Cover image for McDonald's
Logo
See All Photos

McDonald's

Engaged Employer

McDonald's

Add a Review

McDonald's Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 100,430 of over 110K reviews
3.5
58% Recommend to a Friend
McDonald's CEO Chris Kempczinski
71% Approve of CEO

Found 87,967 of over 110K reviews

3.5
58%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
McDonald's CEO Chris Kempczinski
Chris Kempczinski
14,136 Ratings

What people are saying about McDonald's

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about McDonald's? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with McDonald's employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "I got free food on my break and got to customize my meals every day which was fin and tasty(in 4557 reviews)
  • "McDonald's offer flexible hours and is a very solid first job for those in high school or college.(in 4459 reviews)
  • "the people i worked with were nice and very willing to work with my schedule for school.(in 3923 reviews)
  • "Pay was ok and coworkers nice(in 1756 reviews)
  • "food was okay and usually got discounts or free meals while on the clock but usually ate afterwards(in 1494 reviews)
Cons
  • "The pay is low and it is hard for me to work with the wrong management(in 6216 reviews)
  • "very hard to get promoted and bad management u only go up if u know people(in 4223 reviews)
  • "managers can be rude and don't work with your request days off unless you keep reminding them(in 3659 reviews)
  • "low salary and very busy(in 841 reviews)
  • "Breaks are short and also there is not a guaranteed time on when an employee will have his break.(in 409 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of McDonald's and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    Good Management

    Aug 3, 2022 - Associate in Greensburg, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management was great and the pay was fair. Also we got free meals and drinks.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good teenage job

    Feb 8, 2023 - Crew Member in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    taught me a good work ethic that I carry into my adulthood

    Cons

    heavy things to lift a lot

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the McDonald's team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great food

    Feb 7, 2023 - Cashier in Wheeling, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great food, I constantly go

    Cons

    Scheduling could be tight sometimes

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Always ask what you'll be paid

    Feb 7, 2023 - Customer Service in Auburndale, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice coworkers Flexible schedule Discounts

    Cons

    Hourly pay not what was listed Not enough training

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. U.S. Restaurants | Division of McDonald's
    4.0
    Former Employee

    Go

    Feb 7, 2023 - Line Cook 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hours Coworkers Its a starter job

    Cons

    Pay Customers The people are mean

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Fast work environment

    Feb 8, 2023 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Engaging and pleasant work place.

    Cons

    Management was not very helpful

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good

    Feb 8, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management willing to work with school scedule

    Cons

    Sometimes a little short staffed

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. U.S. Restaurants | Division of McDonald's
    5.0
    Former Employee

    solid job

    Feb 6, 2023 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hours always available if you want to work more.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. U.S. Restaurants | Division of McDonald's
    5.0
    Current Employee

    Gas

    Feb 6, 2023 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gas and free food and also the McBiddies

    Cons

    So expensive and didn't get paid that well

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place

    Feb 7, 2023 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First Job - okay pay - long hours

    Cons

    Fast-paced - hard-working - new people

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 87,967 Reviews
</>Embed

McDonald's Reviews FAQs

McDonald's has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 109,604 reviews left anonymously by employees. 58% of employees would recommend working at McDonald's to a friend and 47% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, McDonald's employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at McDonald's. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

58% of McDonald's employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated McDonald's 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at McDonald's to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be compensation, management.

Popular Careers with McDonald's Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews