McCarthy & Holthus Reviews | Glassdoor

McCarthy & Holthus Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
McCarthy & Holthus Founding Partners Thomas J. Holthus, Kevin R. McCarthy (no image)
Thomas J. Holthus, Kevin R. McCarthy
56 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, poor management, lack of advancement(in 12 reviews)

  • "When asked about the issue, upper management would say(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "M&H is a great firm to work for and the people make it awesome."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy & Holthus

    Pros

    -Meritocracy -Leaders that care -Casual dress code -Firm has great reputation in industry -Coworkers are the best

    Cons

    -Work and clients can be challenging and draining, but is rewarding

    McCarthy & Holthus2020-02-16
  2. "Good work and good management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy & Holthus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management is great and show they really care about their employees.

    Cons

    The work is very repetitive and not a lot of opportunity for growth.

    McCarthy & Holthus2020-02-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "- Great Teams - Supportive Upper Management -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foreclosure Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy & Holthus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Casual work environment. - Easy access to the offices. - Lots of growth potential. - Management is open to process improvement suggestions. - Dedicated IT staff. - Culture Committee that works to improve employees workday experiences. - Fast Paced. - Several departmetns do not require previous lawfirm experience.

    Cons

    - It can be stressful (what job isn't). - Top/Down communication can sometimes hit roadblocks. - Parking for non-attorney staff can be a challenge depending on the office and schedule.

    Continue reading
    McCarthy & Holthus2020-01-23
  4. "Fun hardworking group!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy & Holthus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working for MH/PBS for over a year and its the best job I've had in years! I love my job and the people I work with. We work and play hard every day. I have been so impressed with the leadership at MH/PBS- they truly care about their staff and doing the right thing. In the past year the leadership team has worked location by location to develop programs that enhance the personal and professional lives of employees. We've done wellness challenges, charity events, parties, paid lunches/goodies, as well as site level competitions! Flexible, casual environment, I am able to juggle being a mom and being a professional much easier than in prior companies and positions. They give me the autonomy and ability to do my job well and keep my family happy. I could not be happier!

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons. We all have really busy days/busy times but I'm always given the support and flexibility I need to get it done.

    Continue reading
    McCarthy & Holthus2020-01-23
  5. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Judicial Foreclosure Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy & Holthus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of. Minimum wage with little opportunity for advancement. Value your employees so you dont have such high turnover.

    Cons

    This place will suck the happiness out of you. No joke. Pay your employees enough to live on.

    McCarthy & Holthus2020-02-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Litigation Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at McCarthy & Holthus full-time

    Pros

    Great place to start your career as an attorney. Not much diversity in cases and they have a pretty good assembly line for training.

    Cons

    Some managers lack social and communication skills.

    Continue reading
    McCarthy & Holthus2019-11-14

    McCarthy & Holthus Response

    December 12, 2019Administrator

    We appreciate your positive feedback about our firm and our training process. We make every effort to train new staff on all aspects of our services and how they interrelate. We want to provide all staff, especially new hires, with the tools they will need to be successful. We would like to hear more about your bad experiences with management. Our senior management team works very hard to ensure that all management levels maintain oversight of their specific areas, address problems appropriately and treat employees fairly. We encourage all staff to bring their concerns and dissatisfactions to anyone in a leadership role so that we might better understand what we can do to improve the work environment and employee satisfaction. We encourage you to express your specific concerns to management so that we can have a discussion on how we might help make your experience working with McCarthy & Holthus more enjoyable.

    Continue reading
  7. "Terrible work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at McCarthy & Holthus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good (not great) salary and location.

    Cons

    A very depressing work environment and work space. Management should do more to lift morale.

