KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Mazzella

Is this your company?

Mazzella

Add a Review

Mazzella Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 18 reviews

2.9
60%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Mazzella CEO Tony Mazzella (no image)
Tony Mazzella
13 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place to work

    Aug 6, 2021 - Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are great to work with The pay and benefits are great The company is growing fast and business is great

    Cons

    It can be difficult to navigate internally with the fast growth of the company. It is difficult to find good cultural fits that want to be in our industry

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Horrible new management

    Aug 19, 2021 - Rigger in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some good people to work with

    Cons

    Company wants to tell everyone how great the company is doing ng profit wise then won't give out raises, but have no problem giving out thousands of dollars to the department that just happens to have the owners son on it as a bonus. Upper management won't give straight answers to anyone and ever since the covid pandemic, they have been using covid as an excuse for everything. They have no problem hiring office people but won't hire anyone for the warehouse.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not a bad place to work, but low pay.

    Jan 5, 2021 - Marketing Associate in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They had a good family culture.

    Cons

    Mediocre pay and little room for promotions.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Sales review

    Jan 1, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people within the company. Made so many friends that made my experience amazing.

    Cons

    I was with the company for 5 years. If it wasn’t for Covid I would have spent my entire career there. Covid hit and everything changed though. It’s a family run company so if you’re not family or friends of the family you have to be aware that your job isn’t always secure. I did everything I was asked of and they blind sided me after 5 years and said I wasn’t a good fit for the company. Didn’t give me a single reason why I wasn’t a good fit. I tested positive for Covid and wasn’t able to come in the office for a few weeks. I think upper management saw that and didn’t think I was serious about my job. It’s a shame. All I wanted was the respect that I gave them for 5 years. Better things ahead for both myself and the company. Good luck guys!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Problems abound. Not headed in a good direction.

    Sep 29, 2020 - Anonymous Position in Bartow, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mazzella seems to care about their DIRECT employees in Cleveland.

    Cons

    Mazzella buys companies and then assimilates them under their "umbrella". The problem is that if you work for one of the remote companies, you'll get taken in with their benefits etc, but they don't actually look at the company other than on paper. The culture in our case disappointingly didn't change for the better. So, for example if the company you apply for has some terrible management and low morale, it isn't going to change. They get to know a few members of management, in some cases the very problem with the morale, and throw all of their trust and faith behind these people without finding out if they are actual managers or good at their day to day job. Simple things like, management comes in and goes directly to their office, never taking time to walk the facility or talk to anyone. In one case I knew of an employee that had worked their for almost 3 years and had never met 2 of the 4 "upper management" people that work right there in the same building. This perception is perpetuated when Mazzella representatives fly in. They come in, meet with their chosen few and are gone again like the wind. As a result they literally have no clue what is going on in any of the departments or with any of their employees. Very much a "you don't matter" vibe. Things like VERY high turnover don't seem to get their attention, even though they don't seem to have those problems in their home facility doing very similar jobs. They make NO effort to interview those leaving, let alone check in with the people suffering under the weight of these terrible, tone deaf, lazy "managers". In the case of the company I worked for in Florida for example, people with great dedication and skills go virtually unutilized, unrecognized and buried under the burden of the work others refuse to do. When you do take on all of that work and perform demonstrably well, you can still go YEARS with ZERO compensation for doing so. I saw it in every single department. Every department has 2-4 people doing the lion's share of the work, while others who refuse to pull their weight but instead choose find opportunities with all their free time to suck up and get invited for drinks get raises, promoted and their work loads lightened. It's simply a sad fact. On top of that if you don't work in sales or as a technician you are told things like "you cost the company money, you don't make us money." As such you are by default a non priority. Never mind even if say you can point to areas where you save them more than 70% (tens of thousands of dollars each annually) that is simply overlooked with things like "well, that's just your job" are the reply. That would be fine if your job included annual raises with your evaluations, but it doesn't. No matter how good your reviews, raises are RARE and performance bonuses are virtually unheard of outside of sales or project management. In other departments where performance based bonuses are given, they are impossible to decipher and calculate because of the creative accounting used to minimize their contribution and keep as much in their pocket as possible. High performing branches and departments are taken from to prop up underperformers, including raises and bonuses. Continuing training and improvement is virtually nonexistent across the board, even when it would make a direct and positive impact on your position. All in all, my experience was not unique. As I said, a high turnover of people who performed demonstratively well at other companies or in other positions, who have said the same things, point to the same problems across the board. To this day when I run into people from virtually any department who still work there the conversation usually starts with "you're lucky you got out". This is usually followed by a painful recitation of whatever ridiculous situations they are now going through and how it's gotten worse. I feel sorry for them since the only solution seems to be for people to move on since the company has and continues to show zero interest in fixing any of the issues. I sincerely hope this changes.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Growth, opportunity, not perfect

    Mar 8, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incredible growth over many years of employment, improvements are being addresses to take better care of employees, massive investment to grow all levels of employees.

    Cons

    Pay must be addressed and the boys n girls club must be addressed.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Rigging Inspector

    Mar 3, 2019 - Rigging Inspector in Lakeland, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company truck (can use a little for personal use no GPS) I didn't work for this company very long but they treated you like an adult the pay was low I think for the responsibility.

    Cons

    Big zone to travel two hours away some weekends.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company and team

    Nov 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay, inexpensive benefits, 401(k) matching, plenty of social functions, down-to-earth CEO, strong sense of team

    Cons

    Working arrangements could be more flexible

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company!

    Sep 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful manager/ownership/leadership team; flexible; understanding of work/life balance; good pay and bonuses

    Cons

    Could use more paid time off

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    A family company

    Feb 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They're very accommodating if you have short notice family obligations you need to deal with outside of work.

    Cons

    There is not much career advancement opportunities for individuals who dont have relatives in executive leadership.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with Mazzella Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Mazzella? Share Your Experiences

Mazzella logo
or