Maverick Trading Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Maverick Trading CEO  Robb Reinhold  (no image)
Robb Reinhold
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "The instructors are brilliant traders, and always approachable(in 13 reviews)

  • "I’ve learned more from Maverick Trading than all the years on my own(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "I wish we had semi-annual Trader Summits - where all the Traders around the globe come together for a week(in 9 reviews)

  • "The payment system wasn't disclosed properly when I joined them(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "I love it at Maverick, give it a try."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Independent Contractor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maverick Trading part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I learned how to trade, so much knowledge.

    Cons

    Cost of the program, didn't know about it.

    Continue reading
    Maverick Trading2020-04-04
  2. Helpful (449)

    "Uplifting Firm."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Trader in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Joined Maverick upon completion of graduate school and wanted the freedom and flexibility of very low expenses and ability to live anywhere and trade. Really great group of traders who will mentor you, fun group of guys. The firm doesn't take commission splits from trades that traders place, which keeps your best interest in mind (profitability). Firm only generates profits if your overall account is profitable with placing trades. Which is very hard to find these days! There are no limits on how much capital traders can trade with and your not limited to placing a certain amount of trades and can essentially trade your own strategy, time-frames etc. Just from the trade alerts the company sends out, one can easily generate substantial returns.

    Cons

    From the beginning Maverick has continually developed and progressed in terms of trader support and ease in obtaining capital. Bright futures ahead for Maverick and its traders!

    Continue reading
    Maverick Trading2016-04-14
  3. "Need for improvement"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maverick Trading full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The trading program might be handy for freshers

    Cons

    The training program needs to be updated constantly. Without it, the company can't survive for long. The people here are fun, but sometimes they take even serious stuff too lightly, which I don't appreciate.

    Continue reading
    Maverick Trading2020-04-22
  4. Helpful (7)

    "They Blame You for Their Frauds"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trading Assistant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maverick Trading full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The information shared can be valuable for some people.

    Cons

    They hide the fact that the program is quite expensive. If you question them, they will blame you for not being aware enough. It's stupid and so unethical!

    Continue reading
    Maverick Trading2020-02-14
  5. Helpful (298)

    "Best Prop firm out there right now"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Options Trader in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been in and out of the prop industry for over 15 years now and most of the firms I used to know have either closed or merged with the others. I chose Maverick as they have basically run as an independent firm and taken care of their traders for the long term. They are very upfront with the costs of trading and are very available when you need them. Fast payout on profits only take 1 day.

    Cons

    TWS software isn't my favorite platform I've traded on but the costs of data feeds are 10% of what I paid on sterling and laser

    Continue reading
    Maverick Trading2017-03-06
  6. Helpful (3)

    "An Extraordinary Life Requires An Extraordinary Leap"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Options Trader in Rancho Santa Fe, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best curriculum, constantly updated and taught in a way that anyone can understand. The instructors are brilliant traders, and always approachable. The community 'feel'. You never feel alone and there's always someone better that is willing to help. Commit and this will change your life! Financial freedom is a feeling the entire Maverick community wants all of its Members to feel. Pyramid? How?!! Someone explain how this is an MLM - my Trading Account is my own business. I've NEVER been offered anything to bring more Members, nor asked to. The communal attitude of abundance - everyone helps everyone - we can all get rich mentality.

    Cons

    I wish we had semi-annual Trader Summits - where all the Traders around the globe come together for a week.

    Continue reading
    Maverick Trading2019-11-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "After two decades of work with financial firms, I found one whose culture inspires me!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader - Options & Currencies in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maverick Trading full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Maverick's team, from the CEO to the admin staff have hearts of gold. Five years of trading with the firm has shown me the character of those leading the Firm, and they are the real thing, brilliant, and are genuinely good people. I'm free. I run my Trading Account as an entity - it's my own company I'm building whenever and wherever I want. Where else can you get that, AND experts that will rally around you whenever you need advice or help?! The Maverick culture is one of abundance - everyone helps everyone, much like a family. It is apparent that Maverick's management - even after 23 years of operation - still searches for ways to improve its structure, process, curriculum and Trader experience.

    Cons

    Sometimes my Coach will introduce a new gem of knowledge to me to help with a specific need at the time. I've noticed that the Firm has recently been conducting more impromptu webinars with topics like these - I hope that continues. The level of knowledge is so high among the management team, that I feel like I still have so much to learn. But it's great knowing that there's always someone better waiting and willing to help me.

    Continue reading
    Maverick Trading2019-10-31
  8. Helpful (4)

    "The payments could be a problem"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maverick Trading full-time

    Pros

    I like their impromptu webinars.

    Cons

    The payment system wasn't disclosed properly when I joined them. Things got so bad that I was in debt when the program got over. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who can't afford it.

    Continue reading
    Maverick Trading2019-12-02
  9. Helpful (229)

    "TRADER"

    5.0
     

    I have been working at Maverick Trading

    Pros

    Everything! I love it alot!

    Cons

    Nothing once you are aboard then you are good!

    Maverick Trading2017-09-14
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Great Trader Program BUT with a Cost. Literally."

    1.0
    Former Employee - Clerk 

    I worked at Maverick Trading full-time

    Pros

    The company has a great program for their traders,

    Cons

    The company provides a great trading program, however, you have to pay for it. There's a fee deducted monthly, which is not disclosed at the beginning. You'll just be surprised to know you are in debt after completing the program. Joining this company is like venturing on a new business, instead of just getting a job. You decide if this is good for you or not.

    Maverick Trading2019-09-09

    Maverick Trading Response

    September 17, 2019Operations Project Manager

    Thank you for your opinion. Many people new to proprietary trading don't understand the capital requirements to trade, which are industry standard, and which are also discussed in great detail prior to a trader coming on board the firm. We recommend all our traders read our White Paper on What is Proprietary Trading in our Continuing Education section on our websites. You are correct in that you need to treat trading as a business, which is one of the courses we give to all our traders. We wish you the best of luck in your endeavors.

Found 34 reviews