Cover image for McGraw Hill
Logo

McGraw Hill

Engaged Employer

McGraw Hill

Add a Review

McGraw Hill Reviews

Updated Feb 3, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,260 of over 1K reviews
3.9
78% Recommend to a Friend
91% Approve of CEO

Found 1,250 of over 1K reviews

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
McGraw Hill President and CEO  Simon Allen (no image)
Simon Allen
243 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,950

984 Comments

Teachers

218.7K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=McGraw Hill~36749
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about McGraw Hill? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with McGraw Hill employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Some of the teams are filled with really great people and make for an enjoyable career.(in 157 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and vision on the implementation of technologies(in 122 reviews)
  • "Good work/life balance (can work remotely 1 or more days a week if approved by your supervisor)(in 70 reviews)
  • "The people and culture here are great!(in 38 reviews)
  • "Great colleagues and you get a lot of responsibility.(in 35 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management, lack of visionary folks(in 64 reviews)
  • "Low pay and different types of ppl(in 37 reviews)
  • "Starting base salary is low(in 33 reviews)
  • "Managers do not budge, even if it is something you cannot control, like traffic or your kid being in the ER.(in 30 reviews)
  • "no product strategy... poor leadership.(in 28 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of McGraw Hill and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great place to work

    Dec 18, 2022 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great job and people with good benefits

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback! We are glad you enjoy the people and benefits here at McGraw Hill. Thanks for being on our team!

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company

    Jan 30, 2023 - Project Coordinator/Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful people, advancement opportunities, management support

    Cons

    Salary not as good as some competitors, potentially long hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed the people and advancement opportunities at McGraw Hill. Thanks for being on our team!

  3. Join the McGraw Hill team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    amazing

    Jan 28, 2023 - Senior Executive in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    amazing super and commendable experience

    Cons

    not really a bad experience

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the experience at McGraw Hill. Best of luck in your future endeavors!

  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place

    Jan 23, 2023 - Database Developer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good, fun place to work, good pay, management tries their best to value each employee and show it. Benefits as good as they get. Interesting work, and if you can show your idea has merit, you can pursue it. Opportunities to learn new technologies.

    Cons

    Not always transparent about what is going on in the C-suite that affects non-C employees, but that is business life. Not a major factor

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. We appreciate your input about the pros and cons of working at McGraw Hill. Thank you for being on our team and best of luck in your future endeavors.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Nice place to work

    Jan 17, 2023 - Lead Data Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome environment to work with loads of opportunity for growth.

    Cons

    I can't think of any at the moment.

    1 person found this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    At McGraw Hill, we welcome feedback because it helps us learn and grow. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience!

  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good job

    Jan 21, 2023 - IT Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent benefit, good health insurance

    Cons

    the pay is low, to much work

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your input and are happy to hear your enjoyed the benefits at McGraw Hill! Thanks for being on our team and best of luck in your future endeavors.

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Easy Entry, Low Innovation, Little room for Promotion, Lots of Turnover

    Feb 3, 2023 - QA Specialist I in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The skill floor for the position is rather low and allows you to build up the skill set for the position really easily

    Cons

    The pay is bottom tier of the market. The opportunities to grow skills relevant to the field is non existent as they actively block you from such opportunities so you can't leave for a better paying job. There are little to no opportunities for promotion unless someone quits. Turnover has greatly increased to about 20% of the team per year.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback about growth and development at McGraw Hill. We appreciate your thoughts and will use them to improve. If you have any further feedback to share, you can email us directly at talentacquisition@mheducation.com and we'll make sure your comments are seen by the appropriate teams. Thanks again!

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love working here

    Jan 19, 2023 - Technical Product Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great management and work life balance

    Cons

    Can be slow paced but not a con

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for leaving your feedback! We appreciate your input and are glad you are having a positive experience. Thank you for being a part of our team!

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to start sales career

    Jan 19, 2023 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Newark, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    EDtech is a great space to bring, growing rapidly, and there are lots of opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Bonus/commission is not always clear

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your feedback about growth and development at McGraw Hill. We appreciate your thoughts and will use them to improve. If you have any further feedback to share, you can email us directly at talentacquisition@mheducation.com and we'll make sure your comments are seen by the appropriate teams. Thanks again!

  11. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Family Focused

    Jan 19, 2023 - Manager, Customer Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, family focused, growth potential, professional development, leadership, benefits, remote

    Cons

    silos, small teams, lean teams, payscale

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    McGraw Hill Response

    Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying the flexibility we offer at McGraw Hill! If you have any further feedback to share, please email us at talentacquisition@mheducation.com. Thanks for being on our team.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,250 Reviews
</>Embed

McGraw Hill Reviews FAQs

McGraw Hill has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 1,438 reviews left anonymously by employees. 78% of employees would recommend working at McGraw Hill to a friend and 70% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, McGraw Hill employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at McGraw Hill. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

78% of McGraw Hill employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated McGraw Hill 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at McGraw Hill to be culture, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management, career development.

Popular Careers with McGraw Hill Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at McGraw Hill? Share Your Experiences

McGraw Hill logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

McGraw Hill Photos

+ Add Photo
McGraw Hill photo of: Employee 5K Win!
McGraw Hill photo of: Holiday party in Boston!
McGraw Hill photo of: Inside the new Chicago office
McGraw Hill photo of: Our Columbus office
McGraw Hill photo of: Quotes around the office
McGraw Hill photo of: ALEKS 20th Anniversary Celebration
McGraw Hill photo of: Monthly Summer Food Trucks
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

McGraw Hill Job Seekers Also Viewed

Cengage Group Logo
Cengage Group

4.2

2,134 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,438 McGraw Hill reviews submitted anonymously by McGraw Hill employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if McGraw Hill is right for you.