KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Maxim Healthcare Group

Is this your company?

Maxim Healthcare Group

Add a Review

Maxim Healthcare Group Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Dec 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 of over 3,325 reviews

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Maxim Healthcare Group CEO William "Bill" Butz
William "Bill" Butz
669 Ratings
Pros
  • "Office staff is always ready to help(in 94 reviews)

  • "Weekly pay, great answering service(in 86 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, PTO only, limited breaks(in 99 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance at times suffers(in 82 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Maxim Healthcare Group and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great first step

      Dec 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learns business skills, growth to advance career

      Cons

      Overwhelming, low pay & long-hours leading to burnout

      2 people found this review helpful

      Maxim Healthcare Group Response

      Digital Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for the review. Although the job can be demanding at times, it can be rewarding, as you mentioned, with career advancement while learning so much about the industry. We appreciate your dedication during your tenure. Our team wishes you luck in your future endeavors. Regards - Steven

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to start

      Oct 22, 2020 - Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy training, fun atmosphere, team oriented

      Cons

      Long hours, PTO only, limited breaks

      1 person found this review helpful

      Maxim Healthcare Group Response

      Digital Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for the review. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed to culture and atmosphere at Maxim, as we try to make the organization fun, exciting, and diverse. We are always looking for ways to improve the employee experience, whether that be benefits or work-life balance, so thank you for your feedback. I will pass your comments along to our experience team and upper-manager to review. Good luck in your future endeavors. Regards - Steven

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Recruiter

      Oct 25, 2020 - Recruiter in Jeffersonville, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, nice employees, long hours

      Cons

      Long hours, expected to be on-call during week and weekends. Phone gets blown up

      1 person found this review helpful

      Maxim Healthcare Group Response

      Digital Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for the review. I'm glad to hear you are enjoying the pay and your relationship with your coworkers. At times, the job can be demanding, but also rewarding. We do appreciate your hard work. Thanks - Steven

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Company

      Nov 2, 2020 - Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay Is great. Doing Greater Good By Helping Patients

      Cons

      No Career Advancement, Totally Consumes your Life, Long Hours, Management Unbearable, Must Drink the Kool-Aid to get anywhere

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Maxim Healthcare Group Response

      Digital Marketing Specialist

      Hello. We are happy to hear you enjoyed helping others, and we know you did. Thank you for your dedication to our patients and caregivers. I'm sorry to hear there were many issues you encountered. Your sentiment will not be taken lightly, so I will pass your comments along to our experience team and upper-management to review and see how we can resolve some of these problems. Our team wishes you luck in your future endeavors. Regards - Steven

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      MONEY HUNGRY!

      Sep 26, 2019 - Healthcare Recruiter in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can’t think of any.

      Cons

      Complete waste of time working here. All management cares about is numbers. And they don’t care if you’re a recruiter in training. From the minute you walk in the door, you’re expected to hit numbers and throughout the week there’s pressure from upper management to do so. Maxim claims they “train” their employees. But managers are too busy taking days off and going to “meetings” that they don’t have time to train new employees. Co workers in my pit looked consistently stressed out and told me from the beginning how much their job sucked, but they stick around because it’s all they have right now. Not to mention - there’s constant turnover within the company. In my first month five people left the office. BE CAREFUL OF THIS SO CALLED COMPANY! ESPECIALLY HOMECARE! The pay is not worth the long hours you put in for the lack of good nurses out there you’re seeking.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Maxim Healthcare Group Response

      Digital Marketing Specialist

      We are sorry to see these unfortunate comments. Maxim wishes your experience was a lot better. I understand where you are coming from with the high expectations, however, patients need us, so it's imperative we strive to be the best company possible. Your review will be passed along to management. Good luck in your future endeavors. Regards - Steven

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company to start your career with.

      Jan 6, 2020 - Healthcare Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent starting pay, room for growth, good training, experiential learning

      Cons

      Pay could be better considering workload, long hours starting off since you are hourly and the hourly rate is not enough during training, dealing with clients while scheduling and still being responsible for recruiting KPI's

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Maxim Healthcare Group Response

      Digital Marketing Specialist

      Good morning. At times, since caregivers and patients need us 24/7, work hours could be extended. However, the work that you do can be rewarding, as many of our previous recruiters are now in management roles at Maxim. I will pass your comments along to management to review. Thank you for your dedication to this company. Regards - Steven

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A lot of work but you get out what you put in

      Dec 16, 2019 - Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment, meet great people, work can be very fulfilling at times.

      Cons

      Recruiting metrics can seem unreasonable at times, long hours, on call

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Maxim Healthcare Group Response

      Digital Marketing Specialist

      Good morning. Thank you for the review. Since caregivers and patients need us 24/7, at times, employees will be on call. Although the job can be challenging, it can also be very rewarding when patients receive the care they need due to your hard work. Good luck in your future endeavors. Regards - Steven

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good for getting your foot in the door for recruiting. Bad for being happy with your job

      Sep 25, 2019 - Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great chance for advancement... If you're a man, suck up constantly, and devote every second of your life to the job.

