Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics Reviews | Glassdoor

Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics CEO Elisabeth Knust
Elisabeth Knust
8 Ratings
  1. "Cool environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy going colleagues, many research topics, mixture of biology and computational research. Collaboration with university.

    Cons

    Communication with people with different backgrounds is challenging. It needs time and skills.

    Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics2014-10-24
  2. "Best place for Microscopy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Associate in Dresden
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment Breaking-trough science Excellent scientific support

    Cons

    Projects are very high risk

    Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics2019-07-17
  3. "Fantastic place to do your PhD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics full-time

    Pros

    State of the art core facilities, top seminar speakers, nice atmosphere

    Cons

    High-pressure scientific environment is not for everyone

    Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics2018-01-14
  4. "MPI-CBG is perhaps one of best places to work as a postdoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral in Dresden
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics for more than a year

    Pros

    great facilities, flat hierarchy, very collaborative, amazing seminar speakers every week, very international, outstanding level of science

    Cons

    working hours are lengthy, but that is something normal in scientific work

    Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics2017-10-16
  5. "excellent and well organize institute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Research Assistant in Dresden
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    well equipped research environment, friendly atmosphere, good salary

    Cons

    high work load, relatively high pressure to succeed

    Advice to Management

    encourage your employees more often

    Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics2016-12-16
  6. "MPI-CBG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics for more than 3 years

    Pros

    state-of-the-art facilities, family friendly, state of the art research, great management, international, friendly environment, great research institute

    Cons

    Dresden is a place where prejudice people are active and legal, so you might encounter some of them in daily life (you might encounter Pegida in Dresden).

    Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics2016-11-16
  7. "Postdoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics

    Pros

    Many smart, creative people around.

    Cons

    Too many individuals, no team work.

    Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics2015-10-28
  8. "A workplace that became my family."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dresden
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This work place has become my family away from my family that is far far away. I have just not had the chance to do great science with a lot of freedom in a very interdisciplinary environment where I could get inspiration from most people, this place has also helped me grow as a person. To become independent and confident. The doors of the directors are always open to address the woes of people way down the chain , even...

    Show More

    Cons

    I dream of a day when every Phd Student will have a 100% contract. But for this, things have to change on a much higher level.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being cool and approachable.

    Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics2015-10-10
  9. "Perfect workplace, if only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoc-Wissenschaftler in Dresden
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - beautifully & centrally located - nice building with good office & lab space as well as recreational areas to relax and a cafeteria - very positive atmosphere - top-notch science - very good services: help with childcare, search for flats, german beaurocracy

    Cons

    - salary - short-term contracts only - directors are somewhat detached from the rest of the staff, behaving like monarchs

    Advice to Management

    More good people should be given an opportunity to stay

    Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics2015-10-07
  10. "Amazing place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PhD Student in Dresden
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing institute, access to latest techniques, a very collaborative atmosphere, great people!

    Cons

    I can't think of any now.

    Advice to Management

    Higher salaries and contracts for employees.

    Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics2015-08-10
Found 17 reviews