McCarthy Building Project Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

McCarthy Building Project Engineer Reviews

Updated 6 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
McCarthy Building CEO Mike Bolen
Mike Bolen
30 Ratings
  1. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ESOP program is amazing, and all my bosses have made sure I've had a good work/life balance. Good salary, with amazing benefits.

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours, and short staffed jobs. Seems to be the nature of the industry for the most part.

    Advice to Management

    Be more aggressive with hiring more people to more adequately staff jobs.

    McCarthy Building2019-06-27
  2. "Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, awesome projects, BIG company but small enough office to know a lot of people and get face time with higher ups

    Cons

    don't always feel recognized/ but moreso need to speak up for yourself. not necessarily a negative

    McCarthy Building2019-10-06
  3. "Good Wellness Program, No Work Life Balance, Boys Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy Building full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Executive leadership is great and supportive, HR is helpful and responsive, good wellness program.

    Cons

    Executive leadership advocates for Project Engineers and promotes Project Engineer development; however, (at the project level) development and promotion is not encouraged. There is a gap between what is being promoted by executives and at the project level. The most important thing is face time, meaning, how long you sit at your desk. It feels like a "good boys club". At the project level, there is a lot of... resistance to using technology. There is NO work-life balance. I "worked" (sat at my desk) 60+hours/week.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Executive leadership is great but there is a large gap in leadership and consistency between Executives and project-level PMs. For example, Executives promote development for Project Engineers by allowing Project Engineers to attend conferences but project-level PMs don't implement it, counter it, or make it impossible for Project Engineers to attend the conference.

    McCarthy Building2019-06-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture with Lots of Locations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are some of the best! We work hard but we also have a lot of fun. Small company feel with a large General Contractor.

    Cons

    Long hours but that's just the industry.

    McCarthy Building2019-05-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Employee Drive is high due to ESOP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees are driven and motivated

    Cons

    Teams are competitive. Tend to lead into not so collaborative relationships with Subs

    Advice to Management

    Need to staff projects better.

    McCarthy Building2019-02-13
  6. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable, Employee Owned Company. Good upper management.

    Cons

    Takes too long to be promoted, there are way too many politics that go into the promotion process.

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting a timely on promoting good employees.

    McCarthy Building2018-09-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Project engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not much pros anymore, company is not the same.

    Cons

    The culture has turned for the worst. Making their employees expendable assets who are looked at just a number and not a team member. Talks bad about other companies and the policies on moving people around when they’re the worst one’s I’ve seen to do that to their employees. Upper management tends to have an arrogant attitude instead of being helpful leaders. Company has turned into a bunch of individuals caring... more about their glorious esop than being apart of a team.

    Show More
    McCarthy Building2018-08-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Absolutely Incredible Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Absolutely Incredible Company! Everyone all the way up to the top executives seem in a way to be a carpenter at heart for their love of building and one of the best ESOP programs available.

    Cons

    For me the geographical locations were limited in that they are not working in too many larger cities and each job can be located very far from the last.

    McCarthy Building2018-05-29
  9. "Great Job - Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities for training and career growth. The company feels like friends and family. We work hard, we play hard

    Cons

    Not always easy to find the person in charge of a department, and job titles can feel arbitrary at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep scrutinizing yourselves, as well as your employees. If we see management make mistakes and appear human, we will be more comfortable owning up and overcoming our own mistakes.

    McCarthy Building2018-01-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Project Engineer Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Been with McCarthy for 4 years as an Intern & Project Engineer full time. No one can beat the benefits of this company. If you can stick it out to retirement with McCarthy, you will be wealthy.

    Cons

    Work life balance is poor. To excel you need to build a close relationship with your upper management, it is not effort related as much as I'd like it to be. Guess you have to brown nose a little bit.

    Advice to Management

    Listen closely to up and coming staff.

    McCarthy Building2017-11-08
Found 36 reviews