McAfee Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
McAfee President and CEO Peter Leav (no image)
Peter Leav
154 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work/life balance and great people to work with(in 269 reviews)

  • "Diverse and inclusive work culture(in 75 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life Balance is not good when you work with team around the world(in 38 reviews)

  • "Lots of change in upper management(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of McAfee and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great place to work

      Jun 29, 2020 - Business Analyst in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people at McAfee are the BEST. Managers really care about about their employees and HR is doing a really good job showing that they are concerned about the employees well being with the current situation and allowing all employees to work from home. Also, McAfee benefits are one of the best in the industry.

      Cons

      Nothing to add at the moment.

      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      great place to work

      May 13, 2021 - Senior Software QA Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great place to work for

      Cons

      at times work pressure is too much ...

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Mixed bag

      Mar 6, 2021 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers in the Consumer business. There are some really smart, driven, caring people here. Not too much ego or people trying to duck out of work, although there’s some of that nonsense at any job and everyone (except their managers) always knows exactly who they are. Benefits are good. When we were in the office, it was a nice space with lots of natural light, a gym, free fruit, and stuff like that. Quarterly bonuses in addition to annual is nice.

      Cons

      There’s no path for me so to grow professionally. I will have to leave to progress. I don’t even mean getting a promotion, I mean being able to do new or cutting edge things. Nothing against McAfee. They have bigger problems to fix so my function is needed but immature and going to stay that way for a while. I don’t want to keep doing the same thing forever. It’s a good job so hopefully a better opportunity for whoever comes after me.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Nice place to work

      May 14, 2021 - Build Engineer in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, all my managers have been awesome, lots of flexibility, company has performed well

      Cons

      Lots of leadership turnover, we've had some layoffs, I could probably get more money elsewhere, new hiring seems focused only in India so it can be tough integrating/collaborating with teammates on opposite time zones

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Pros and Cons

      May 11, 2021 - Commercial Account Manager in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to learn from very sharp minds

      Cons

      Can't think of any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Place to work

      May 10, 2021 - Threat Researcher in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Transparency, employee empowerment, good bonuses

      Cons

      Better pay, more training, culture could use some work in some areas

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work for McAfee

      May 7, 2021 - Technical Support Engineer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work for McAfee

      Cons

      Work may be gone to other country

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Stay away from HR

      Apr 22, 2021 - Talent Acquisition 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great name and reputation. Committed to being relevant to todays security needs. Strong consumer market presence. There are many wonderful people to work with.

      Cons

      My criticism of McAfee is specific to HR, where leadership (CHRO & VP's) is a tight clique that is unwelcoming to ideas and or people from the outside. Incredibly high attrition rate. People work there for 1-2 years and move on. There is an unhealthy obsession with diversity that results in men being over looked for promotions and opportunities. Plus they are unwilling to invest more into diverse hiring practices. In my two years there, I only had 1 skip level meeting. Horrible reporting tools/process yet a constant demand from leadership to produce data snapshots and reports. Work life balance was a constant challenge because the team is overworked and under staffed.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best of Times, Worst of Times

      Apr 12, 2021 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pros are all in the past, leadership team is not what it use to be. When Chris Young was there that is when we had leaders that cared about people. New CEO is smart and did what he was hired to do. But at the expense of the people.

      Cons

      Executive Management do not care about their people. Very secretive company, driven by HR leader who puts her team and power first, even when it does not make sense. Great to be part of a protective team, but fear based leaders will never be what motivates and gets a company to move forward. Employees did not benefit from IPO, all about paying off private equity.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to grow

      May 2, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is always room to grow

      Cons

      I have no bad things to say

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,745 Reviews

    Popular Careers with McAfee Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at McAfee? Share Your Experiences

    or