Maxim Healthcare Services "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Maxim Healthcare Services Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Maxim Healthcare Services CEO William "Bill" Butz
William "Bill" Butz
338 Ratings
  1. "Sure, why not?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services

    Pros

    Good benefits, fun people on the local level

    Cons

    lots of bureaucracy, long hours, mediocre pay

    Advice to Management

    Pay your front lines better!

    Maxim Healthcare Services2015-10-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Entry Level Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learn to work hard, be organized, recruit, sell, manage, and do HR functions. Mostly cool people, mostly internal promotions.

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours, some behind the times technology used

    Advice to Management

    Hire people that are young and highly motivated. Otherwise they will get bored or be useless.

    Maxim Healthcare Services2015-10-09
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Healthcare Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Healthcare Recruiter in Concord, CA

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services

    Pros

    Great professional working experience if you're coming out of College. You learn every aspect of the business to prepare you to manage your own office. I really enjoyed the people I worked with and it was great experience.

    Cons

    Prepare for working long hours and being on call during the weekends. The hourly wages for nurses is below industry average, so it's a constant challenge recruiting nurses because they deserve to be paid more.

    Advice to Management

    I had a great manager and he was very hands on and energetic.

    Maxim Healthcare Services2015-09-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services

    Pros

    - Friendly Co-workers - Can be promoted easily if you are willing to work - Can gain "soft" skills - Office locations can be nice

    Cons

    - Base salary and commission structure is a joke - Long hours - On-call weekdays/weekends - Constantly putting out fires - Extremely disorganized from top down - Stress is always high - Most "techniques" and "training" taught are useless - External employee's never paid in timely/correct manner

    Advice to Management

    Figure it out

    Maxim Healthcare Services2015-10-07
  5. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Recruiter in Parkersburg, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay, great experience, rewarding

    Cons

    Long hours, on call but it is manageable.

    Maxim Healthcare Services2015-09-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Scratch the Surface"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Healthcare Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, ability for advancement

    Cons

    Long hours (50+ hours in office then on-call hours that you're not paid for), little training on job responsibilities, Upon 1 month after hire you're expected to take call without being trained/told how to go about doing so. There is no give and take (I took call for Thanksgiving AND Christmas- and was told by management to drive to nurses home to pick them up and take them to client's house in order to have coverage for the day) Was never paid holiday hours or overtime or gas reimbursement (even though I filed for it) Expected to take lunch break at office desk so that they phones were covered- if took an hour and left, then you were automatically on call that week. Catty and snobby work environment. Management allowed HR to talk down to CNAs, LPNs, and RNs if they "rubbed her the wrong way"

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train better and let people know what the expectation is upon hire- not to scare them but so that they know what they're getting themselves into. Pay people for on call taken.

    Maxim Healthcare Services2015-10-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Healthcare Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Healthcare Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I loved the nurses on our staff, my fellow recruiters and our clients. Other than that, I really don't have much positive to say about my experience there.

    Cons

    Did not actually do any recruiting. Scheduled, handled pay roll, on-call all the time. No help from management. Worked closely with nursing staff, but unfortunately we were always putting out fires. Especially with paycheck issues that corporate payroll department constantly shorted on nurses weekly pay. We worked long hours, and were always on call. Low pay for the amount of work done.

    Advice to Management

    Better support for office staff. More available resources to keep nurses happy and therefore keep positions staffed. Hire schedulers, payroll specialists, and on-call coordinators.

    Maxim Healthcare Services2015-10-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great resume builder."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Development of early career skills in business operations and management.

    Cons

    Work long hours. No corporate support in regards to managerial decision making.

    Advice to Management

    Outline career path and promotional opportunities in order to retain workforce.

    Maxim Healthcare Services2015-08-22
  9. "No Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time

    Pros

    Small office structure at allows a personal relationship with management. Great place to gain experience in many areas, since all employees works a varied range of job roles. This is a wonderful company to learn in and gain professional experience.

    Cons

    There are little to no chances of promotion or growth opportunities within this company for employees that are not recruiters. Once you are hired in to a position, there is no upward mobility even if you ask for a training program, stretch assignment, development, IPP, ect. High stress levels at work due to disorganized company structure. Long hours (as a full time employee I am expected to work an average of 50 hours a week).

    Show More
    Maxim Healthcare Services2015-08-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Take it or leave it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services

    Pros

    Good people, great experience builder

    Cons

    Long hours, questionable leadership, still under a CIA

    Maxim Healthcare Services2015-06-25
Found 94 reviews