Maynard Cooper & Gale Reviews | Glassdoor

Maynard Cooper & Gale Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Maynard Cooper & Gale CEO Jeff Grantham (no image)
Jeff Grantham
1 Ratings
  1. "Excellent firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Attorney in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Maynard Cooper & Gale full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great firm. Friendly, pays well, understanding of personal situations, excellent benefits, great atmosphere.

    Cons

    Can be long hours sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Maynard Cooper & Gale2019-05-29
  2. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends

    I worked at Maynard Cooper & Gale for more than a year

    Pros

    Had a phenomenal internship there; hardworking but kind people, always interested in getting to know people and encouraging employees

    Cons

    Long hours and low pay at first

    Maynard Cooper & Gale2019-05-21
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Legal Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maynard Cooper & Gale for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone was very nice and helpful and professional.

    Cons

    There is a definite separation between attorneys and staff.

    Maynard Cooper & Gale2019-04-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "No management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Litigation Paralegal in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Maynard Cooper & Gale full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people that work there

    Cons

    Low wages, no management at all in their SF office. "Benefits" are awful with a $3,000 deductible. There were days where I would sit for 8 hours straight with no work to do, even after asking all the attorneys. They don't allow their paralegals to even do paralegal work. They have Of Counsel answering discovery instead of paralegals. They give the legal assistant all the paralegal type work because one of their main... clients is stingy when it comes to billing. You don't need a paralegal certificate to do the job. The morale is low and multiple people are looking for work elsewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to hire an office manager at the SF office. There was literally no one managing any of the support staff. No one knows their role half the time we are working. They mix work up between the paralegals, legal assistant and admin assiatant with no organization whatsoever. An office will not function without proper management. Also, pay your workers a living wage. $62k a year for a paralegal is well below... average for a paralegal in SF. You will continue to lose paralegals if you don't manage them, pay them terrible and don't treat them like the professionals we are.

    Show More
    Maynard Cooper & Gale2019-03-20
  5. "Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Maynard Cooper & Gale full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and good work environment

    Cons

    Benefits are okay, but other than that great company.

    Maynard Cooper & Gale2017-10-19
  6. "Wonderful place to work. Love the people and environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maynard Cooper & Gale full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment to learn and grow. Peers are very willing and able to help when needed. Firm is full of very bright individuals willing to work hard for the client.

    Cons

    More diversity in the workplace would be great. Help with continuing education for non-salary employees would be most appreciated and assist with job satisfaction.

    Maynard Cooper & Gale2017-09-26
  7. "Great People to Work With!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Litigation Support Analyst in Birmingham, AL
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Maynard Cooper & Gale full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are really what make this place great... lots of folks are willing to help out when needed and there is a great team mentality. The office is a great space, very beautiful and really convenient. They offer a good 401k and bonus program as well.

    Cons

    The pay wasn't great and there was really no place for me to advance to. Parking downtown is expensive, and the firm provides no offset for the staff. There's a big divide between the support staff and the attorneys, and it definitely trickles down and affects morale at times.

    Maynard Cooper & Gale2017-03-13
  8. "Excellent full service law firm that offers top market salary and benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Maynard Cooper & Gale full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unmatched client base and opportunities to work on sophisticated matters in a mid-sized city. Work life balance is as good as any similar law firm.

    Cons

    Like all corporate law firms, compensation and advancement is largely based upon billable hours. Work is often redundant and demanding.

    Advice to Management

    Consider more alternatives to partnership track for associates.

    Maynard Cooper & Gale2017-01-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Legal Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Maynard Cooper & Gale

    Pros

    Awesome people, "perks" and fairly easy to take off work

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities for staff

    Advice to Management

    More of a team environment would be nice. Some of the attorneys like to think they are above the staff. Creates hostility.

    Maynard Cooper & Gale2016-06-27
  10. "Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Maynard Cooper & Gale for more than a year

    Pros

    I liked that there was a collegial work environment in the particular practice unit I was assigned. The staff was also very helpful.

    Cons

    Inaccessible to project based management which proved to cause a lapse in communication. Project was unorganized. Unable to give timeline for completion.

    Maynard Cooper & Gale2016-03-25
Found 17 reviews