Mayo Clinic Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Mayo Clinic Intern Reviews

Updated Jan 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mayo Clinic CEO John H. Noseworthy
John H. Noseworthy
7 Ratings
  1. "Mayo IT Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer Intern in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers are great. Very accommodating given 20 hrs per week and at least half time on-site. Interns are assumed to become fully contributing Scrum Team members. The level of exposure, practice, and responsibility I was given was an absolute dream for an intern. (Hard at the beginning, but absolutely worth it in the end).

    Cons

    Almost no orientation was provided when I started, combined with the idea that I would be writing code on my second day. That is changing, though.

    Advice to Management

    Keep a good thing going! Looks like you will need bigger office space soon!

    Mayo Clinic2018-10-16
  2. "Good Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Intern in Rochester, MN
      Recommends

      I worked at Mayo Clinic for less than a year

      Pros

      Very important work is done here, and the coworkers were nicest people I've met.

      Cons

      As an intern I was doing very menial work.

      Mayo Clinic2019-01-31
    • Helpful (2)

      "IT Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Intern in Rochester, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mayo Clinic for more than a year

      Pros

      Laid back work culture, freedom to work on ideas

      Cons

      pay pretty low compared to industry standards

      Mayo Clinic2018-01-28
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Rochester, MN
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Mayo Clinic for more than a year

      Pros

      Great environment to work in. Mayo Clinic also does just about everything so theres a ton of job opportunities

      Cons

      Hard to get in. People with poor performance get sent to other Mayo locations instead of being fired.

      Mayo Clinic2017-11-02
    • "Great hospital, great job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Rochester, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mayo Clinic for less than a year

      Pros

      nice people, nice benefits, ability to network, learned so much during my internship, so many lectures and cool things to go to

      Cons

      Rochester, MN is small and does not have much to offer as a town, Mayo Clinic basically is the town, desk job could get monotonous, mentor was very aloof.

      Advice to Management

      very nice place to work, but it would be nice to assign the mentors to students based on personality. My mentor was very cold and unapproachable, making it hard to work with her.

      Mayo Clinic2016-09-15
    • "Great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Rochester, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mayo Clinic for less than a year

      Pros

      Great work environment Lot of work freedom Good colleagues

      Cons

      Rochester is a very small city and it may take time to adjust there.

      Advice to Management

      Tax officials need to be well versed with the rules. I got to know that I was not supposed to be taxed due to a reciprocal agreement between two states, but I still got taxed.

      Mayo Clinic2016-07-14
    • "HR Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Human Resources Intern in Rochester, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mayo Clinic

      Pros

      Working within the HR department is one of the greatest places to work. They are very helpful and you get to work at Mayo Clinic which is the best place to work.

      Cons

      There is no cons at working at Mayo. They know what they are doing there and how to handle things. Even living in Minnesota is not bad at all.

      Advice to Management

      Advice I would give is nothing. They are all very educated and know what they are doing and are very helpful.

      Mayo Clinic2016-04-26
    • "Sports Medicine intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      Former Employee - Intern in Madison, WI
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Mayo Clinic for more than a year

      Pros

      flexible hours, good experience, beautiful hospital

      Cons

      not paid, mainly cubical work

      Mayo Clinic2016-02-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Undergraduate Research Fellow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      Former Employee - Intern in Rochester, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Mayo Clinic

      Pros

      Highly collaborative work environment that values research and clinical care in equal measure Hires incredibly skilled researchers Excellent training for interns and entry-level workers

      Cons

      Observed no significant downsides to working at Mayo

      Mayo Clinic2015-09-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Mayo Clinic for less than a year

      Pros

      People all seem very happy and stay for a long time. They all get a sense of the mission And you see the cutting edge of medicine first hand

      Cons

      Very bureaucratic and slow moving company. Not likely to get to the top unless you are willing to do time in Minnesota home office.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing.

      Mayo Clinic2015-06-30
    Found 18 reviews