McCormick & Schmick's Reviews | Glassdoor

McCormick & Schmick's Reviews

Updated 17 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 205 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
McCormick & Schmick's CEO Tilman J. Fertitta
Tilman J. Fertitta
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Could sometimes be good money stayed going down hill(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good food and people to work with(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hated explaining to customers why our menu continued to decrease in quality but increase in price(in 9 reviews)

  • "upper management have no integrity, care only for the bottom line and don't care how you get there(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Decent Hours Decent Money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bartender in Reston, VA

    I have been working at McCormick & Schmick's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent Hours Decent Money Flex

    Cons

    slow or otherwise bad times to work

    McCormick & Schmick's2019-07-31
  2. "It's OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Tips Enough Hours Enough Tables Plenty of Experience

    Cons

    Bad Management, No Benefits, Outdated Training

    Advice to Management

    I advise that the management focus more on the aspect of a team rather than focusing on how much money they can shove in their pockets.

    McCormick & Schmick's2019-08-28
  3. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some guests were very good tippers.

    Cons

    Horribly Run Abusive Environment Work Doubles Every Big Holliday No Standard to Work Evaluations

    Advice to Management

    None, they already closed this one down

    McCormick & Schmick's2019-09-18
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter 

    I have been working at McCormick & Schmick's full-time

    Pros

    People are freaking great there

    Cons

    Hours are really bad could use more

    McCormick & Schmick's2019-07-30
  5. "Great experience in the US"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, good pay, flexible work hours.

    Cons

    Management could be difficult, very corporate company.

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps better train staff.

    McCormick & Schmick's2019-07-16
  6. "Chaotic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Bartender 

    I have been working at McCormick & Schmick's full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of hours available to pick up.

    Cons

    Disorganized management, low moral, understaffed, high turnover.

    McCormick & Schmick's2019-05-30
  7. "Not a bad gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server 

    I have been working at McCormick & Schmick's part-time

    Pros

    High pay little hours was great

    Cons

    nothing that bad in all honesty

    McCormick & Schmick's2019-05-03
  8. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility in scheduling. Good hours.

    Cons

    A lot of turnover in management

    McCormick & Schmick's2019-04-03
  9. "Closed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter 

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's part-time

    Pros

    Great managers, good place right next to the mall. Could sometimes be good money stayed going down hill.

    Cons

    Landrys sold, new company closed us, no warning

    McCormick & Schmick's2019-04-17
  10. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McCormick & Schmick's part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Love the coworkers and company atmosphere. Working in a high dining restaurant taught me great skills about selling wine.

    Cons

    The management can be difficult (depending on who is managing that night)

    Advice to Management

    I felt like the managers didn't ever commend the employees or give them any positive advice. Everything seemed to be critical.

    McCormick & Schmick's2019-02-23
Found 205 reviews