Cover image for Maverick Trading
Logo

Maverick Trading

Is this your company?

Maverick Trading

Add a Review

Maverick Trading Reviews

Updated Sep 2, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 53 of over 94 reviews
3.7
68% Recommend to a Friend
70% Approve of CEO

Found 53 of over 94 reviews

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Maverick Trading CEO  Robb Reinhold  (no image)
Robb Reinhold
41 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "When people ask YOU to pay THEM to earn money for YOU, why not just keep your own money?(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Foreign Exchange

    Oct 16, 2021 - Trader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work environment and learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Short time and a lot of complexity.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Maverick Trading Response

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed the environment. You are also correct that trading can be a complex process when done correctly.

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A good prop firm

    Sep 2, 2022 - Derivatives Trader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been in the business for a while and spent time on a few trading desks in NY/NJ and a few prop firms. This is the one with the most flexibility and you can trade just about every product. For people that trade everything, this is the only prop firm that will allow you futures, options, currencies, etc

    Cons

    Upfront costs are high but earnings and bonuses made up for more than the upfront costs

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Maverick Trading team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    teachers

    Jun 21, 2022 - Options Trader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    they teach you how to trade.

    Cons

    takes time to get up and running

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    good

    Dec 20, 2021 - Trader in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexibility, lots of money, and great experience

    Cons

    long work weeks and tiring

    2 people found this review helpful

    Maverick Trading Response

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We sincerely appreciate it.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Start to Trading

    Sep 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Educational platform for being online base

    Cons

    They should do live trade analysis in market

    2 people found this review helpful

    Maverick Trading Response

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We've worked hard to make the curriculum in our Qualification Program as comprehensive as possible and are continually adding to it. We do take a look at potential trades during market hours during our Midweek Update and in our Currencies Division we conduct live trading sessions during significant economic announcements.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fantastic Prop Firm!

    Apr 10, 2021 - Options Trader in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Top notch training program and trader support. Everything one needs in order to be successful in the difficult world of trading. I cannot believe a prop firm like this exists. They will help you in every way possible in reaching your goals to become a professional trader.

    Cons

    None that I can think of. Trading success is largely dependent on you. The start up fees can be a little high, but for what you get in return it is completely worth it.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Maverick Trading Response

    Thank you for the review. We've invested extensively in our Qualification Program and Trader Support Structure, so I'm very pleased that you enjoy it. Cheers.

  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A Company's Quality Always Comes Down to Mgmt

    May 13, 2021 - Trader in San Bernardino, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None - the new CEO is driving this business into the ground. I give it 3 more years.

    Cons

    Every aspect of what the company "does for its traders" now is focused on getting us to the combine where Maverick just lets us churn. There is no quality, hands-on coaching which makes it nearly impossible to pass the combine. I, along with a dozen other traders lose on trades, get our accounts frozen, have to replenish the account with our own funds, and try again. But remember, we haven't been coached. So wash, rinse, repeat. And all the while, $200 per month.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful

    Maverick Trading Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Coaching is provided in three different levels, depending on where you are in the Qualification Program, with Level 3 being in live trading. Each trader is responsible for the manner in which they trade their own account. Prior to trading live, each trader creates a detailed Trading Plan that is based on that trader's personality. It sounds as if you may be breaking some of the rules in your Trading Plan or not exercising consistent Risk Management, which is a key to success in trading. If you are still having problems, I encourage you to reach out to your coach and schedule a time to review your latest Trading Plan and most recent trades to see if there is a disconnect or room for improvement. Best regards, Maverick Trading Management

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Funded and trading live

    Mar 17, 2021 - Trader in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great training and support from the firm. Took a leap of faith and wasn't disappointed. Training was top notch with lots of back testing and was approved for live trading. Signed the paperwork and funded account with Interactive Brokers and on my second month of live trading. Will update in the future but up to this point, everything has been delivered as promised

    Cons

    wish there was the ability to trade through TOS

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Maverick Trading Response

    CEO

    Thanks for the review. We love our traders and love when they make money for both. Keep up the good work.

  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Don't waste your time and money there

    Mar 23, 2021 - Options Trader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place for learning essential things about trading.

