May Institute Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
May Institute President & CEO Lauren C. Solotar
Lauren C. Solotar
58 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management is rude and acts like they’re better than you (they’re not)(in 6 reviews)

  • "Very hands on, a lot of physical management, low pay(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wonderful place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Behavior Therapist in West Springfield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at May Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, lots of support from supervisors/office staff, flexible schedule, good pay, training opportunities, free supervision experience hours towards certification

    Cons

    some families can be tough to work with, some BCBA's don't go out to sessions enough

    May Institute2020-05-18
  2. "Good experience overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Education Instructor in West Springfield, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at May Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    co-workers and company culture is great, positive atmosphere

    Cons

    the nature of the work can get intense at times

    May Institute2020-05-23
  3. "I like it"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant 

    I have been working at May Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy it working here

    Cons

    Poor communication between administrators and everyone else

    May Institute2020-02-16
  4. "Great place to get started in human services"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Therapist I in Randolph, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at May Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Caring and compassionate people working together to help individuals with Autism.

    Cons

    None that I have come across in my short time working for them.

    May Institute2019-12-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Tough kids, tougher management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Classroom Counselor in Randolph, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at May Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to get experience if you want to get into the field. Their standards for hiring are low, so if you are interested, give it a shot.

    Cons

    The management is horrible and will ignore your concerns. Terrible staff can get away with nearly anything because the managers are desperate to keep staff. As a result, good staff have to work harder and try to ignore misdeeds of the terrible staff, and may quit, creating the problem management is attempting to solve. Managerial decisions are made at random with little reason which adds to the stress of an already stressful job. They do not care about individual classrooms or staff, just having enough staff. Your experience can vary a lot depending on your classroom and whether you have to tolerate awful staff who are never fired but will likely quit if you wait long enough. There is no union here and they squashed one that lasted very briefly. Since then they have done propaganda on how awful unions are. How any "school" operates without one is beyond me.

    Continue reading
    May Institute2020-01-25
  6. "May"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Residential Counselor 

    I worked at May Institute full-time

    Pros

    403 B benefits were good

    Cons

    Not enough hours for PRN staff

    Continue reading
    May Institute2019-12-12
  7. "Fee For Service"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Therapist in Randolph, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at May Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Client success is a great perk of the job.

    Cons

    Fee for service which means if your clients does not show up to your appointment then you do not get paid. You do not have any PTO just a maximum opportunity to earn sick time. Every 30 hours worked you can earn 1 hour of sick time which can be used in the fiscal year for being sick. If you want benefits (healthcare) then you have to work a minimum of 20 hours a week average with clients.

    Continue reading
    May Institute2019-11-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Overall"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Program Coordinator in Randolph, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at May Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overtime, flexibility, Tuition reimbursement, meeting new people, Downtime

    Cons

    Discrimination, lack of pay, Favoritism, Training, opportunities

    Continue reading
    May Institute2019-10-20
  9. "Senior Behavior Therapist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Behavior Therapist 

    I worked at May Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Rewarding work -Decent pay -Tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    -Unreliable supervisors -Too much driving (3 hours per day)

    May Institute2019-08-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "More politics than care"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Randolph, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at May Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good, and you are able to work with the most amazing kids

    Cons

    Management only cares about keeping their friends employed. No diversity with Staff and they tend to play favorites. If for someone reason they do not like you as a person although you do phenomenal work with the kids, they will wait for something extremely minor, write you up and fire you all at once. they operate or retaliatory basis. I do not recommend.

    Continue reading
    May Institute2019-09-04
Found 132 reviews