McGraw-Hill Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales Representative

McGraw-Hill Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
McGraw-Hill President and CEO  Nana Banerjee (no image)
Nana Banerjee
4 Ratings
  1. "They care about the sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you do your job and bring the company revenue, you will be left alone.

    Cons

    Is moving away from a sales role and into an account management role, with strong emphasis on training and less on selling.

    McGraw-Hill2019-07-08
  2. "Best of the big companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We have a GIANT K-12 list to sell, but that offers more options.

    Cons

    Managing the giant list can be overwhelming when there aren't enough supports, but most of the time specialists are available to help over the phone, via webinar, or in the field.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more specialists to support sales in the field (especially for ALEKS)

    McGraw-Hill2019-11-18
  3. "Good products, flexible work/life, good support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative 

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of people who care about doing a good job and help to ensure customer success.

    Cons

    Unpredictable market and cannot control market trends for oer.

    McGraw-Hill2019-09-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Some good, Some bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive upper management that continues to develop you as a professional

    Cons

    ALOT of busy work that takes away from being in front of customers.

    McGraw-Hill2019-09-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have a very supportive manager but not everyone is that lucky

    Cons

    They continue to pile onto the workload and don’t increase salaries

    Advice to Management

    Don’t burn everyone out in the summer

    McGraw-Hill2019-08-21
  6. "Fantastic total compensation package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits - in addition to the typical, account reps also get: company car, company phone, company computer, corporate card

    Cons

    Larger companies take a longer time to pivot as the market changes

    Advice to Management

    People are the key to success

    McGraw-Hill2019-08-30
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Think twice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some flexibility, okay benefits, smart people

    Cons

    Shrinking headcount, industry in transition

    McGraw-Hill2019-03-07
  8. "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    McGraw Hill is a great place to work. The company is always looking for ways to improve employees work/life balance. Throughout my tenure, the senior management has changed several times but, the outcomes have only been a pleasant surprise.

    Cons

    I cannot think of an issue that would need to be improved.

    McGraw-Hill2018-11-20
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Company in constant transistion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large employer, which is good

    Cons

    Overpaid micro management, everyone tells you how to your job. No communication

    McGraw-Hill2018-01-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The perfect place to be in higher education - great digital vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, salaries, people/culture, a clearly defined vision as a learning science company, great support so that reps are not expected to be doing the equivalent of 3 jobs. MHE has made the right investment in technology, systems, and people/culture.

    Cons

    None so far. Having come from a competitor, this feels like a dream. The systems are efficient, the onboarding is smooth and they make their employees feel important.

    McGraw-Hill2017-06-20
Found 52 reviews