Maxim Healthcare Services "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Maxim Healthcare Services Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Maxim Healthcare Services CEO William "Bill" Butz
William "Bill" Butz
328 Ratings
Pros
  • "All office staff are accommodating and understanding of needing time off of work(in 82 reviews)

  • "Weekly pay, great answering service(in 62 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services

    Pros

    Work life balance, they care about their employees

    Cons

    Competition between offices, there are no cons

    Maxim Healthcare Services2018-02-06

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    February 7, 2018Digital Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the positive review. We thank you for your hard work. Regards - Steven

    Continue reading
  2. "Maxim healthcare recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time

    Pros

    Fulfilling experience, busy throughout day

    Cons

    Management issues, bad work life balance

    Maxim Healthcare Services2019-11-27

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    November 29, 2019Digital Marketing Specialist

    Good morning. We are sorry to hear that your experience with Maxim has been dissatisfying thus far. At times, the job can be demanding, as we are an industry that works with patients and healthcare professionals who need us. However, it can be rewarding. Please speak to your manager regarding any issues you are encountering. Thank you - Steven

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "2016 salary was $35k/yr+ insane comp structure but organizational restructure destroyed the staff & earning potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No day is ever the same. You're constantly challenged. It's a grind but you learn to appreciate little victories.

    Cons

    No true work/life balance. It's sales. You can do everything right but ultimately live & die by other peoples' actions.

    Continue reading
    Maxim Healthcare Services2019-10-02

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    October 4, 2019Digital Marketing Specialist

    It's unfortunate to hear that you came across several issues during your tenure. Things change in the industry, so adaptability is key. We will pass your comments along to management for them to review. Good luck in your future endeavors. Regards - Steven

    Continue reading
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Healthcare Recruiter in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The workplace culture is the ultimate "pro" of this company. Also, the potential advancement if you work hard and show your commitment you have chances to move forward and up.

    Cons

    The hours are demanding all the time. You are paid a salary after your training period but you are almost always going to work 10 hours of overtime per week. Being on call is challenging and while there is a great work life balance when you are at work your attention is in high demand.

    Continue reading
    Maxim Healthcare Services2019-07-02

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    July 2, 2019Digital Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback. At times, being on-call is necessary since our patients need us 24/7. Although the job can be demanding, it's also rewarding, as we do provide monetary incentives and training often. I will pass your comments along to management for them to review. We appreciate your dedication to Maxim. Thanks - Steven

    Continue reading
  5. "Decent Start Out of College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment, good work life balance

    Cons

    Lack of structure, low pay unrealistic expectations/lot of false narratives

    Maxim Healthcare Services2019-06-25

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    June 26, 2019Digital Marketing Specialist

    Good morning. We appreciate the feedback. Many of our employees do receive promotions which can render pay increases. There are important goals we want to reach, especially when many of our patients need 24/7 care, so we expect the best from everyone. Our team hopes your experience improves. Thank you for your hard work. Regards - Steven

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Job Seekers Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -You'll meet some good people there. It's a shame that they won't be there too long. -Weekly paychecks that are decent if you last six months.

