Maxim Integrated Senior Member of Technical Staff Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Maxim Integrated Senior Member of Technical Staff Reviews

Updated May 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
89%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Maxim Integrated President and CEO Tunc Doluca
Tunc Doluca
14 Ratings
  1. "good company for old style traditional engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Member of Technical Staff in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated

    Pros

    - stable and profitable whatever whenever - not too much pressure - there are much to learn if you are willing to learn - good life work balance if you work smartly

    Cons

    - there are no cons actually if you are a stable and tradional old style family-oriented engineer. - if you want great risk and reward, go to a startup, Maxim-ic is a stable and slowly progressive company which is not bad for the whole global economy.

    Advice to Management

    - keep doing what you are doing, Maxim-ic is growing slowly but it's OK. - more reward to those hard-working engineers if possible. - get rid of those lazy guys (worst performers and never improving).

    Maxim Integrated2012-05-11
  2. "Strong company with good corporate culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I like my own boss and like what I do at Maxim.

    Cons

    Blind spots in management - Fear (among the remote sites leadership) to speak against higher-up headquarters leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to trust managers in remote sites and empower them to get the most of their knowledge and expertise. Sometimes it's us against them. Nobody wins that way.

    Maxim Integrated2019-05-23
  3. "depends on manage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are lucky to work for one of the better managers, its a wonderful place to learn. they focus on small teams where you are given the freedom to work on many aspects of a chip effort

    Cons

    MXIM has a history of pitting business units against each other. while the executive are trying to build a more cohesive culture, progress is slow

    Advice to Management

    the executive initiatives are moving in the right direction, try to meet with various members of the company to get a feel for how the execution is going

    Maxim Integrated2018-02-01
  4. "Senior Principle Member of Technical Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Member of Technical Staff in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are results oriented and willing to assist and share information whenever asked. Projects are interesting and challenging. Overall the company is stable.

    Cons

    At times it seems that management has lost focus on end results and puts too much value on intermediate metrics which can be manipulated. I believe their intentions are in the right place, but often they miss the mark.

    Advice to Management

    Look past the metrics, bean counting and HR recommendations and focus on whether we are getting where we want to be. And don't bother spinning the results. Employees are smart and will see the truth.

    Maxim Integrated2017-09-18
  5. "Senior MTS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Irvine, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and stock option program. Probably a good place to be an analog IC designer.

    Cons

    Arcane bonus formula with no apparent linkage between the payout and achieving planned objectives. Poor product definition process leads to releasing products customers don't buy. Managers are graded on the number of products released, not for releasing successful products.

    Advice to Management

    Get a better understanding of what's needed to engage in the embedded microcontroller market.

    Maxim Integrated2017-06-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Semiconductor company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Integrated part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Health benefits are good. Coworker are mostly friendly. It satisfies at technical and career development. Flexible working hours and not so tight schedule.

    Cons

    Maxim does not have agreements with MOOC websites like Pluralsight, Udemy, Coursera, etc. No free meals. Under average at compensation.

    Advice to Management

    I wish Maxim to have paid paternal leaving option like Microsoft and Google have. How many times we will have a baby in a lifetime. This should not a big deal. Doesnt have Kosher, halal etc meal options and doesnt respect to employees meal preferences...

    Maxim Integrated2017-05-10
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Worst place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of smart people to learn from. You continuously get exposed to very practical, real world problems.

    Cons

    Workload is too demanding. Management does not appreciate what it takes to perform most assigned tasks, and therefore, assigns too many tasks to employees. They almost never appreciate a job well done, but are very quick to point out even the slightest mistakes or shortcomings in your work. I could go on for ever about the cons of working at this place. I am just so glad that I am out.

    Advice to Management

    Most of them are not qualified to manage people. Company needs to appoint managers who have some people skills, and know how to motivate the employees.

    Maxim Integrated2016-04-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Member of Technical Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated

    Pros

    Good compensation. Good products. Good opportunities to grow career in headquarters.

    Cons

    Whole company's revenue is getting flat now.

    Maxim Integrated2016-02-02
  9. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good place to start, work load not that high

    Cons

    projects are not exciting enough

    Advice to Management

    do fun stuff

    Maxim Integrated2015-07-04
  10. "A different Maxim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Maxim Integrated full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    exciting technological challenges. good benefits and overall compensation

    Cons

    No longer sees the value of the #1 asset, their engineering staff

    Advice to Management

    Stop using comparisons to other semi-conductor companies to justify your compensation changes.

    Maxim Integrated2015-02-04
Found 22 reviews