McCann Worldgroup "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

McCann Worldgroup Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
McCann Worldgroup Chairman & Chief Executive Officer Harris Diamond
Harris Diamond
137 Ratings
Pros
  • "Coworkers are great and you will meet great people Great time(in 54 reviews)

  • "As an intern, I had the opportunity to learn so much about the real work environment and how to deal with clients(in 46 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "production artist graphic designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer Production Artist in Birmingham, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at McCann Worldgroup full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great people. fun. work hard. play hard.

    Cons

    long hours. no raises. moved around a lot.

    McCann Worldgroup2017-09-26
  2. "Just okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at McCann Worldgroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am not sure if there are

    Cons

    Long hours, job not defined

    McCann Worldgroup2019-02-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, not so great career growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McCann Worldgroup full-time

    Pros

    Great people, made some really great friends that I will keep in touch with for the rest of my life. People are friendly and understanding and for the most part genuinely interested in helping and supporting each other.

    Cons

    Growth opportunities were lacking. A lot of false promises and warped timelines for growth. A lot of it is due to budgets and dealing with New York (head office), but frustrating for people that deserve recognition for the hard work and long hours they put in. Work/life balance was also a little off. Yes this is advertising and people know that long hours come with the job.. but it seemed to me that some people were working significantly longer hours based on their skills which isn't fair. Some senior management played favourites. Found some discrimination based on historical work with the agency. Just because someone hasn't shown this ability doesn't mean they're not capable and shouldn't be considered.

    Show More
    McCann Worldgroup2018-02-14
  4. "Accounting Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCann Worldgroup full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great team, work well together, 401K match

    Cons

    Long hours, heavy workload, shorter deadlines.

    McCann Worldgroup2017-12-20
  5. "Not worth it in San Antonio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McCann Worldgroup

    Pros

    Good name on your resume

    Cons

    Terrible management. Very long hours and lots of drama.

    McCann Worldgroup2017-11-15
  6. "Good Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCann Worldgroup full-time

    Pros

    Great People. Good Pay. Free Beer.

    Cons

    Egos at the top. Long hours.

    McCann Worldgroup2017-08-17
  7. "Old School Ad Agency with Lots of Room for Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Designer/Art Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCann Worldgroup full-time

    Pros

    Some of the best, most creative people in the industry. Lots of exposure to award winning creative and top-shelf clients. Free coffee (you'll need a lot of it when you're working 60-80 hours a week.)

    Cons

    Long hours and unskilled management = too easy to burn out. Not enough opportunities exist to advance within the company. It's a highly old-school corporate culture, and McCann has struggled with talent retention.

    Advice to Management

    I know you guys are working on improving the culture, keep going.

    McCann Worldgroup2017-06-24
  8. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCann Worldgroup for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits- pto and working from home days

    Cons

    long hours and bad work life balance

    McCann Worldgroup2017-05-26
  9. "Great Place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at McCann Worldgroup full-time

    Pros

    Big accounts. Great place to learn production. Amazing culture, awesome perks!

    Cons

    Growth opportunities are limited. Long hours for both creative and account teams. Not the best pay in the industry.

    Advice to Management

    More supportive of work life balance, working from home etc.

    McCann Worldgroup2017-04-25
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic Environment Worth Diving Into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McCann Worldgroup full-time

    Pros

    - Very strong and supportive culture - Tons of employee engagement - Recently strong creative output - Probably dependent on client and position, but I've had lots of freedom with using my time how I deem best, balancing work & personal, etc as long as I perform. - Very few large egos to contend with. - For the most part, strong recognition of talent based on merit

    Cons

    - Pay could be higher. - Account management could/should be a bit stronger in helping drive client decision making vs simply responding to client requests. - Despite being a very modern agency in terms of employee relations, the output is still quite traditional. - Work/life balance has not been a huge issue for me, but there is a feeling of being understaffed in account management and creative. I've seen and heard of exceptionally long hours for those departments.

    Show More
    McCann Worldgroup2016-12-28
Found 72 reviews