can drive! Will lose talent over it

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best job ever

    Mar 30, 2022 - Store Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They value their employees and have a good work life balance!

    Cons

    You have to work various nights, weekends and holidays.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Challenging and Rewarding

    Mar 19, 2014 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company you work for tries to keep things fun. Company is very big on personal development and advancement. If you want to advance they will help and support you.

    Cons

    There is high turnover even at district management level. Employees are often young and immature. Finding a good work life balance can be challenging.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Ok

    Nov 14, 2021 - Full-time Assistant Manager in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved my team and women I worked with.

    Cons

    Hours and schedule didn’t allow work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company!

    Apr 19, 2022 - Senior Digital Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - leadership genuinely cares about associates well being - good work life balance (yay for summer fridays) - opportunity for 100% remote

    Cons

    - unorganized - lack of structure

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company

    Sep 11, 2019 - First Assistant Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They seem to care about their people and have an excellent leadership training program that can be utilized by all employees.

    Cons

    Retail hours and if you don’t have the right store lead work life balance can be hard.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place if looking for retail sales training

    Jul 10, 2017 - Assistant Manager in Huntsville, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You'd think one of the best reasons to work is for the 40% discount, well as it turns out this company has much more to offer. The coaching you get from everyone is usually always professional and never meant to discourage you. Great work/life balance for part and full time employees. Great leadership opportunities as well as potential to promote from within. Great company culture.

    Cons

    Sometimes hard-to-meet sales goals can be a bummer on a team/store. Selling credit cards in certain markets can be difficult as well.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 107 Reviews

Popular Careers with Maurices Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Maurices? Share Your Experiences

or

Maurices Photos

+ Add Photo
Maurices photo of: Our Home Office which opened in May of 2016.
Maurices photo of: Our amazing Family Room at our home office where associates can have meetings, eat lunch, or just get away from their desks.
Maurices photo of: All of the conference rooms in our home office have floor to ceiling windows to promote transparency.
Maurices photo of: The views from our front porches -- there's one on every floor -- are stunning!
Maurices photo of: Our 7th floor outdoor space at the Home Office
Maurices photo of: Group Fitness Room at our Home Office
Maurices photo of: Gym at our Home Office
See All Photos