McGraw-Hill Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

McGraw-Hill Project Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
McGraw-Hill President and CEO  Nana Banerjee (no image)
Nana Banerjee
1 Rating
  1. "Sr. Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior IT Project Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill for more than a year

    Pros

    Major initiatives that will drive revenue. No nonsense leadership.

    Cons

    Multiple outsourced IT groups make it challenging at times to execute effectively.

    McGraw-Hill2015-05-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Project Manager in Dubuque, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, Work life balance, great coworkers

    Cons

    Yearly restructures and people being let go. Company dynamic is changing as MH shifts from publisher to eLearning. What we used to manage in publishing, we now also manage in eBooks, etc. Workload had greatly increased over past few years and management has turned a blind eye to it.

    Advice to Management

    Stop eliminating positions while increasing number of product offerings and expecting better results.

    McGraw-Hill2019-02-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very flexible for work-family balance

    Cons

    Very few. Slow growth in pay is only thing I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Retain talent

    McGraw-Hill2016-07-18
  4. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture that embraces new ideas.

    Cons

    Transitioning to a learning technology company can still be difficult at times.

    Advice to Management

    Be more willing to explore new ways of doing things, and get rid of red tape.

    McGraw-Hill2016-06-09
  5. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people. Excellent Products and future.

    Cons

    Limited Opportunity due to Headquarters in another state

    McGraw-Hill2015-07-20
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Good work-life balance, very little opportunity for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, working from home and compressed work week are offered

    Cons

    Very little opportunity for advancement/promotion, low compensation, focus of management weighs too heavily on salesforce

    Advice to Management

    Lobby for your staff to be supported for the work they do.

    McGraw-Hill2015-07-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Change is in our DNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Lots of room for personal growth and professional development *Great parental leave policies *Decent benefits *Leadership trusts middle management *Processes appear to be less bureaucratic *Great teamwork, great department

    Cons

    *Multiple changes in senior management have made the direction and vision of the company somewhat cloudy. While we have an overall vision, communication around it's nuances hasn't trickled down. *Pay seems to be low and low on the priority list of management.

    Advice to Management

    Consider pay, especially to star employees

    McGraw-Hill2015-06-02
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Good at the beginning, not so much at the end."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people I worked with is probably the best thing I can think of to say about this company. They were all committed book publishing professionals who worked hard but also knew how to have some fun in the workplace. I enjoyed the company of my colleagues tremendously. Also good benefits.

    Cons

    Lack of training for new job responsibilities; leadership paying lip service to advancement where there was none, especially in the production department. A lot of crisis management. Sometimes no support from immediate supervisors. Lots of offshoring, including IT support--no onsite IT help.

    Advice to Management

    More transparency and less dependence on information about procedures, etc., trickling down through the pipeline. Open up the mentoring program to lower-level (grade) employees. Consistency across departments and divisions with respect to telecommuting and less reliance on the fallback position of managerial discretion.

    McGraw-Hill2015-03-20
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Project Mgr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very nice people. Pay is very competitive. Great products.

    Cons

    Many aspects of the Marketing Dept run in a very disorganized manner. "Fly by the seat of your pants" mentality.

    Advice to Management

    Consider utilizing your Proj Mgmt support to better organize roll out. The advice is also for the company that now owns McGraw Hill Education. Slow down! If you burn your people out, you'll end up losing great resources who could help the company last for the long haul. People are your best resources. They are the ones who will do great work that return great profits!

    McGraw-Hill2015-02-27
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Just "ok". A great deal of effort is being made to transform the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is ok for those who demonstrate strong competency and ask for it.

    Cons

    The company relies too much on temporary workers which puts a strain on everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Hire talent and let the culture create itself. You can't force it.

    McGraw-Hill2014-11-09
Found 13 reviews