    Cons

    The common refrain that you'll hear at this office is, "this isn't for everyone." While this is true of any job, it seems that this job, and this office specifically, has an incredible turnover rate. You would think that after so many people have left the office for other jobs (or just left because they couldn't take it there any more), the upper management would begin to look inward. It never happens. Some people will not hesitate to berate or belittle people on the floor. If you are not doing things exactly how they want them done, they're going to put you down and make you feel like less of a person. If that's not enough, your work schedule is penciled in as 8am-5pm, but the office is open until 6pm, and someone has to stay to close the office at 6. It seems that it does not apply to some people. If you are the first person to leave, you will hear about it. It's almost like you're shamed into staying as long as possible. The long hours wouldn't be a problem, if you are being paid appropriately. That's not the case either. You are paid a very poor rate ($14 an hour) during your training period. That training period is six (6) months long, during which you will be expected to perform all of your job duties while keeping up with your weekly trainings and hitting recruiting metrics. If you fall behind on any of those, be prepared to be called into an office for a discussion on whether or not your heart is in the job. The work-life balance is also severely lacking. Even when working as an hourly employee, you will be expected to have your work email on your personal phone, and if there is a weather event, you may be asked to have the phone line forwarded to your personal phone as well. You will only be paid from 8am-6pm, despite possibly receiving phone calls and emails before and after those times. If you are one of the lucky ones to make it past six months, you will become a salaried and commissioned employee, so you will get a pay raise, but the work-life balance is still terrible. The communication in the office is also terrible, partially due to the turnover of employees in the office. As a recruiter, you are expected to assist/handle scheduling, onboarding, payroll and credentialing. There are people that are supposed to handle those duties, however, they never seem to be able to accomplish everything, and then it falls onto you to get it done, meaning that you'll have to finish that work on top of your recruiting. If something doesn't get done, you'll likely not hear about it until the time it needed to be completed is passed, meaning that you will be told to call the external employee that it affects and tell them that they either can't work at the moment, due to something being expired, or that they won't be getting paid because something wasn't processed properly. Every morning, you are forced to stand up and tell everyone what you are going to accomplish that day. You will be told that, "These are not goals. They are promises." At the end of the day, you will stand up again and tell everyone whether or not you were able to accomplish what you said you would do. If you didn't accomplish those statements, you will have to explain why, and then you are expected to stay at the office until you reach the metrics that you said you would reach. If you speak against this, you'll hear the same thing, "This job isn't for everyone." I saw employees break down and cry on more than one occasion. Some people in the office are overbearing, abusive and bullies. They will say that they are going to work on communication, and the next week, the same person is slamming the door to their office or swearing loudly on the floor. Upper management seems to turn a blind eye to this situation. In Delaware, there are only two offices, and the chances to move up are slim to none. Once someone manages to give up their personal life and move into a management position, they never seem to leave, meaning that if you want a work-life balance and possibility for advancement, you are out of luck. You have to choose one or the other. I could keep going, but I don't think there is anything else that needs to be said.

    Continue reading
    Maxim Healthcare Services2019-07-09

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    July 31, 2019Digital Marketing Specialist

    We are sorry to hear you had such a poor experience with Maxim. Your sentiment regarding the slew of issues you presented to us is important to our company, and I will pass your comments along to management. Communication can and will improve in the future, as we are educating the offices on how to refine the employee experience. Our healthcare professionals care for patient 24/7 so, at times, on-call duties are necessary. Our team wishes you luck in your future endeavors. Regards - Steven

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Ok, company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Recruiter in Albany, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is ok, not great but also not terrible

    Cons

    Focuses way too much on numbers instead of focusing on employees, very corporate way too many meetings, health insurance sucks, no work life balance, on call with no additional benefits

    Maxim Healthcare Services2019-02-19

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    February 20, 2019Digital Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the review. Our healthcare professionals, patients and clients are important to us. It's imperative our patients receive quality care, so there are times when being on call is necessary. The job can be demanding, but also rewarding, as many of our management team started their careers out as Maxim recruiters. We hope your time here improves. Thank you - Steven

    Continue reading
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere. Team oriented. Open door policies. Encouraged to take initiative and grow professionally. Office leadership is great.

    Cons

    Work hours are 8am-5:30pm. However, leadership has allowed us to leave early a couple days a week but work life balance is pretty tough, especially with the bad Tampa traffic. Easier to move up within the company if you're open to relocating. Benefits are basic, but not great. Pretty high deductible.

    Continue reading
    Maxim Healthcare Services2019-02-08

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    February 11, 2019Digital Marketing Specialist

    Maxim has done it's best the past view years to keep the deductible as low as possible. I would say it is competitive parallel other companies in our industry. If you haven't done this already, we encourage you to take advantage of our HSA. Thank you for your hard work. Regards - Steven

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience... at first."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Recruiter in Williamsport, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay, Schedule, benefits, company values and culture.

    Cons

    Horrible work life balance. On call is the worst. No such thing as 'Goals' just requirements. high turnover rate.

    Maxim Healthcare Services2019-01-19

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    January 21, 2019Digital Marketing Specialist

    Being on call could be part of the job since our caregivers work 24/7. Many managers began their careers at Maxim as a recruiter, so growth opportunities are available. We recommend speaking to your manager about the unsatisfactory experience. They are always looking for employee feedback to improve the operation. Regards - Steven

    Continue reading
  10. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Healthcare Services part-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance with flexibility and opportunity to pursue any new work avenues

    Cons

    Medical Benefits are not that great

    Continue reading
    Maxim Healthcare Services2019-01-12

    Maxim Healthcare Services Response

    January 14, 2019Digital Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the review. I suggest speaking to your manager about the lack of communication you are experiencing. We are always looking for employee feedback. Regards - Steven

    Continue reading
Found 82 reviews