McGraw-Hill Product Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

McGraw-Hill Product Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
62%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
McGraw-Hill President and CEO  Nana Banerjee (no image)
Nana Banerjee
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cares about their employees with generous benefits.

    Cons

    There is a lot to learn and it takes time to grow in your career path.

    McGraw-Hill2017-10-26
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Great people solving important problems in education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Product Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have a lot of autonomy to drive solutions to real-world customer problems in the education space. The people are smart, fun, collaborative, mature, driven, and overall good eggs. I have had many opportunities to grow and take on more responsibility. Managers don't treat employees like children or monitor hours online and in the office. We all get our jobs done and respect each other's lives. People don't play the blame game. Everyone learns from mistakes and moves on. We have some of the best technical teams out there. I feel well compensated compared to other companies in this industry. Senior management makes themselves very available to anyone and are as open as possible with information.

    Show More

    Cons

    Many people are stretched too thin to do quality work, and some people are performing the jobs of a higher title without the actual title or pay. There have been a few too many re-orgs, layoffs, and company strategy changes in the past couple of years, which have caused some morale issues. There has been disappointment around bonus payouts in the last couple of years. The health insurance is not great compared to other companies in this industry.

    Show More
    McGraw-Hill2019-06-04
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Dysfunction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Regular workers are great.

    Cons

    The company has no values other than words on paper.

    Advice to Management

    Operate like adults as opposed to high school queen bees who gossip and undermine good people.

    McGraw-Hill2019-02-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Product Manager review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Columbus, OH

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good work / life balance, good perks, nice benefits, mostly good employees

    Cons

    over worked, under paid, high turnover throughout the company, few positions of advancement often highly contested within the company, very regimented and process-driven (not much room for improvisation or creative thinking)

    McGraw-Hill2017-10-05
  5. "Assistant Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Assistant Product Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, good company structure. Was encouraged to apply for full-time positions with the company even though I was contracted.

    Cons

    Not a lot of training, but could have been because I was a temp.

    Advice to Management

    More training to better educate on the programs.

    McGraw-Hill2017-07-11
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Good company but cant get out of its own way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Product Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice people, subject matter to be proud of

    Cons

    Too many politics job is 3/4 socializing w other parts of the company. Too many misaligned projects between depts. tight group just keep shifting jobs but big three textbook companies. Tons of legacy systems. Wrong people are left in key roles for way too lomg because they have history

    Advice to Management

    Start to think like a consumer company Bring in fresh blood --too many cruisers in the org who dont keep up to date w best pactices in tech and biz.

    McGraw-Hill2016-11-19
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Poorly Led Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co workers passionate about what they do Comfortable work environment

    Cons

    Poor leadership, corrupt HR. Constant fears of downsizing. Favoritism

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the favoritism. Hire the best. Listen to new ideas. Totally revamp your recruiting and HR department which does you NO favors.

    McGraw-Hill2016-02-06
  8. "Nice place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Product Manager in Monterey, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill

    Pros

    New opportunities to explore in the transition from the conventional methods to digital

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons at the moment!

    McGraw-Hill2015-07-15
  9. "Big Changes for Exciting Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Gahanna, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Making Digital a center piece instead of an after thought. Benefits are decent. Family is a high priority.

    Cons

    Transition to digital with new roles has been rocky and not widely understood or "enforced".

    Advice to Management

    If you want the Product Managers to truly be Product Owners, you need to empower them more by spreading the word.

    McGraw-Hill2015-06-02
  10. "Great place for a career in publishing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Digital Product Manager in Burr Ridge, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, interesting products

    Cons

    Salary lower than expected. Many old ways of thinking and status quo. Not easy to move to better positions within company. Employees move to another company in the same industry, gain another title and responsibilities, stay for a few years, then come back.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay. Regarding technology, provide more services in-house, bring in good people and pay them then they would not have to outsource as much as they do. The product produced in-house is clearly superior.

    McGraw-Hill2012-10-15
Found 11 reviews