Max Life Insurance Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Max Life Insurance Managing Director and CEO Prashant Tripathy (no image)
Prashant Tripathy
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work culture and ethics are good(in 38 reviews)

  • "Great work culture, positive work environment to bring out the best in you(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "No Cons to define about company(in 13 reviews)

  • "It is driven from the top management and the focus is sometimes given but not adhered to all the time leading to lots of late working hours(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed emotions"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Professional in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Max Life Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New York Life is an incredibly strong company. It has one of the best reputations in the industry. As an agent you have limited products to sell but once you become registered and pass the series 6 exam. You are able to sell many more and interesting financial products. The income potential is amazing and could become quite a lucrative business. If you already have a strong network, you're already ahead of the game.

    Cons

    Some of the downsides of working for NYL is obviously that its a life insurance company. The thing that make it such a strong company is also what made me not like the business as much. You have to be ready to take a lot of rejection from family, friends and random people you meet out working the field. Also, once you say you work for New York Life, people will run out of the door because no one likes to talk about life insurance.

    Max Life Insurance2015-08-24
  2. "Salaries at Max Life are good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Max Life Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance Strong Management team

    Cons

    Slow in making any changes Loves McKinsey and analysis paralysis

    Max Life Insurance2018-08-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Best in the Insurance industry"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Houston, TX

    I worked at Max Life Insurance for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, great policies, knowledgeable seniors, good culture.

    Cons

    Believes in being too much centralised which, delays the work at all levels. Average infrastructure at the regional offices, work life balance suffers

    Max Life Insurance2016-03-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Max Life Insurance

    Pros

    Amazing company culture that no other company will offer

    Cons

    People say that salaries are a lot higher elsewhere in other industries

    Max Life Insurance2015-12-31
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Same old training for the past 160 years"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Insurance Agent in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Max Life Insurance

    Pros

    recognized brand, established company, long history.

    Cons

    no salary, lots of sells training, and product training is mostly insurance products, no leads, unless you want to buy them out of your own pocket. Good for someone who is aggressive sales person and has lots of contacts and friends, specially affluent ones, otherwise it will be difficult to survive the first year let alone the first 3. All insurance companies have the same tried and true system of hiring lots of new people every month or two, have them sell to all their friends and family, and then most will quit because it isn't easy to sell to strangers.

    Continue reading
    Max Life Insurance2015-09-30
  6. "Great entry level position"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Max Life Insurance

    Pros

    Started as sales agent intern and I learned a lot about life insurance by working closely with the financial advisors.

    Cons

    It can be overwhelming and slow in the business until you get hang of it

    Max Life Insurance2015-09-14
  7. "Insurance agent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Max Life Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and great commission structure

    Cons

    first few months are rough and it's a grind but worth it in the end

    Max Life Insurance2015-08-15
  8. "Agent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Max Life Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership structure and a great team of people in the office. There were always people to assist you on any cases you were working on.

    Cons

    This is a commission job. There are no secrets or scams to how you get paid, but the constant stress of making enough money to pay your bills makes it hard to interact with clients.

    Continue reading
    Max Life Insurance2015-07-30
  9. "Underwriter- policy Issuance & new business"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Underwriting Executive in Torrance, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Max Life Insurance for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work culture of the company is good

    Cons

    The compensation is low as per the work

    Max Life Insurance2015-07-29
  10. "Intern"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Intern in Vienna, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Max Life Insurance

    Pros

    Great Leadership. Good Location. Fun work environment. Young people around me working hard and I learned a lot from this experience

    Cons

    Small firm. Not enough leads. Kind of a slow work place. Not what I expected when coming into a Finance internship.

    Continue reading
    Max Life Insurance2015-07-29
Found 365 reviews