Maxim Integrated Applications Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Applications Engineer

Maxim Integrated Applications Engineer Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
86%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Maxim Integrated President and CEO Tunc Doluca
Tunc Doluca
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Apps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated full-time

    Pros

    Nice to work with... Good Benefit

    Cons

    Communication is not adequate.

    Advice to Management

    Provide attention to Dallas too.

    Maxim Integrated2015-10-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Applications Engineer 

    I worked at Maxim Integrated for less than a year

    Pros

    Good building, flexible work, good people

    Cons

    the salary and benefits are medium

    Maxim Integrated2019-09-22
  3. "Not so bad for a company in semiconductor industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work culture and benefits

    Cons

    Business is kinda unstable. The industry is pretty stagnant.

    Maxim Integrated2019-08-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start, but I would prefer to be somewhere goofier that pays more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Integrated for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learned a lot, got as deep as I wanted, wore many hats and carved a role that worked for both me and Maxim. Took on project leadership roles very early (compared to bigger companies) while still wearing the engineer hat and doing lab work. Very good!! xD

    Cons

    Very few people do interesting things after work, dress up on Halloween, decorate for Christmas, write an app, go skiing, etc. Just a general lack of spirit was the biggest drawback to working here. Big lack of team building events. Maxim does have a positive culture, but I prefer a bit more lively culture. Not everything has to be without imperfection. I like a little goofiness here and there, and honestly I would rather work harder, have more fun, and stay more motivated in a place that's goofier.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management was good: a little flip floppy, inexperienced, and time wasting at times, but definitely trying and mostly good. Not perfect, but I can work with that. Better than average management for sure. I don't know how the average Maxim employee would benefit, but the old lab equipment, lack of available lab equipment, culture of stealing lab equipment that was in use, 3 year old glitchy laptop not eligible for upgrade, and crippled IT & slow internal websites/tools were certainly not inspiring me to stay. But why I left was 100% career projection / goofiness / salary based. I probably would have left even if Maxim had more money for good equipment.

    Show More
    Maxim Integrated2017-02-05
  5. "great company to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated for more than a year

    Pros

    many chance to learn, not so many paper work

    Cons

    too busy, structure issue. You need to take care too much things if you are at the bottom

    Advice to Management

    fewer directors, more engineer will be better

    Maxim Integrated2015-09-04
  6. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated for less than a year

    Pros

    Job is good. Pay is good. People are good.

    Cons

    Constant reorganization makes business feel unstable.

    Advice to Management

    Stop doing re-orgs.

    Maxim Integrated2015-07-29
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Old school semiconductor stuck in it's ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best analog engineers around, successful at maintaining a VERY tight margin that is great for the stockholders but the employees takes the short end of the stick. Nice new building and environment

    Cons

    Very old school thinking where they still think the economy around them is sinking and they are the only stable company around. Promise of stable company and "the place to be for job security" only to go through constant layoffs and reorgs. No determination to succeed in other areas (look at what's left of their Mobility Group/Sensor group). Contrary to some posters stating good pay ( I don't think they ventured anyplace else or they are star contributors) but if you are a top notch engineer in your game, why would you want to work for this place unless you want a pay cut with a promise of "better overall comp". Don't believe my words? Look at the companies they recently acquired (Volterra, Scintera, etc).Laid off more than over half their acquisition with the remaining employees leaving after getting a taste of this culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No real advice since it will go to death ears

    Maxim Integrated2015-08-08
  8. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is a new building to work in.

    Cons

    Disconnect between management and staff.

    Maxim Integrated2015-07-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Intern during summer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Applications Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Integrated for less than a year

    Pros

    Engineers there are very read to help any entry level students and I can get familiar with the skills needed in a short time. The company has a very flexible time schedule so that sometimes you can relax a little bit but just remember the due date!

    Cons

    I do not like the transportation system although the employees can take the trains for free. It is better to have your own car.

    Maxim Integrated2014-03-28
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Look for another job if your BU's revenue is going down since layoffs are coming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Applications Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very nice, new campus. Good IT support. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Some technical staff in the labs are hostile. Every month either a manager or director changes. Constant restructuring. Brutal, very unstable company in terms of laying masses off unlike in old days.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of laying off junior and mid-level technical staff, try to utilize them in other BUs since they are cheaper and easier to train.

    Maxim Integrated2014-04-30
Found 26 reviews