Mayo Clinic Postdoctoral Research Fellow Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Mayo Clinic Postdoctoral Research Fellow Reviews

Updated Mar 4, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mayo Clinic CEO John H. Noseworthy
John H. Noseworthy
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Postdoctoral Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    many project opportunities, friendly culture

    Cons

    high intensity work space far from major cities

    Advice to Management

    none

    Mayo Clinic2018-03-04
  2. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best place to do post doc . Great great great

    Cons

    Nil nil nil nil nil nil nil nil nil nil nil

    Mayo Clinic2017-12-13
  3. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mayo Clinic for less than a year

    Pros

    Super talented professions, super nice people, great working environment, great benefit

    Cons

    The location is a little remote

    Advice to Management

    You are doing great, keep going

    Mayo Clinic2017-10-07
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Postdoctoral Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Rochester, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic

    Pros

    There are opportunities/funding for interesting clinic-based research.

    Cons

    Basic research arm of Mayo Clinic seems underdeveloped. Very clinically focused (a pro and con). In research, teams are largely not defined by projects, but by expertise.. which can lead to disconnect among members working on projects together. Very top-down structure.

    Mayo Clinic2016-04-30
  5. "Postdoctoral Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of resources, state of the art research and equipment,

    Cons

    Rochester is a very small town, salary is low and benefits are poor.

    Mayo Clinic2015-04-08
  6. "Unpalatable --uncompetitive work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Rochester, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Don't see any pros. I'm in research and research is not very good here.

    Cons

    I have just joined Mayo as a postdoc research fellow. It's all negative from my perspective (I needed a job so I took this). It takes several weeks after you have accepted the offer before you can join because HR takes a long time with their internal process. You will be required to take tests (TB etc...) and vaccinations. You have to fill out a form listing your entire vaccination history --who has that kind of information?...

    Show More
    Mayo Clinic2014-05-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic environment and benefits, with a few caveats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits (health insurance, pay ...) - Mayo's name is well-known and will potentially open doors for your future career - Certain departments are very efficient and their performances are top notch

    Cons

    - Mayo has a distinct culture, sometimes almost hypocritical; this is something that you either deal with or leave it altogether

    Advice to Management

    - HR needs to stay on top of their tasks, too often certain contract related issues are not resolved in a professional and timely manner

    Mayo Clinic2013-03-18
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment, variety of benefits State-of-the art science Many research opportunities

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to achieve permanent position

    Mayo Clinic2012-11-05
  9. "Mayo Clinic is a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very professional and good for career growth

    Cons

    I don't find any cons at this place.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and keep the feedbacks flowing so that we can improve further.

    Mayo Clinic2012-08-31
  10. "Postdoctoral Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work environment. Great for translational/medical research. Great benefits and freedom.

    Cons

    Boring city. Not much opportunity in fundamental research.

    Advice to Management

    Have more intramural funding opportunities

    Mayo Clinic2012-07-21
Found 12 reviews