McGraw-Hill Sales Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

McGraw-Hill Sales Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
36%
Recommend to a Friend
McGraw-Hill Interim President and CEO Simon Allen (no image)
Simon Allen
0 Rating
  1. "Sales Manager Dominican Republic/ Sales Division Manager Puerto Rico"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great company that promotes and provides international essential digital information; and a wonderfull place to develop a career.

    Cons

    Unable to service areas where Internet and computers are not the primary source of information. Downsizing and layoffs.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2016-09-07
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Instability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall solid products and technology

    Cons

    Too many leadership and strategy swings.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2019-11-14

    McGraw-Hill Response

    November 18, 2019Talent Acquisition

    We show up every day with an insatiable desire to learn, grow and make a difference. Feedback like yours helps us do that, so thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We will take note of your feedback so we can improve. Thank you for being a member of our team, and best of luck in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Close to great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great compensation and benefits package.

    Cons

    Disjointed leadership and high turnover amongst key leaders in the organization.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2017-06-28
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Great Mission, Poor Guidance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The mission of unlocking the potential of every learner is spot on. The people are great, salaries are good.

    Cons

    Senior leadership works in a vacuum and is slow to react. The industry is undergoing an extreme transformation and the leadership continually makes bizarre decisions that give the company an identity crisis.

    McGraw-Hill2017-06-02
  5. "Large but small feeling organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill

    Pros

    Great education company to work for. As big as McGraw-Hill is as a company the department that I worked in was small with about 30 - 50 people, so it felt like a small business. At times, like in any organization, there is bureaucracy, but nothing out of the ordinary. There is an interest for senior management to identify talented people and promote them, but often those are people who are in the "in" crowd. As I felt that I was in the "in" crowd and was promoted I felt that many of my colleagues who didn't fit the "in" crowd group were overseen and passed when it came to give the opportunity to be promoted.

    Cons

    The "in" crowd mentality. There is often a lack of technology risks at the organization.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2016-01-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great people to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Technology. People who care about education. Best content in the industry. Great benefits. Ability to make changes in the organization quickly.

    Cons

    You will wear multiple hats. Apparently you need to have 20 Words here so I am writing this sentence to make this work.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2015-08-05
  7. "Great mission and purpose, but with various challenges in transitioning from publisher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some very dedicated and talented people working at MHE with a huge amount of experience Good autonomy and scope to collaborate across the global business Great products and great opportunity to earn good commission as there is a lot of opportunity if pitched appropriately. Good new senior management who have brought more balanced approach to direction of travel as a business

    Cons

    Strategy has changed drastically several times (as have all publishers) and as a result there has been a high turnover of people. Can be a slightly political environment with many decisions being based on rumour and popularity rather than an evidence based meritocracy

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2019-11-12

    McGraw-Hill Response

    November 14, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your thoughtful review and suggestions. We appreciate and value your feedback, and will use it so we can improve. Thanks for being a member of our team and best of luck in your future endeavors!

    Continue reading
  8. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    passionate colleagues, culture, vision, flexibility

    Cons

    There are no cons

    McGraw-Hill2018-09-20
  9. Helpful (6)

    "NOT A VERY GOOD PLACE TO WORK!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Manager in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time

    Pros

    A good place to learn about publishing industry, however there is no one left who can actually help you learn (2017)

    Cons

    Very bad people left in the system that are eating away the company. No stability in management. Perfect example of MIS management. Poor work ethics. No growth left.

    Continue reading
    McGraw-Hill2018-05-28
  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill for more than a year

    Pros

    120+ year company, with a start-up attitude.

    Cons

    Evolution pains from traditional print to digital business becoming primary.

    McGraw-Hill2017-11-23
Found 11 reviews