McCormick & Schmick's "menu" Reviews | Glassdoor

McCormick & Schmick's Employee Reviews about "menu"

Updated Nov 8, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
28%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
McCormick & Schmick's CEO Tilman J. Fertitta
Tilman J. Fertitta
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Could sometimes be good money stayed going down hill(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good food and people to work with(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hated explaining to customers why our menu continued to decrease in quality but increase in price(in 9 reviews)

  • "upper management have no integrity, care only for the bottom line and don't care how you get there(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "menu"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McCormick & Schmick's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management is encouraging. Great opportunity for professional growth.

    Cons

    The menu changes frequently.

    Advice to Management

    Quiz servers on the menu to ensure thorough knowledge of entree selections.

    McCormick & Schmick's2015-08-09
  2. "bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's full-time

    Pros

    great team of people ,great money

    Cons

    food menu is very detail

    McCormick & Schmick's2017-11-08
  3. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's part-time

    Pros

    The menu is good and the name brings in a lot of people. Decent tips and fun coworkers made it a good job.

    Cons

    The restaurant is located at Ghirardelli Square so parking was sometimes hard to find, especially during events. Luckily multiple bus lines go to the area.

    McCormick & Schmick's2016-07-26
  4. "TERRIBLY MANAGED"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful environment, easy once learn the menu, good money 100-200 a shift on average, great coworkers

    Cons

    The management is terrible, they pick favorites, decide when to enforce rules and will terminate those they don't like. Example, someone was fired for drinking water on the floor while there were countless examples of employees showing up to work intoxicated. They decide who is more valuable to them and keep who they want. Scheduling is all or none. Holidays terrible. They punish you by forcing you to come to... meetings early Sunday morning if you don't sell enough of their 25$ special membership programs per month. Cheesy...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps think about being fair and realistic with your employees. Don't call a meeting on Sunday morning at 8 am only to send everyone home 30 minutes later. What you are telling your employees is that their time is not valuable, but hello!! these are the people doing your dirty work.

    McCormick & Schmick's2016-05-13
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McCormick & Schmick's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The restaurant is a generally lax and fun atmosphere to work in. Tips are good. Family like environment between the servers.

    Cons

    None of the servers know what the food tastes like because management rarely provided taste plates for servers and they offer only one food class a year, with no food at the class. They recently rolled out a brunch menu where we were supposed to try everything, but didn't. Fish all have very slightly different flavors and aside from being able to describe them extremely vaguely, you can't do much. Management... also is ineffective at the restaurant I work at in particular because they are so loaded down with tasks that upper management has them working on. Often they aren't able to be out of the office for more than half the rush of the shift because of something that has to done on the computer. Management also continues to overstaff the restaurant because they are unable to see how many servers are actually needed on the floor in the mornings because they are in the office.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management has it's ups and downs, but from what I've seen and heard the upper management needs to release the reigns a little bit and let the store managers take a little bit more control of their individual stores.

    McCormick & Schmick's2015-12-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Buy out by Landrys = bad idea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's

    Pros

    Loved the atmosphere and people I worked with

    Cons

    Hated explaining to customers why our menu continued to decrease in quality but increase in price

    McCormick & Schmick's2015-03-24
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Week training program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The prestige and environment of class of this company is very high. The food is exceptional

    Cons

    They have a very poor training program for servers. They let me out in the cold with barely any info to study for. I constantly had to ask and beg the servers and the managers to provide some training and good info on their company, menu, etc during my first few weeks of training. They just threw me out into the wolf pack and every servers attitude was very snobby and unwilling to help. what Shocked me the most was... some of their servers would teach me the rules, do's and donts to just go and break it themselves!! I was seriously shocked!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a SET and organized, in class training program for your new comers, give them attention. I remember you guys saying "we just joined Landary's" but thats not a good excuse for abandoning your trainees. So that shows you never had a good training program to begin with, thats why people did whatever they wanted! I believe for a professional well prestige company like M&CC there should be a well training program set... up for their employees to follow so both the company and employers could be successful.

    Show More
    McCormick & Schmick's2015-03-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Missing the Target"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McCormick & Schmick's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stress-Free environment, well managed and great all-around staff. It's pleasant to come to work and there is a lot of flexibility. All of these pros are (probably) the direct result of the cons

    Cons

    It just isn't busy enough, consistently enough. You cross your fingers and hope for a "whale" table because you have 3 or 4 tables in a night and that's it. I blame the concept itself. It is almost unheard of in this area, sounds like a Law Firm, and the menu is lackluster with direct, more contemporary competition just across the street. It often feels as if corporate wants us to fail, perhaps for tax purposes.

    Advice to Management

    Market research your area, consider dissolving this site as a "McCormicks" and rebrand it as one of your other Landry's concepts that is better-known in the area. This location should be doing triple what it does. Better, more interesting fish choices. Everyone has perch, trout, whitefish, and awful farm-raised Salmon with mashed and green beans. Go out on a limb and let your clientele know you're doing... something a lot more special.

    Show More
    McCormick & Schmick's2014-07-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Dumb & Dumberer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House in Bridgewater, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McCormick & Schmick's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is VERY easy for ANYONE to be hired here for front of house because the turn over is very high, if you're a female under 22 you're pretty much guaranteed a job per the perverse all male management staff.

    Cons

    While the general manager openly refers to himself as 'God' its the offensive poor managerial practices regularly that contradict mandates and sneak around health codes ( I personally never ate the food after seeing the storage relabeling/non labeling) that stood out. To maintain bottom line profit bonuses for 'God' the restaurant was constantly poorly supplied with everything from silverware to glasswear to key... menu items resulting in slow service (we had to literally wait 10-15min to serve a martini drink because we only had 8- 14 martini shell glasses in the entire restaurant) and poor tips, being bullied and threatened into selling the Landry Club cards ($25 frequent diner reward card) your incentives for selling them are bogus and measly and of no monetary value, money can be made here however if you are aggressive enough to backstab, blamegame, lie or just flat out brown nose your way into sections with fair rotation, sidework assignments are biased, bar shift and closing duties are ridiculous( DON'T GET TRICKED INTO WORKING BeHIND THE BAR! You make under $100 for a 6hr shift on busy Saturday nights), you will find that issues cannot be solved because the management has poor individual communication and will openly gripe outloud about your fellow coworkers when they leave the area in an almost gossipy manner... BOTTOM LINE: Landry's owned restaurants have a generally poor reputation on Glassdoor so if you must work there get your experience and get out asap

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue, your shady back stabbing cost pinching practices and 'us vs them' attitude in regards to management and employees sucks and resolves nothing. You are not politicians so stop acting like them...

    McCormick & Schmick's2014-04-28
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Went from valued employee to just a number measured by membership card sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McCormick & Schmick's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fresh squeezed juice in cocktail drinks. It's a job so I suppose it is better than no job of working overnight in a warehouse.

    Cons

    Nationwide corporate menu, no more local selections of wine and down to only a couple Oregon beers on draft. Food is over-priced and hard to be proud of anymore. Open every day of the year. 8 year employee was fired recently for a bad shopper report. It was bad due to the fact that this person had 10 tables going at once because management was trying to cut labor to avoid upper management from breathing down... their necks. Too bad, they were really good at their job. Everybody that is good is quitting.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Landry's blows

    McCormick & Schmick's2013-04-11
Found 12 reviews