Mayo Clinic Administrative Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Mayo Clinic Administrative Assistant Reviews

Updated Apr 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
18%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Mayo Clinic CEO John H. Noseworthy
John H. Noseworthy
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The peers are nice. A beautiful and serene place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    At Mayo Clinic, They take care of you. They work with you in any situation. Patient Care is their top priority.

    Cons

    There really aren't any cons. I can't think of one negative possibility at Mayo Clinic of Florida. The doctors, medical staff and other staff are just phenomenal at Mayo Clinic Florida.

    Advice to Management

    No advice to offer.

    Mayo Clinic2017-01-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great pay - Bad work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Rochester, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is excellent and so are the benefits.

    Cons

    Most bosses expect you to work through breaks, lunches, and stay late. There are a lot of upper management but not a lot of admins to complete the work. When you go to leadership asking for help with staffing they tell you not complain and that we aren’t allowed to say we are short staffed.

    Advice to Management

    Do not saddle your admins with 35-45 upper staff to support.

    Mayo Clinic2019-04-14
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Rochester, MN
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits. Good employee cafeteria food.

    Cons

    Extremely overly strict management. Overload with work is why they pay more. Managment micro manages and then the co workers micro manage each other. Extremely unprofessional, corrupted manager, if the manager does not like you she will write you up for anything you said or do every day until your full of corrected write ups to be fired! Just very manipulating management to the point of dishonesty. And when the patient...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read the cons.

    Mayo Clinic2018-02-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture. Always team work, working for the best for the patient. Good benefits, with hard work and good resume you can go far in your career.

    Cons

    I don't have bad things to say, more than the cafetería for employees could serve better food. For some people Mayo can be to strict and by the book.

    Mayo Clinic2017-09-27
  5. Helpful (9)

    "If you are ok working for the mafia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Rochester, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mayo Clinic for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good hours, enjoyed my job, loved those I supported.

    Cons

    Working for Mayo is like working for the mafia. It's not a warm fuzzy feeling. Mayo does some horrible things to the staff it's truly sad. From what I hear, it's about to get worse. Mayo is excellent at giving minimal raises and bragging to the public on how much they value their employees. BS. After a raise, they jack up the health insurance at a crazy rate. Sooooooo happy I got the H out!

    Mayo Clinic2017-06-23
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Administrative assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Rochester, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mayo Clinic for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I loved my job until the work differently initiative i was moved a few floors up to support doctors (ph,d) and lab supervisors.

    Cons

    Entitled consultants. Hostile work environment. Secretary/Admit asst will be the first to weclome you and throw you to the rabid wolves. DLMP is not friendly, it is how can it please the consultants, directors. Management will not back you, consultants first. Lack of training, with a constant reminders that you are replacable. Respect is another word for submission and poor work performance

    Advice to Management

    Management and hr are tied to this hip. Once a concerned employee brings up concerns it is a slow painful road full of humiliation and destruction of your self worth until you quit.

    Mayo Clinic2016-09-22
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Rochester, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mayo Clinic

    Pros

    Reputation of the place is good, so it looks good on a resume. Honestly can't think of any other good things to say about the place. Coworkers were nice. Manager was rude and hostile and lazy.

    Cons

    They don't really care about their employees unless you're a doctor. Don't get hurt there or they'll fire you, especially if the injury is a result of their negligence. Managers are not trained, therefore they don't know what they're doing and treat underlings badly. They make many mistakes and cover them all up. They double up the workload when people retire and don't hire any new people. My manager gavel essential work...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on training managers and employees and treating employees fairly and humanely. Start caring about your employees. When employee gets hurt due to your negligence, don't fire them!

    Mayo Clinic2016-08-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Employer - lots of differences in "environment" pending departments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Saint Charles, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    lots of variety in employment opportunities, top notch gym, sick childcare, great free education opportunities

    Cons

    Can be difficult to change departments, departments have different policies, administrative support positions can be difficult to move out of

    Advice to Management

    Remember the bigger picture of Mayo Clinic and do less micro managing, also remember that the patient is also your employees

    Mayo Clinic2015-12-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in La Crosse, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tons of PTO, great benefits, great coworkers and management

    Cons

    Pay is on the low end.

    Mayo Clinic2015-08-17
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Not all it's supposed to be..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant Supervisor in Rochester, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Organization does great things clinically and that is something to be proud of.

    Cons

    Pay is well below market and does not cover rising cost of living in Rochester. Organization leadership tends to live off of it's history instead of innovating. Little advancement opportunity. Stated values and mission are great, but do not necessarily apply to all, especially management.

    Advice to Management

    You need to review pay scales and pay based on merit, drop that ridiculous internal equity garbage. This leads to the laziest deadwood making the most money and sticking around forever while the workers get nothing for their efforts.

    Mayo Clinic2015-04-06
Found 20 reviews