Cover image for McDonald's
Logo
See All Photos

McDonald's

Engaged Employer

McDonald's

Add a Review

McDonald's Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 96,093 of over 105K reviews
3.5
58% Recommend to a Friend
McDonald's CEO Chris Kempczinski
71% Approve of CEO

Found 84,248 of over 105K reviews

3.5
58%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
McDonald's CEO Chris Kempczinski
Chris Kempczinski
13,489 Ratings

What people are saying about McDonald's

Join the conversation on

Creatives

2m

an 

Art Director

Can anyone explain the cactus McDonald’s thing Wieden did? I don’t understand why its cool

85

36 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "I got free food on my break and got to customize my meals every day which was fin and tasty(in 4368 reviews)
  • "McDonald's offer flexible hours and is a very solid first job for those in high school or college.(in 4355 reviews)
  • "the people i worked with were nice and very willing to work with my schedule for school.(in 3760 reviews)
  • "Pay was ok and coworkers nice(in 1679 reviews)
  • "Free meals and if your good with the managers they'll let you get away with a lot(in 1453 reviews)
Cons
  • "The pay is low and it is hard for me to work with the wrong management(in 6010 reviews)
  • "very hard to get promoted and bad management u only go up if u know people(in 4105 reviews)
  • "managers can be rude and don't work with your request days off unless you keep reminding them(in 3535 reviews)
  • "low salary and very busy(in 803 reviews)
  • "Breaks are short and also there is not a guaranteed time on when an employee will have his break.(in 416 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of McDonald's and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    Good Management

    Aug 3, 2022 - Associate in Greensburg, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management was great and the pay was fair. Also we got free meals and drinks.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great company

    Nov 3, 2022 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay and employee morale

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the McDonald's team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    It was OK

    Nov 28, 2022 - Cashier in Germantown, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was a great experience for me.

    Cons

    The worst food possible for the body.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Nov 28, 2022 - Cashier in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quick job to do and it's pretty well paying

    Cons

    Gets boring sometimes, so meh

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Nov 28, 2022 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I felt like a great environment was put in front of me

    Cons

    Not everything is as it seems to be

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great start

    Nov 28, 2022 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to start a career

    Cons

    Money could be better just my opinion

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    It’s okay

    Nov 28, 2022 - Crew Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good money, free food , nice place

    Cons

    Rude people, terrible tips , long hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    lj

    Nov 28, 2022 - Manager in Lawrenceville, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good job to work at

    Cons

    sometimes long hours but that okay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place

    Nov 28, 2022 - Fry Cook 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They take care of their people

    Cons

    Could use more training for newer people

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Fun job

    Nov 28, 2022 - Cook in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people Great Food Cool Toys

    Cons

    Ice cream machine is always broken

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 84,248 Reviews
</>Embed

McDonald's Reviews FAQs

McDonald's has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 104,696 reviews left anonymously by employees. 58% of employees would recommend working at McDonald's to a friend and 46% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, McDonald's employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at McDonald's. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

58% of McDonald's employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated McDonald's 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at McDonald's to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be compensation, management.

Popular Careers with McDonald's Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at McDonald's? Share Your Experiences

or

McDonald's Careers

Cover image for McDonald's

Our values drive our culture and shape our beliefs, our priorities and our actions. They influence the decisions we make, how we treat one...More

  • Benefits & Perks
  • Education
  • Restaurant Jobs
  • Corporate Careers
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

McDonald's

950 days ago

COVID-19
McDonald's and its franchisees are taking proactive steps in response to the COVID-19 outbreak to ensure the safety in our restaurants across all communities. Our values of quality, service, and cleanliness continue to guide us. We're following direction from the CDC, state, and local governments and adhering to our deep cleaning procedures in every restaurant, every day. We also fully support employees who stay home from work if they are feeling sick. Read more about the ways we are prioritizing health. McDonald’s and its franchisees are always looking for top candidates and encourage you to apply online. If you have any questions, please first call the restaurant as this will help the restaurant comply with any social distancing guidelines or other compliance obligations. For corporate roles, please proceed to the online application, or if you already applied, contact supportteam@us.mcd.com. There may be a short delay in response time while we continue to monitor the impacts of COVID-19. We sincerely thank you for your continued trust in the Golden Arches.
Shared image - How McDonald's Is Prioritizing Health, Safety and Community During the Outbreak | McDonald's Corporation
How McDonald's Is Prioritizing Health, Safety and Community During the Outbreak | McDonald's Corporation
www.glassdoor.com
See all

McDonald's Photos

+ Add Photo
McDonald's photo of: McD 41st
McDonald's photo of: Direttore
McDonald's photo of: Crew
McDonald's photo of: Team
McDonald's photo of: Crew
McDonald's photo of: Crew
McDonald's photo of: McDonald's
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

McDonald's Job Seekers Also Viewed

Walmart Logo
Walmart

3.3

107,719 Reviews
Compare