Mayo Clinic Reviews | Glassdoor

Mayo Clinic Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1235 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Mayo Clinic CEO John H. Noseworthy
John H. Noseworthy
572 Ratings
  1. "Mayo is an amazing place to work because of the friendly staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with

    Cons

    The weather is freezing in Winter

    Advice to Management

    I would pay more money for overtime.

    Mayo Clinic2019-08-19
  2. "BEST company EVER!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Case Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mayo remains true to the foundation upon which it was founded.

    Cons

    Not implying they are perfect but I have yet to experience one.

    Advice to Management

    Keep making the Mayo family proud!

    Mayo Clinic2019-08-11
  3. "Fantastic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Laboratory Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, high pay rate, and friendly staff

    Cons

    Very large company can be hard to not feel overwhelmed

    Mayo Clinic2019-08-06
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Top-of-the-line everything. Lots of opportunities for growth. College reimbursement. Focus on the patient.

    Cons

    Not everybody believes the needs of the patient come first. Can be difficult to work with physicians but I’m sure that’s the case anywhere

    Mayo Clinic2019-08-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, an excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Nurse Coordinator in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dedicated and invested team members, top notch technology for patients and staff, long history of excellence and respect in the healthcare field. Feel proud to work at Mayo Clinic!

    Cons

    Rapid growth = growing pains in regards to staff management, staff training and setting expectations, which negatively affects patient care at times. Leadership invests in departments and technology that make money, which leave some teams short staffed and overworked.

    Mayo Clinic2019-07-31
  6. "Wonderful Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Content Manager in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people working for a good cause.

    Cons

    Place is huge and getting around is a chore!

    Mayo Clinic2019-07-28
  7. "PCU RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PCU RN in Rochester, MN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent education, nurse internship program, support of management and co-workers. We receive our breaks and it is a great team environment with excellent resources.

    Cons

    Nothing negative about Mayo. Rochester, MN isn't the most happening place, but I moved from a bigger city. Nice if you are coming here with a family, not as great if you are single.

    Mayo Clinic2019-07-25
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Documentation Specialist in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly and helpful coworkers and supervisors. Wonderful benefits and time off. Best place I have ever worked.

    Cons

    The only downside is if you have no degree; it is becoming very difficult to find a position there that does not require a degree of some sort.

    Advice to Management

    Please consider knowledge and experience when reviewing candidates, and also expand your horizons for remote employees.

    Mayo Clinic2019-07-23
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mayo Clinic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to a ton of different areas, great growth company, and wonderful people.

    Cons

    Accountability is sometimes non-existent in some areas.

    Mayo Clinic2019-07-21
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mayo Clinic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, good nurse to patient ratios, great doctors and nurses

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your night shift crew a bit better.

    Mayo Clinic2019-07-21
Found 1235 reviews