      Cons

      On call, no encouragement for success only berated for failure, long hours, extreme pressure to produce, home care is a dying industry.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Maxim Healthcare Group Response

      Digital Marketing Specialist

      We appreciate the review. Since our patients need us 24/7, at times, some employees will be on call. We are sorry to hear the job was holding you back since many employees here started as a recruiter and are now moving up in the company. It's unfortunate you weren't aware of our training opportunities. Good luck in your future endeavors. Regards - Steven

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Pushes you but worth it if you can make it through the tough times.

      Jun 1, 2019 - Recruiter in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent PTO and pay Room to grow if willing to travel A lot learned

      Cons

      Long hours Extremely challenging at times Competitive market

      1 person found this review helpful

      Maxim Healthcare Group Response

      Digital Marketing Specialist

      Good morning. We appreciate your dedication to Maxim. Although hours can be long, it also can be rewarding, with several of our former recruiters now in management roles at our company. Our patients need us 24/7, so extended hours are sometimes crucial. Thank you - Steven

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Job Seekers Beware

      Jul 9, 2019 - Recruiter in Wilmington, DE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -You'll meet some good people there. It's a shame that they won't be there too long. -Weekly paychecks that are decent if you last six months.

      Cons

      The common refrain that you'll hear at this office is, "this isn't for everyone." While this is true of any job, it seems that this job, and this office specifically, has an incredible turnover rate. You would think that after so many people have left the office for other jobs (or just left because they couldn't take it there any more), the upper management would begin to look inward. It never happens. Some people will not hesitate to berate or belittle people on the floor. If you are not doing things exactly how they want them done, they're going to put you down and make you feel like less of a person. If that's not enough, your work schedule is penciled in as 8am-5pm, but the office is open until 6pm, and someone has to stay to close the office at 6. It seems that it does not apply to some people. If you are the first person to leave, you will hear about it. It's almost like you're shamed into staying as long as possible. The long hours wouldn't be a problem, if you are being paid appropriately. That's not the case either. You are paid a very poor rate ($14 an hour) during your training period. That training period is six (6) months long, during which you will be expected to perform all of your job duties while keeping up with your weekly trainings and hitting recruiting metrics. If you fall behind on any of those, be prepared to be called into an office for a discussion on whether or not your heart is in the job. The work-life balance is also severely lacking. Even when working as an hourly employee, you will be expected to have your work email on your personal phone, and if there is a weather event, you may be asked to have the phone line forwarded to your personal phone as well. You will only be paid from 8am-6pm, despite possibly receiving phone calls and emails before and after those times. If you are one of the lucky ones to make it past six months, you will become a salaried and commissioned employee, so you will get a pay raise, but the work-life balance is still terrible. The communication in the office is also terrible, partially due to the turnover of employees in the office. As a recruiter, you are expected to assist/handle scheduling, onboarding, payroll and credentialing. There are people that are supposed to handle those duties, however, they never seem to be able to accomplish everything, and then it falls onto you to get it done, meaning that you'll have to finish that work on top of your recruiting. If something doesn't get done, you'll likely not hear about it until the time it needed to be completed is passed, meaning that you will be told to call the external employee that it affects and tell them that they either can't work at the moment, due to something being expired, or that they won't be getting paid because something wasn't processed properly. Every morning, you are forced to stand up and tell everyone what you are going to accomplish that day. You will be told that, "These are not goals. They are promises." At the end of the day, you will stand up again and tell everyone whether or not you were able to accomplish what you said you would do. If you didn't accomplish those statements, you will have to explain why, and then you are expected to stay at the office until you reach the metrics that you said you would reach. If you speak against this, you'll hear the same thing, "This job isn't for everyone." I saw employees break down and cry on more than one occasion. Some people in the office are overbearing, abusive and bullies. They will say that they are going to work on communication, and the next week, the same person is slamming the door to their office or swearing loudly on the floor. Upper management seems to turn a blind eye to this situation. In Delaware, there are only two offices, and the chances to move up are slim to none. Once someone manages to give up their personal life and move into a management position, they never seem to leave, meaning that if you want a work-life balance and possibility for advancement, you are out of luck. You have to choose one or the other. I could keep going, but I don't think there is anything else that needs to be said.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Maxim Healthcare Group Response

      Digital Marketing Specialist

      We are sorry to hear you had such a poor experience with Maxim. Your sentiment regarding the slew of issues you presented to us is important to our company, and I will pass your comments along to management. Communication can and will improve in the future, as we are educating the offices on how to refine the employee experience. Our healthcare professionals care for patient 24/7 so, at times, on-call duties are necessary. Our team wishes you luck in your future endeavors. Regards - Steven

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 98 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Maxim Healthcare Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Maxim Healthcare Group? Share Your Experiences

    or