Cover image for McDermott Will & Emery
Logo
See All Photos

McDermott Will & Emery

Engaged Employer

McDermott Will & Emery

Add a Review

McDermott Will & Emery Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 258 of over 283 reviews
4.6
93% Recommend to a Friend
McDermott Will & Emery Chairman Ira Coleman
94% Approve of CEO

Found 250 of over 283 reviews

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
McDermott Will & Emery Chairman Ira Coleman
Ira Coleman
106 Ratings

What people are saying about McDermott Will & Emery

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours with some work being tiring.(in 11 reviews)
  • "I was useful, but only in the roles I made for myself; I wasn't given additional training or education (though perhaps it was a bit much to ask, being a junior administrative staffer).(in 3 reviews)
  • "Occasional long hours and stressful deadlines.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    The BEST law firm

    Jul 5, 2022 - Billing Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had the privilege and opportunity to work at seven different law firms for the past 22 years (varying in size: small, medium and large). I believe McDermott Will & Emery is the best firm among them. The Firm provides generous time off, ample resources to get help to make you successful in your field and a wide range of comprehensive benefits. But, the most important for me is the sense of a genuine concern on my mental and physical well-being. The legal industry is a stressful and fast-paced environment. I have experienced being overworked and not treated as a valuable member of the firm. There are also firms that ignored the need of additional staff which lead to constant employee turn around. MWE is different, and I am proud and grateful to be part of it.

    Cons

    I have not discovered or experienced any of it.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best firm to work for

    Nov 8, 2022 - Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are the best.

    Cons

    Hours can be long but normal for industry.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the McDermott Will & Emery team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Excellent Law Firm

    Oct 31, 2022 - Legal Secretary in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    McDermott Will & Emery is an excellent law firm to work for. They bring in top talented lawyers, staff, and management. I started three months ago after being recruited from another large law firm. They made me feel welcome and gave me all of the training I needed to do my job. They treat you like a professional and include you in meetings with attorneys and upper management. You feel like part of the team. All of the other offices are there to help you and you feel part of a large organization rather than a local office. The salary is competitive and attracts top talent.

    Cons

    As a new office, we had a few growing pains in the first month or two. Now things seem to be going smooth.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Better than expected.

    Oct 31, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    McDermott has exceeded all my expectations as a good place to work. The staff & attorneys are all nice, collaborative, supportive & hard working.

    Cons

    There is a requirement to come into the city offices during the workweek. And while that is not an issue for me, it can make finding quality help for open positions somewhat challenging

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Continually looking to improve

    Oct 24, 2022 - Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Continually looking to innovate Want new and fresh ideas Opportunities for career growth Great colleagues

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be a struggle during busy periods Some partners can be difficult to work with for no reason

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Talent is the priority at McDermott

    Oct 17, 2022 - Senior Business Professional (Non-Attorney) in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Highly collaborative environment Ambitious organization, yet very mindful about people and culture Leaders are approachable and has positive intentions and messages Colleagues are respectful, kind and want to get to know one another International level projects for talent development Leaders are transparent with the business outlook

    Cons

    Has potential for more automation and innovation

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great atmosphere, great firm

    Sep 30, 2022 - Paralegal in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent management, always looking for ways to improve and keep employees happy.

    Cons

    Attorney communication could be better, big firm.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Work

    Sep 15, 2022 - Sr. IT Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work-balance, Staff is great to work with across the company.

    Cons

    Health benefit package could be better

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best place to work

    Sep 8, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work-life balance; Scope to explore and learn new technologies; Leaders who listen to their employees;

    Cons

    There are no downsides in the organization.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    One-of-a-Kind... Really.

    Sep 8, 2022 - Professional Staff in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with incredibly smart people is arguably the best part of McDermott and this pushes me to be my optimal. McDermott leans into Pro Bono with heart, especially concerning inequities in the world and in news and is not afraid to express its opinion and call out injustices. I love that. The work is rigorous, but the hard work comes with rewards. It's all good.

    Cons

    Creating work/life balance for oneself can be challenging, especially during certain times of the year. McDermott is a thriving and growing Firm, so lots of (expected) change and introducing new processes can be challenging for some. Gotta be a quick study!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 250 Reviews
</>Embed

McDermott Will & Emery Reviews FAQs

McDermott Will & Emery has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5, based on over 283 reviews left anonymously by employees. 93% of employees would recommend working at McDermott Will & Emery to a friend and 92% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, McDermott Will & Emery employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at McDermott Will & Emery. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

93% of McDermott Will & Emery employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated McDermott Will & Emery 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.6 for culture and values and 4.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at McDermott Will & Emery to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be management, work life balance.

Popular Careers with McDermott Will & Emery Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at McDermott Will & Emery? Share Your Experiences

or

McDermott Will & Emery Careers

Cover image for McDermott Will & Emery

Our mantra #AlwaysBetter, inspires us to bring out our best to our clients, communities and each other every day. We take pride in our bold...More

  • Careers
  • Vision and Values
  • Diversity
  • Community
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

McDermott Will & Emery

9 days ago

Culture
We are thrilled to be named a Top Workplace by the Chicago Tribune Top Workplaces for the third consecutive year!
Shared image - McDermott's Chicago Office Named Top Workplace by The Chicago Tribune for Third Consecutive Year
McDermott's Chicago Office Named Top Workplace by The Chicago Tribune for Third Consecutive Year
www.mwe.com
See all

McDermott Will & Emery Photos

+ Add Photo
McDermott Will & Emery photo of: 2019 Women's Summit
McDermott Will & Emery photo of: Some of our Boston colleagues volunteering at the Greater Boston Food Bank
McDermott Will & Emery photo of: Summer Retreat
McDermott Will & Emery photo of: Zipline Catalina
McDermott Will & Emery photo of: Miami Habitat for Humanity
McDermott Will & Emery photo of: Summer Retreat Hackathon
McDermott Will & Emery photo of: Skyspace
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

McDermott Will & Emery Job Seekers Also Viewed

McDermott Logo
McDermott

3.7

1,292 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 283 McDermott Will & Emery reviews submitted anonymously by McDermott Will & Emery employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if McDermott Will & Emery is right for you.