McGraw Hill Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
McGraw Hill President and CEO  Simon Allen (no image)
Simon Allen
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "great time and work-life balance(in 113 reviews)

  • "Great People and Excellent Benefirs(in 64 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "upper management would never be hired in management elsewhere(in 31 reviews)

  • "Abrupt mass layoff annually without any prior notice; no standard of work; no work-life balance(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of McGraw Hill and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great people and opportunity for professional development

      Apr 15, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/ life balance, collaborative environment, training and professional development.

      Cons

      Some traditional perspectives overshadow innovation

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      McGraw Hill is a great place to work

      May 6, 2021 - Portfolio Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      McGraw Hill is a great place to work. Our mission is what brought me here, and the great people and caring leadership is what's keeping me. It's been great fun to lead my portfolio and team through the digital transformation our company and industry is experiencing.

      Cons

      We are constantly doing more with less. We are under-resourced in many areas of our business which makes the day to day work quite stressful.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work with terrific benefits

      May 11, 2021 - Design Lead in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work is meaningful, the employees are kind and intelligent, everyone cares to make learning better for all students. There were many opportunities for continuing education and expanding skills.

      Cons

      Emphasis was more on efficiency than creativity

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great while it lasted

      Feb 19, 2021 - Product Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      With multiple scrum teams, McGraw Hill was able to educate the entire product development side on agile methodologies. Almost everyone bought into 2-week sprint cycles, with a 2-4 release cadence. This is a monumental task for most large companies, and I appreciated that being seamless here. Work / Life balance was definitely promoted and adopted by most teams. In my case I had a great director and VP of product which promoted this balance even when we shifted to the COVID world. I have heard mixed feedback depending on which division you were under.

      Cons

      The product teams are constant operating with tight timelines and offshore engineering resources. This ends up cutting back on the quality of the product. Less time performing user research, means success is a toss-up when a new feature is launched. Offshore dev teams have a huge learning curve. Since the idea of localized teams is going away, there was a lot of team re-alignment going on. Pretty much every shift required a 2–3-month re-learning phase for the engineers to catch up, thus leading to releases to fall behind.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      McGraw Hill Response

      Talent Acquisition

      At McGraw Hill, we welcome feedback because it helps us learn and grow. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you were able to enjoy a work-life balance during your career with us. We also appreciate the advice you shared. Thank you for being a member of our team, and best of luck in your future endeavors!

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      So so...

      May 9, 2021 - Instructional Designer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are many friendly employee.

      Cons

      The work life balance is not good,

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      It was good

      May 6, 2021 - Finance in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits while I was therep

      Cons

      Management wasn’t always my favorite

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Fine place to work

      May 5, 2021 - Marketing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The ability to work with great people.

      Cons

      Larger company can mean lots of reorgs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good job if willing to travel

      May 4, 2021 - Sales Representative in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay with benefits and bonus

      Cons

      Lots of travel and living in hotels

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Apr 28, 2021 - Analyst in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good, great people to work with.

      Cons

      No longer provide a pension and 401K match was reduced from 6% to 4%.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company

      Apr 23, 2021 - Director Technology 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice People to talk to

      Cons

      Business headwinds are a challenge

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,006 Reviews

    Popular Careers with McGraw Hill Job Seekers

    Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Learning Technology Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at McGraw Hill? Share Your Experiences

    or