    McCarthy & Holthus2019-09-10

    McCarthy & Holthus Response

    September 10, 2019Administrator

    We very much appreciate your feedback. We acknowledge the challenges with the work environment in our Portland, Oregon office caused by a significant amount of construction that is in progress on all sides of our building. We understand the office has been affected by the construction noise and other distractions and we have made every effort to keep the conditions as comfortable as possible. We want to provide an environment that promotes employee engagement and allows employees to be successful at their jobs. As part of our recent engagement efforts, we created a Wellness Room where staff are able to do yoga, other exercises or just relax during their breaks. We have also taken great strides in working with managers across our organization to facilitate engagement initiatives for our staff. We encourage all employees to bring their concerns and dissatisfactions to anyone in a leadership role so that we might better understand what we can do to continuously improve. We make every effort to make McCarthy and Holthus a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "It doesn't get worse than this"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy & Holthus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I like the people I work with. I really enjoy the meetings where we get singled out for "leaving bad reviews online." They even let us use our own PTO when the system goes down and we can't work. The struggle to make it through the long pay period is always alleviated when the owner shares his yachting adventures. Words of encouragement are never scarce around this building with 17 parking spots for 200 employees; one of the owners told us that working here is like going to Disneyland. I'm too scared to go to Disneyland because of it.

    Cons

    Besides the pay grade? The level of micromanagement is overwhelming. High turnover rate is alarming. Unethical tactics especially when it comes to billing the clients.

    Continue reading
    McCarthy & Holthus2019-08-02

    McCarthy & Holthus Response

    September 23, 2019Administrator

    We very much appreciate your five plus years of dedication in working at McCarthy & Holthus and value your constructive feedback. We are grateful for all of our long term employees and look for every opportunity to make our employees’ work as engaging as possible. We appreciate that you enjoyed working with the other staff here at the firm as we value all staff and appreciate the value they add to the firm. We have always promoted ethical behavior and practices and a “do it right” policy. We do not believe there are any unethical billing practices occurring anywhere in the firm. We have published methods for staff to escalate suspicious activity to executive management or report it through anonymous portals and we encourage all of our staff to use these avenues should they suspect any wrongdoings. All fees are reviewed and approved by our clients and if they disagree with the amounts invoiced, they will not pay them without further discussion and supporting evidence. We promote an open door policy and hope that all staff are comfortable to discuss any concerns and request help from management and escalate to senior management if they do not have the tools or training needed to be successful at their jobs. We look to all staff to help produce quality work that meets industry standard and client service levels. We believe our compensation and benefits package is fair and competitive with other employers in our various locations and specific industry. In addition to base compensation, management looks for opportunities to award spot bonuses to employees who have displayed outstanding performance. We are always open to suggestions from all employees on how we might improve our compensation packages and do welcome all recommendations. We monitor our turnover rates closely to help identify areas we can improve our efforts toward employee engagement and retention and are very proud that over 40% of our staff have been with the firm for five or more years. We encourage all employees to bring their concerns and dissatisfactions to anyone in a leadership role so that we might better understand what we can do to continuously improve.

    Continue reading
  9. "Good temporary job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy & Holthus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to get your feet wet and gain experience

    Cons

    Is a true foreclosure mill - can be difficult at times to cope with cases

    Continue reading
    McCarthy & Holthus2019-06-25

    McCarthy & Holthus Response

    June 27, 2019Administrator

    We appreciate that you were able to obtain valuable experience at McCarthy & Holthus. We promote an open door policy and hope that all staff are comfortable to discuss any concerns and request help from management and escalate to senior management if they do not have the tools or training needed to be successful at their jobs. We look to all staff to help produce quality work that meets industry standard and client service levels.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy & Holthus part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working there and getting paid

    Cons

    Could be unemployed for ever

    McCarthy & Holthus2019-05-15

    McCarthy & Holthus Response

    June 27, 2019Administrator

    We very much appreciate your positive feedback. We make every effort to make McCarthy & Holthus a great place to work. We want to provide an environment that promotes employee engagement and allows employees to be successful at their jobs.

    Continue reading
Found 91 reviews