Maxim Healthcare Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Maxim Healthcare Services Reviews

Updated August 13, 2018
1,521 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Maxim Healthcare Services CEO William "Bill" Butz
William "Bill" Butz
229 Ratings

1,521 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "office staff is pleasant to work with" (in 63 reviews)

  • "Weekly pay is the best thing Maxim has to offer" (in 50 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Skilled Care Nurse in Asheville, NC
    Current Employee - Skilled Care Nurse in Asheville, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services part-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great recruiters and nursing supervisors

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to submit

    Advice to Management

    none

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – Digital Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the great review. We are happy to have you on the Maxim team!


  2. "Behavior Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Behavior Technician in Sacramento, CA
    Current Employee - Behavior Technician in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Ability to work in schools. Lots of ways to make up hours you've lost through sub sessions. Always quick to communicate.

    Cons

    My supervisor for my school case is within the school district, not the company so I'm in this weird in between area where at times I have to go through the company to ask about hours or to her things just to have the supervisor in the school district contact me about it. Also, I was told that my school case would be year around (some may do home care when school is not in session) but I found out that it wasn't. I tried to get on on a home case temporarily for the summer but was told you need to commit to at least a year with a client
     So I had to try to fill my time with sub sessions.
    Did not have much training going into my school case.

    Advice to Management

    More training when going into school cases.

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – Digital Marketing Specialist

    Good morning. We recommend you speak to the office staff about the lack of communication enduring. Maxim is always looking to improve the employee experience. Thank you for your hard work. Regards... More

  3. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, family feel in the office, growth opportunities, a ton of training resources available.

    Cons

    Long work hours and on call required.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, you provide amazing services to those in need.

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    Jul 27, 2018 – Digital Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the review. We wish you luck in your future endeavors. Please let us know if you would like to a refer a friend to Maxim. Regards - Steven


  4. "Maxim Healthcare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time

    Pros

    Maxim is a great place to work at

    Cons

    Not many options for career path


  5. "Certified Nursing Assistant/Caregiver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services part-time

    Pros

    gave me a lot shifts to work with when I first started. the employers were nice and helpful.

    Cons

    Could pay more especially when traveling to and from clients homes.

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    Jul 26, 2018 – Digital Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your hard working during your time here. We will pass your suggestions along to management. Good luck in your future endeavors. Regards - Steven


  6. "Hours are not worth it, plus they don't pay for travel!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Behavior Technician in Sacramento, CA
    Current Employee - Behavior Technician in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The hours given to behavior technicians are extremely weird. Sometimes it's one hour a day, sometimes it's 4 hours a day, so if you're looking for flexibility, this could be a good position.

    Cons

    There's no stability on the cases. I had one case for only a week. The worst part of this company is that they don't pay mileage, so you could literally work 20 miles away and only get one hour to work, which would mean you're losing money technically.

    Advice to Management

    Be more logical & stop pushing employees to take on one hour a day cases that are extremely far away.

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Digital Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the review. You should speak to your office about your unpleasant experience with the one-hour assignments so this never happens again. They will be happy to receive feedback. Regards... More


  7. "One of the best companies to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time

    Pros

    good coworkers, pay was good.

    Cons

    top down management style in most offices

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    Jul 24, 2018 – Digital Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review. Good luck in your future endeavors. Regards - Steven

  8. "Started out great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Once pay rate increased it was competitive. Didn't happen overnight and it wasn't easy... Understanding about refusing to return to certain clients. No issue with benefits. I chose min coverage due to no chronic health issues/scheduled medication. Clinical manager was the best!

    Cons

    Change in office staff made it unbearable. Told non-truths about open assignments. No respect given to dependable field nurses. The amt of No Show nurses rediculous! No consequences what so ever!! In fact that aspect of the office I worked out of was laughable...

    Advice to Management

    Value dependable field nurses. No PTO for the first 5 years and unqualified schedulers is what made me look elsewhere. Have regular reviews concerning office management. An office is only as strong as it's weakest link. Insist case managers have the ability to multitask.

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Digital Marketing Specialist

    We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience. Your advice on reviews will be considered. Good luck in your future endeavors. Regards - Steven


  9. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Roseville, CA
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Roseville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Hired straight out of school so given the experience most hospitals want you to have, and I was placed with a family that I worked well with l, but had I not Maxim would have worked with me to be placed in a home that suited both the needs of the client and the nurse

    Cons

    Underpaid, but they are very honest upfront and do not lead you on about the wages

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Digital Marketing Specialist

    Luckily we are increasing wages for almost all nurses in your area this year. Thank you for your hard work. Regards - Steven


  10. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time

    Pros

    Uncapped commission
    Car and phone allowances

    Cons

    Long hours
    Stressful environment
    Unrealistic expectations and responsibilities

    Advice to Management

    The company can be a great place for a career but is not a great place to work with a family. Address work-life balance and understand that what you ask people to do in a day will never get done; reconsider expectations.

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – Digital Marketing Specialist

    We take our patient, client and employee experience seriously so expectations are high. If you have concerns, we encourage you to speak with your AVP about this. Regards - Steven


Showing 1,521 of 1,637 reviews
Reset Filters