Cover image for McGraw Hill
Logo

McGraw Hill

Engaged Employer

McGraw Hill

Add a Review

McGraw Hill Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,235 of over 1K reviews
3.9
75% Recommend to a Friend
88% Approve of CEO

Found 1,225 of over 1K reviews

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
McGraw Hill President and CEO  Simon Allen (no image)
Simon Allen
226 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,937

976 Comments

Teachers

200.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=McGraw Hill~36749
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Some of the teams are filled with really great people and make for an enjoyable career.(in 150 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and vision on the implementation of technologies(in 123 reviews)
  • "Good work/life balance (can work remotely 1 or more days a week if approved by your supervisor)(in 70 reviews)
  • "The people and culture here are great!(in 37 reviews)
  • "The pay is good(in 36 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management, lack of visionary folks(in 67 reviews)
  • "Senior Leadership wasn't always in touch with the work and dedication that the lower level employees within my department.(in 30 reviews)
  • "Starting base salary is low(in 29 reviews)
  • "Managers do not budge, even if it is something you cannot control, like traffic or your kid being in the ER.(in 29 reviews)
  • "Annual layoffs always looming(in 28 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of McGraw Hill and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great

    Nov 27, 2022 - Sales in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A nice place to work and contribute

    Cons

    Some outdated curriculum and mean people

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience! If you have any further feedback to share, please email us at talentacquisition@mheducation.com.

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    inhouse designer for educational product

    Dec 1, 2022 - Senior Graphic Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible hours. I'm am proud to work for this company and believe they make quality product.

    Cons

    Education market does not pay as well as others.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the McGraw Hill team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Fun

    Dec 1, 2022 - Warehouse Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great good time fun people and great place

    Cons

    Can’t think of any just too good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good job!

    Nov 20, 2022 - Associate Academic Designer in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work-life balance, culture, accommodating, smooth transition,

    Cons

    Not much room to move up

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the review. It's great to hear that you feel supported and enjoy the work environment. Thank you for being on our team!

  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    McGraw Hill Review

    Nov 16, 2022 - Regional Director Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    remote work great customers great team

    Cons

    The company does not understand how to position Digital Solutions. Was part of Achieve3000 when McGraw Hill purchased Achieve3000. The leadership is focused on selling text books

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us learn and grow. Thank you for being a member of our team and providing your input. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors!

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great company to work for

    Nov 14, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair management and great work, life balance.

    Cons

    Not always most competitive salary or career growth but they work life balance makes up for it.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoy the work life balance and we appreciate your feedback on how we can improve. If you have any further feedback to share, please email us at talentacquisition@mheducation.com.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing company

    Oct 28, 2022 - Associate Academic Designer in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance Team Excellent work environment

    Cons

    None. I love this job.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying the work/life balance and work environment! Thanks for being on our team.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great product. Great leadership. Great vision. Great co-workers

    Oct 28, 2022 - Customer Success Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked for several different organizations and companies and I must say that McGraw Hill has so far impressed me at every step of the way. While being professional in every sense, there is also a great personability shown by the way that they do things.

    Cons

    None that I can think of. If you are lazy or not fully dedicated to your job calling then this would not be for you.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for being a part of our team. We are happy to hear you are enjoying your experience! If you have any further feedback to share, please email us at talentacquisition@mheducation.com.

  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Good gig - but lots of changes

    Oct 24, 2022 - Executive Learning Technology Representative in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great leadership, company car, great base salary, great products

    Cons

    Bonus structure weak - not keeping up with current market.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us learn and grow. Thank you for being a member of our team and providing your input. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors!

  11. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great manager but no room to grow

    Oct 19, 2022 - Loan Associate in East Windsor, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very friendly work place and learning new things

    Cons

    No room to grow and heavy worklard

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,225 Reviews
</>Embed

McGraw Hill Reviews FAQs

McGraw Hill has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 1,412 reviews left anonymously by employees. 75% of employees would recommend working at McGraw Hill to a friend and 66% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, McGraw Hill employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at McGraw Hill. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

75% of McGraw Hill employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated McGraw Hill 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at McGraw Hill to be culture, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management, career development.

Popular Careers with McGraw Hill Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at McGraw Hill? Share Your Experiences

McGraw Hill logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

McGraw Hill Photos

+ Add Photo
McGraw Hill photo of: Employee 5K Win!
McGraw Hill photo of: Holiday party in Boston!
McGraw Hill photo of: Inside the new Chicago office
McGraw Hill photo of: Our Columbus office
McGraw Hill photo of: Quotes around the office
McGraw Hill photo of: ALEKS 20th Anniversary Celebration
McGraw Hill photo of: Monthly Summer Food Trucks
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

McGraw Hill Job Seekers Also Viewed

Cengage Group Logo
Cengage Group

4.0

2,104 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,412 McGraw Hill reviews submitted anonymously by McGraw Hill employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if McGraw Hill is right for you.