Maxim Integrated Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Maxim Integrated Director Reviews

Updated Sep 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Maxim Integrated President and CEO Tunc Doluca
Tunc Doluca
11 Ratings
  1. "Awesome culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Heavy on innovation and great on people management.

    Cons

    Too cautious in introducing new products to the market.

    Advice to Management

    Take risk and and be the trailblazer.

    Maxim Integrated2019-03-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not a good place for women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Applications Development in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good equity for executives

    Cons

    Strong male culture where women have few growth opportunities and need to go elsewhere

    Advice to Management

    Change the executive team teporting to the CEO

    Maxim Integrated2019-09-28
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Design director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lot of job opening. Lot of legacy’s products.

    Cons

    At sale mode, no future development roadmap, many projects were canceled.

    Maxim Integrated2018-09-20
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Backwards and Slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Reasonable work life balance, decent work environment

    Cons

    Backwards and slow to change, poor leadership from VP on up, poorly run business processes

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of useless old executive management and replace with smart young guns looking to shake things up

    Maxim Integrated2018-04-26
  6. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging work, leading edge technology, very good people and an aggressive company. Not everybody can make it at Maxim.

    Cons

    Long hours, not enough resources, too much scrutiny for every penny spent.

    Advice to Management

    Invest your time and focus on growing the company.

    Maxim Integrated2015-04-15
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Ok place to work, but be careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy work, not crazy-busy like other Bay Area companies. Headquarters looks nice from the outside.

    Cons

    Bad management choices, poor leadership. After leaving Maxim, legal sent me a letter claiming I disclosed confidential information which was completely false and upsetting given the 3+ solid years I devoted to Maxim. Makes me question how honest and open my time was at Maxim.

    Advice to Management

    Major changes are needed if you want to retain or attract talent.

    Maxim Integrated2015-05-02
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is very little to recommend this company. I guess the only pros I can think of are the sheer number and diversity of Maxim's end markets. This has a stabilizing effect on the company's earnings.

    Cons

    Since the founder, Jack Gifford was forced to leave, Maxim has been on a steady decline. While I was there, I saw sagging morale, incompetent and disingenuous management and a revolving door labor force.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like real people.

    Maxim Integrated2014-09-22
  9. Helpful (5)

    "a sweatshop with nice looking image outside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great innovative products, its in the cutting edge of technology. Highly respected designers and industry leaders. Strong successfull company. Employees are always wanting to suceed and only do right things for Maxim. Image outside the company has changed a lot with the rebranding. I think the marketing folks nailed it and customers are seeing a new Maxim Getting help from a colleague is not a problem because everyone is willing to help if they find the time for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    I hope they really do their best for their employees as well. All the icing outside only covers the still rotten systems working inside Maxim. Life work balance is non existence, HR shows they are making things better but you will never see their presence inside different departments - probably an employee will see them during new employee orientation, or staff meetings of the SVPs or perhaps they want to take a survey. They dont even walk around and say hello or check how employees are doing. Blaming employees is still the trend, its never managements fault, because they are deemed gods not team players. When things go wrong it has to be someone 3 levels down the SVP level who is at fault. Often times you are expected to work very long hours to clean up mess by other groups who are "sacred cows" in the organization, you are not allowed to make any errors or overlook small details unless you are in the inner circle of the SVP. Its all about creating an image to protect your ass. Business process are still broken, its all reactive to daily problems. Teamwork only works when everhthing is working well. But if something goes wrong expect to protect and defend yourself and hold on as the weak and those not in the inner circle are thrown under the bus. Thats the definition of teamwork for you. Senior Management is often feared not respected, that is how things are getting done. Many employees execute in the fear that they will get beaten with a big stick. Not because they respect their leaders and will stand behind them whatever happens. Again, if things go wrong its every man for himself.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, I have not seen any change before and not in the future. Maybe they need to read more books about running an effective organization. Perhaps "the connected company" by David Gray or "The Lombardi Rules: 26 Lessons from Vince Lombardi" and maybe they learn something about motivating people

    Maxim Integrated2014-01-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good place for micro-managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Director in Sunnyvale, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated

    Pros

    Very supportive and highly competent engineering and applications support teams

    Cons

    Top-down micro-management is contagious. Decisions (even non-strategic ones) are routinely elevated.

    Advice to Management

    Empower employees to engage and make strategic business decisions

    Maxim Integrated2012-03-26
  11. "Good place to work if you've been there since the early 90's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Integrated

    Pros

    The pay is decent, the benefits I'm believe are in line. I have respect for a alot of people there, but some of the newer hires don't have the 'Maxim' Attitude. There just to get experience and a paycheck, then move on. It's easy to tell.

    Cons

    Management sometimes just doesn't get it, and there are a lot of politics being played. If you want to do a good job, work hard, and maybe you'll have a manager who will take care of you.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of you your people. People are very overworked, morale is not good..

    Maxim Integrated2009-09-22
Found 15 reviews