McCoy's Building Supply Reviews | Glassdoor

McCoy's Building Supply Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Brian F. McCoy
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 6 reviews)

  • "They are family oriented and value their employees(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Trainee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCoy's Building Supply full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is behind you 100% and give you the tools to be successful.

    Cons

    After the management program you have to go apply for assistant manager positions. So you are technically guaranteed the promotion.

    McCoy's Building Supply2019-05-22
  2. "Great Culture, Good Benefits, pay.... eh?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MIS Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCoy's Building Supply full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture in the HQ. Emphasis on healthy relational dynamics on teams. Benefits package is pretty good, rewards long tenure.

    Cons

    Pay in for IT/IS is below market. No sign of changing. Work load is going up, team size not increasing to match.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more. You are going to lose people.

    McCoy's Building Supply2019-06-29
  3. "Nice experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCoy's Building Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Never a dull day as admin

    Cons

    At times, working with people who don't enjoy what they do

    McCoy's Building Supply2019-06-17
  4. "McCoy’s review."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Yard Worker in Midland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCoy's Building Supply full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Labor hours are pretty good Teamwork Friendly environment Benefits

    Cons

    They can’t keep employees. Can’t understand on situations that effects employees.

    Advice to Management

    Learn about employees Reasonable

    McCoy's Building Supply2019-07-16
  5. "Don't if you don't have to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Yard Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCoy's Building Supply full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full 40. Good for a college kid.

    Cons

    Management is generally awful and have their own agenda. Cares more about themselves than their employees. Outdoors all the time, so if it's hot, just find somewhere else to go work, it's often a hassle just to get our managers to go refill the water tanks, and when they do, they don't even fill all of them.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees more than yourself and your sales will return. As of now, your interests are 1.Money, 2.Rules, 3. Customers, 4.Employees. That's a recipe for disaster.

    McCoy's Building Supply2019-06-07
  6. "Forklift Operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Yard Crew in Universal City, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McCoy's Building Supply part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to operate a forklift almost immediately.

    Cons

    They do not fully certify you to drive the forklift.

    Advice to Management

    Follow through with training so that the employees are fully trained. This should help reduce the damage to merchandise during the beginning of an employees tenure.

    McCoy's Building Supply2019-05-06
  7. "assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at McCoy's Building Supply full-time

      Pros

      reasonable hours/people are okay to work with

      Cons

      not enough support from management and not enough clarity on salary

      McCoy's Building Supply2018-11-19
    • "Great place to work as a student"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Stocker in Orange, TX
        Recommends

        I have been working at McCoy's Building Supply part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Management is very understanding and offer flexible schedules for students. The company culture is unique in how it cares so much for its customers and employees.

        Cons

        Lower pay as compared to bigger lumber and hardware stores

        McCoy's Building Supply2018-11-01

        McCoy's Building Supply Response

        December 31, 2018HR Manager

        Thank you for your comments about your experience working at McCoy's Building Supply! We are always striving to improve our employee experience when you work at one of our retail locations, including our compensation rates. Thank you again for your comments, we do appreciate your ...

        Show More
      • "Driver"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at McCoy's Building Supply full-time

        Pros

        great starting pay for drivers

        Cons

        racist company to work for

        Advice to Management

        stop using drivers against one another and have them to work together to get the work flow done

        McCoy's Building Supply2018-11-28

        McCoy's Building Supply Response

        December 31, 2018HR Manager

        Hello, and thank you for your feedback about McCoy's Building Supply. We are striving every day at all of our retail locations to become a better employer by listening to feedback from current and former employees. If you would like to discuss your concerns noted above, please contact ...

        Show More
      • "Retail Operations Supervisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Retail Operations Supervisor in Roswell, NM
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at McCoy's Building Supply full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Good starting pay. Pay increments based on work and experience. Flexible schedule. Opportunity for promotion within company locations. Diverse work environments.

        Cons

        Lack of communication between transitional management teams and members. Inadequate workplace speech. High workloads due to low amounts of team members.

        Advice to Management

        Deeper look into incoming management personnel for proper and adequate placement among different work environments. Reconsideration and reconstruction of lower level management roles, i.e. ROS position. As well as the CSS position. Reconsider workload objectives.

        McCoy's Building Supply2018-09-06
      Found 70 reviews