    Cons

    Management seems too overwhelmed to bother thinking about their staff. There's no transparency. Everything they can do is pushing you to trade and pay more fees. On the other hand, there's good potential, but also a chance you'll lose much. You must excel from the very beginning in order to make money.

    9 people found this review helpful

    Maverick Trading Response

    CEO

    Thanks for the review. Maverick does not run as a broker/dealer and gets absolutely no rebates or commissions from our broker/dealer, Interactive Brokers. We actively discourage active trading and focus 100% on trading profitability as we only profit from profit splits and not commissions. If you read this, please feel free to reach out to us for clarification and consider changing/amending your comment about encouraging over-trading.

  11. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Complete Scam

    Mar 13, 2021 - Associate Trader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They teach you some stuff about trading

    Cons

    This company is structured to suck as much money out of you as quickly as possible before you realize how badly you're getting screwed. You have to pay $6,000 (non-refundable) to join. They prey on people's ignorance by showing profit sharing charts and claiming that the high pay wall is just how the industry works. Once you join and pay that six grand, they just made a minimum of six grand off of you. The only way you get it back is if you make the company another $6,000 through your trading. Which you are fighting an uphill battle to do with the outrageous $199/mo desk fee (while using your own desk and internet). Their training program is long and complex, designed to take the maximum time possible because you're paying during the whole thing. The worst part is they don't let you trade your own strategy. I went in with an idea of what I wanted to do (well within their risk parameters) and they told me I couldn't and to trade a different strategy that I wasn't familiar or comfortable with. Well if it was that good of a strategy, then what incentive do they have to hire novices to do it? A real company would allow good traders to use their own strategy to make money. But this company is not about the trading, they want the fees. Stay far away and just trade with your own money.

    Continue reading
    31 people found this review helpful

    Maverick Trading Response

    Thank you for your review. We ensure that all interested traders are completely aware of the capital requirements to trade with us prior to them joining the firm and all of our traders acknowledge these requirements as well. Yes, our Qualification Program is comprehensive and embodies the minimum that we feel a trader needs to know in order to trade successfully and professionally. It's been developed over more than 20 years and we are continually refining it as the markets change and evolve. An experienced trader may be able to complete the program in as little as two months. People new to trading are going to take longer. Our objective is not to rush traders into trading as fast as possible. Our objective is to teach our traders to trade systematically rather than by the seat of their pants and to consistently manage their risk. We allow our traders to trade a wide variety of strategies. Since you didn't go into detail on the strategy you wanted to use, I can't comment on it directly. I can say that it must not have met our criteria for reproduceable, systemic rules and/or had a poor reward/risk profile and/or used techniques that had undefined or otherwise unacceptable risk. We don't want our traders trading strategies they are uncomfortable with. Our coaching staff routinely walks traders through the Qualification Program, including demo account trading, until our traders are comfortable with their entire Trading Plan and can then trade the firm's capital with confidence. I hope you found success elsewhere in your endeavors.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews
</>Embed

Maverick Trading Reviews FAQs

Maverick Trading has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 94 reviews left anonymously by employees. 68% of employees would recommend working at Maverick Trading to a friend and 69% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Maverick Trading employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Maverick Trading. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

68% of Maverick Trading employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Maverick Trading 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Maverick Trading to be senior leadership, management, career development and the cons to be workplace, compensation.

Work at Maverick Trading? Share Your Experiences

Maverick Trading logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Maverick Trading Photos

+ Add Photo
Maverick Trading photo of: Some of Maverick&amp;#039;s traders at a bi-annual Traders Summit
Maverick Trading photo of: Traders Summit at the CBOE in Chicago
Maverick Trading photo of: You can't lose with that suit. We love our traders!
Maverick Trading photo of: Trading Psychology with Jon Frohlich
Maverick Trading photo of: Our Toronto Traders at our Traders Summit in Manhattan
Maverick Trading photo of: Maverick Trading carved pumpins
Maverick Trading photo of: First Traders Summit
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Maverick FX

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Maverick Trading Job Seekers Also Viewed

T3 Trading Group Logo
T3 Trading Group

3.8

307 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 94 Maverick Trading reviews submitted anonymously by Maverick Trading employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Maverick Trading is right for you.