KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
Best Places to Work 2022

Mayo Clinic

Engaged Employer

Mayo Clinic

Add a Review

Mayo Clinic Reviews

Updated May 23, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,444 of over 2,661 reviews

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Mayo Clinic President and CEO Dr. Gianrico Farrugia
Dr. Gianrico Farrugia
508 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Mayo Clinic and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Job

    May 23, 2022 - Supply Chain Intern in La Crosse, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great experience in a good field

    Cons

    Work was tough and sometimes irrelevant

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Bullying & Racism

    May 13, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary. Hard to find another healthcare facility that pays as well.

    Cons

    HR is not for the people. Many people go to HR for help only to find themselves shortly after written up or bullied by management. Bullying and harassment comes almost exclusively from management. Mayo was made aware years ago. People voiced their stories of harassment in their departments. Years later the people seemed to silenced more than the issue addressed. Covert racism and hefty office politics with favoritism. In some departments it’s disgustingly obvious. Management hires friends over people that are qualified. When applying for jobs it’s not the skills you know but who you know. It’s mentally exhausting playing the office politics game. People of color seem to have a disadvantage. They are more likely to be reprimanded, held to impossibly high standards. I’ve watched a number of educated and professional people of color leave the company due to inability to get promoted.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nightmare Employer if You Are Disabled

    Apr 20, 2022 - Administrative Assistant in Rochester, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mayo Clinic's benefits are top tier. Health insurance, dental insurance, vision insurance and paid parental leave based on your FTE are all amazing. The cost is also affordable, and there are three major choices for health insurance.

    Cons

    Mayo does a terrible job of accommodating disabled workers. I did my job just fine for nearly 6 months before I realized I needed an accommodation, one of which was already given to me on a case by case basis, but my manager still booted me out of the department by claiming she couldn't accommodate me. I'm now stuck in a ridiculous "return to work" program that is demeaning and not very good at actually helping you get another position internally. Additionally, it's illegal to ask an interviewee what their disability is. They are not obligated to tell you any details unless they are hired. I have had no less than TWO hiring managers ask me this illegal question. Lastly, pay is still a huge issue within Mayo. They use "market data" to determine raises each year as well as general wages, but then refuse to share that data for others to examine and understand why they made their decision. That is alarming, to say the least, and implies some level of dishonesty in the data. Granted, they did approve a 4% general raise this year, but that was ONLY after a large number of employees gathered together to voice their displeasure with the paltry amount offered previously.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Registered Nurse

    May 23, 2022 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive pay Overall good environment Good benefits

    Cons

    Hard to get a promotion

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place

    May 19, 2022 - Interventional Radiology Technologist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This facility works like the healthcare places of old used to work. They listen to employees, care about upwards mobility, follow protocol, and take pride in their values.

    Cons

    Change is slow since it is such a big machine.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Abuse of Power with Associate Microbiology Dept

    May 22, 2022 - Medical Technologist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent retirement plan for employees

    Cons

    Pay is among the lowest in Phoenix metro Management does not listen to employees. Hire lack experience people in team lead, technical, and supervisor. High turnover rate in Microbiology Dept within the last 6 months; currently 19 employees has either resigned or transfer to another department due to abuse of power with Associate Director and management turning a blind eye instead of confronting the situation. Management refuse to rectify this issue.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Resident Salary

    May 22, 2022 - Resident Physician in Rochester, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work and cheap cost of living in MN

    Cons

    Being in the midwest is less than ideal

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Poor Leadership

    May 21, 2022 -  in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    New young team, good pay and quick delivery of quality laptop and remote working tools

    Cons

    Mayo Clinic is a dumpster fire. Executive leadership can't agree, so basic questions like "What platform are we going to build on?" and "Who owns the final say?" are political landmines. There were essentially 3 projects cannibalising each other and no one corrected the issue. During onboarding I was told from two different people that they nearly lost their jobs for expressing an idea. After my boss was suddenly fired, I learned they'd gone through 6 bosses in about a year! The executive shrugged it off as a need for "another reorg." Mayo is a company at war with itself. Everyone that actually tries to help them bring about the change that they say they want gets fired. Not uncommon to old enterprises, every decision is made by committee. This company is so overly top heavy that when they fired my boss they hired two people to replace her. Immediately the quality of leadership went downhill. In this environment where the major concern expressed at every practice meeting is the need for anonymity so there's no backlash for honest feedback, the next manager that came in was immediately toxic. On day 3 she aggressively belittled a vendor for their work, and when the project owners defended it she doubled down and a bunch of emergency leadership meetings were called. Then this lady said it looked bad that the project leaders weren't willing to come in for this meeting on a religious holiday. That's religious discrimination plain and simple! I watched as leaders said they got rid of people for "icky behavior" but then they were the one's i saw being toxic and contradicting themselves. I was partnered with a researcher whose work was extremely junior and when she asked me for feedback, she was always offended by it. I spent hours helping her with basic technology, like Word! I didn't want to say anything because I didn't want to get her fired. After months of abuse from her, I finally spoke up to leadership and they coddled her. I looked up both the new manager and the researcher in LinkedIn and both had keyword stuffed their profiles. Which made so much sense, because their contributions to meetings was laughable. Neither the researcher nor the manager could answer basic questions about the project or the platform, and I or others had to jump in and clarify or answer for them. I started applying for other jobs 5 months into my 1 year contract.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    May 20, 2022 - Registered Nurse, ADN in Rochester, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and friendly staff

    Cons

    Like other healthcare institutions, safe staffing levels continue to be a problem and often leaves nurses overworked or assigned large patient loads

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Insane Working Conditions

    May 12, 2022 - RN in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent staff, only hire the best of the best. The patient population is easy to work with, and the bed lift in every room was really a back saver.

    Cons

    They did not pay us a BSN differential, 12 experienced nurses left our floor within a month because we were constantly short staffed, had no critical or holiday pay, and neighboring hospital was offering almost triple what we were making. I was making 30/hr, experienced nurses 32/hr. Had a patient death on our floor due to unsafe staffing. Brought this up to our manager that the unsafe staffing was dangerous to work in (our patients are ICU level patients in any other hospital and they were giving us four of them) and she said this wasn’t a staffing issue. I came to this hospital because of the renowned name thinking they would protect us during this crazy pandemic. I left because I didn’t want to hurt anyone.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,444 Reviews

Mayo Clinic Reviews FAQs

Mayo Clinic has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 2,661 reviews left anonymously by employees. 75% of employees would recommend working at Mayo Clinic to a friend and 69% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Mayo Clinic employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Mayo Clinic. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

75% of Mayo Clinic employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Mayo Clinic 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Mayo Clinic to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be management .

Popular Careers with Mayo Clinic Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Mayo Clinic? Share Your Experiences