McGraw-Hill Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
McGraw-Hill President and CEO  Simon Allen (no image)
Simon Allen
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "McGraw-Hill Education is a family-oriented organization and incredibly flexible creating a solid work/life balance(in 96 reviews)

  • "Great People and Excellent Benefirs(in 58 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management would never be hired in management elsewhere(in 32 reviews)

  • "Do lots of experiments, Strategy change & Senior Management Change(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company and I was able to move into different departments easily."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good team environment, management very involved, people had good work ethics.

    Cons

    Some times during the end of the publishing cycle, there were weeks with no time off.

    McGraw-Hill2020-05-17

    McGraw-Hill Response

    May 19, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your review! We're happy to hear you had a good experience working at McGraw Hill. Please know you can email us at talentacquisition@mheducation.com with any additional feedback you'd like to share. Thanks and best of luck in your future endeavors!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "There's a lot of good, some uncertainty, and some bad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in Dubuque, IA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As of recently, MH has embraced modern HR practices, flexibility, and benefits. In the midst of a pandemic, I feel good working here, even though layoffs are likely given the hits to the bottom line. 6% 401k matching is nice. Health benefits are okay.

    Cons

    High achievers outside of sales are not consistently rewarded with compensation or new challenges. Many people are hired from competitors which limits innovation. Lots of light cronyism with poached hires. People are rarely held accountable for failed initiatives that promised (or forecasted) return on investment. In most cases, these people actually seem to be on the promotion fast track. Same goes for project/product managers who overpromise and underdeliver.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2020-05-16

    McGraw-Hill Response

    May 19, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your honest feedback. Our employees are our #1 priority so we are glad to hear you feel supported during this time. If you would like to provide any further feedback please email us at talentacquisition@mheducation.com. Thank you for being a part of our team!

  3. Helpful (2)

    "place is horrible"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at McGraw-Hill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    none here at all now

    Cons

    horrible benefits and management here

    McGraw-Hill2020-05-07

    McGraw-Hill Response

    May 12, 2020Talent Acquisition

    We show up every day with an insatiable desire to learn, grow and make a difference. Feedback like yours helps us do that, so thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience, and we’d love to learn more so we can improve. Please email us directly at talentacquisition@mheducation.com if you'd like to share further feedback. Thank you!

  4. "Under utilization of Talent"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director Learning Design 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good and kind people, decent work-life balance

    Cons

    Slow to respond to market needs

    McGraw-Hill2020-05-21

    McGraw-Hill Response

    May 26, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for leaving a review of your experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the great people and work-life balance at McGraw Hill. If you would like to share any further feedback, please feel free to email us at talentacquisition@mheducation.com. Thanks again!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Caring, Thoughtful Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Technology Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    McGraw Hill rallies around you and ensures you are successful in your job.

    Cons

    This is a publishing company and the industry is battling to re-invent itself - it's not easy to position McGraw Hill Solutions. However, McGraw Hill's technology and custom course content are leading this effort.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2020-04-23

    McGraw-Hill Response

    April 28, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so glad to hear you feel supported in your career at McGraw-Hill. Thanks for being a part of our team!

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Obsolete"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Writer/Editor in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility Work/life balance; nice environment

    Cons

    Old school; no cutting edge; lacking youth and vision; too many changes; dead end company

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2020-05-03

    McGraw-Hill Response

    May 5, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are glad you enjoyed the flexible work environment, and appreciate your thoughts on where we can improve. We are always aspiring to grow, so feedback like yours helps us do that. Thanks again!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "leadership crisis"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay and benefits, some talented middle-managers and designers.

    Cons

    no direction, mass layoffs, huge waves of talent quitting

    McGraw-Hill2020-04-30

    McGraw-Hill Response

    May 5, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your experience. We appreciate your thoughts as we work to keep pace with the changing industry and evolve as an organization. Please email us directly at talentacquisition@mheducation.com with any additional feedback you'd like to provide. Thanks again and best of luck in your future endeavors!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "NA"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Company to work with

    Cons

    No, cons noticed till now

    McGraw-Hill2020-04-18

    McGraw-Hill Response

    April 21, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for leaving your thoughts and recommending our organization! If you think of any additional feedback you'd like to share, please reach out to talentacquisition@mheducation.com. Thanks!

  9. "Sales/Service of K-12 Curriculum"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great People and Excellent Benefirs

    Cons

    Mediocre Salary and CRM Mgmt is daunting daily task after being in schools ((field) all day

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2020-04-05

    McGraw-Hill Response

    April 14, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your experience as a Sales Rep for McGraw-Hill and we wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors. If you would like to provide any further feedback, please reach out at talentacquisition@mheducation.com. Thank you!

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Stingy Private Equity owner bleeds company dry"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director Product Management in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    At the worker-bee level, colleagues are smart, mission-driven, experts in their field and mature/kind

    Cons

    Ownership (Apollo) skims profits to line their pockets while reducing/eliminating bonuses, stagnating pay, and providing minimal investment in new products, even in the best of times.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2020-04-29

    McGraw-Hill Response

    May 5, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts. We want you to know we appreciate your insight and are glad that you enjoyed working with the smart and passionate people at McGraw-Hill.

Found 852 reviews