McCormick & Schmick's "good money" Reviews | Glassdoor

McCormick & Schmick's Employee Reviews about "good money"

Updated Apr 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
28%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
McCormick & Schmick's Chairman, President and CEO of Landry's Inc. Tilman J. Fertitta
Tilman J. Fertitta
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Could sometimes be good money stayed going down hill(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good food and people to work with(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hated explaining to customers why our menu continued to decrease in quality but increase in price(in 9 reviews)

  • "upper management have no integrity, care only for the bottom line and don't care how you get there(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good money"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fine Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good money, good people, great food. I had a fine time working here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a bartending job.

    Cons

    They had a very high turnover of management on all levels. This definitely caused a problem. But other than that it was a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Hire quality management, then hold onto them.

    McCormick & Schmick's2013-04-25
  2. "Closed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter 

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's part-time

    Pros

    Great managers, good place right next to the mall. Could sometimes be good money stayed going down hill.

    Cons

    Landrys sold, new company closed us, no warning

    McCormick & Schmick's2019-04-17
  3. "It is what you make it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's full-time

    Pros

    good money but a lot of sidework

    Cons

    A Landry's company, open 365 days/year, mandatory use of scripted approach

    McCormick & Schmick's2017-09-28
  4. "Decent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server in Portland, OR

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Money, Nice Location, Friendly Staff

    Cons

    Not great Management, No Food Runners,

    McCormick & Schmick's2017-09-03
  5. "Dirty!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's

    Pros

    Can be good money, if you work your butt off.

    Cons

    Kitchen was dirty. Too fast paced to re-wash things. Would have to hand-wash coffee mugs in between customers, which I'm sure is a health code violation.

    McCormick & Schmick's2016-10-06
  6. "TERRIBLY MANAGED"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful environment, easy once learn the menu, good money 100-200 a shift on average, great coworkers

    Cons

    The management is terrible, they pick favorites, decide when to enforce rules and will terminate those they don't like. Example, someone was fired for drinking water on the floor while there were countless examples of employees showing up to work intoxicated. They decide who is more valuable to them and keep who they want. Scheduling is all or none. Holidays terrible. They punish you by forcing you to come to... meetings early Sunday morning if you don't sell enough of their 25$ special membership programs per month. Cheesy...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps think about being fair and realistic with your employees. Don't call a meeting on Sunday morning at 8 am only to send everyone home 30 minutes later. What you are telling your employees is that their time is not valuable, but hello!! these are the people doing your dirty work.

    McCormick & Schmick's2016-05-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Y"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server in Edina, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's

    Pros

    Good money. Usually busy. Work steady.

    Cons

    Bad company. You must work all holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the basics

    McCormick & Schmick's2015-10-24
  8. Helpful (3)

    "McCormick and Schmick's-Good People at Local Level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Private Dining Coordinator in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McCormick & Schmick's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff within the restaurant are great to work with Potential to make good money- Growth in Company is good if you work hard and follow the rules.

    Cons

    Owned by Landry's Inc.-If you do not like to be micro managed, then this is not the company for you.

    McCormick & Schmick's2015-08-30
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Okay money, abusive management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The clientele that comes to dine usually has a lot of money to spend - making it easy to upsell food and drinks. Usually at dinner, a couple won't be able to pay any less than $70. You can really raise the price if you sell an appetizer, entrees, drinks, and dessert. You have potential to make good money.

    Cons

    Customers are okay. Usually stuck up because they're rich enough to eat at the place, which doesn't bother me. My serious problem is with the management. It doesn't matter what your sales are like, as long as you can sell Landry's Select Club cards. You might as well sell your soul. If you didn't sell four a month, you would get written up. Absurd. An employee who sells LSCs often was caught drunk on the job, but... management turned a blind eye because of his LSC sales. If it would've been anyone else, they would've been fired on the spot. They have a strict "no outside food or drink policy", but they make you PAY monthly for an employee discount??? I had a manager throw out a cup of coffee I brought in for myself because of the policy, but I've seen her bring in leftovers plenty of times. I wouldn't recommend that anyone work here. Everyone I know who is still there is trying desperately to get out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1) Give employees incentives to sell LSCs besides the fear of being fired 2) Hire managers that respect their employees 3) Allow servers to bring in their own food.

    McCormick & Schmick's2014-10-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Work here if you don't mind total disrespect from management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McCormick & Schmick's

    Pros

    They try to give time off when requested. The waitstaff that I work with and the chance to make good money are the only reasons to go there.

    Cons

    Wow! Where to begin? Management is a joke! One guy can't get enough of himself, one guy thinks everything is a joke, and one (GM) isn't respected by anyone! Everything from sections to the schedule is made by favoritism. The management staff is never there when they are needed...usually looking at the internet in the office or watching sports in the bar area. Management talks down to employees and talks about... personal employee situations in front of other employees! No matter what happens it is the waitstaff's fault and the management insults and degrades employees at every chance they get! Trust me...get a job some place else! The management will throw you under the bus before you know it!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to talk with employees about how our store is being run. Even though many employees fill out complaints about management nothing is ever fixed. They seem to believe that the problems stem from a wait staff that is loyal and hardworking. Take a look at the managers and not only listen to complaints from employees but also act on them.

    McCormick & Schmick's2010-11-09
Found 10 reviews