McGraw Hill Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Oct 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
McGraw Hill President and CEO  Simon Allen (no image)
Simon Allen
97 Ratings
Pros
  • "great time and work-life balance(in 113 reviews)

  • "Great People and Excellent Benefirs(in 64 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "upper management would never be hired in management elsewhere(in 31 reviews)

  • "Abrupt mass layoff annually without any prior notice; no standard of work; no work-life balance(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of McGraw Hill and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Oct 5, 2020 - Performance Test Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Senior Management values transparency and employees

      Cons

      Lack of clear career paths especially for technical people

      1 person found this review helpful

      McGraw Hill Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your 10+ years of working at McGraw Hill. Best of luck in your future endeavors!

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great people solving important problems in education

      Jun 4, 2019 - Senior Technical Product Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have a lot of autonomy to drive solutions to real-world customer problems in the education space. The people are smart, fun, collaborative, mature, driven, and overall good eggs. I have had many opportunities to grow and take on more responsibility. Managers don't treat employees like children or monitor hours online and in the office. We all get our jobs done and respect each other's lives. People don't play the blame game. Everyone learns from mistakes and moves on. We have some of the best technical teams out there. I feel well compensated compared to other companies in this industry. Senior management makes themselves very available to anyone and are as open as possible with information.

      Cons

      Many people are stretched too thin to do quality work, and some people are performing the jobs of a higher title without the actual title or pay. There have been a few too many re-orgs, layoffs, and company strategy changes in the past couple of years, which have caused some morale issues. There has been disappointment around bonus payouts in the last couple of years. The health insurance is not great compared to other companies in this industry.

      7 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales Rep

      Nov 19, 2018 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      McGraw Hill is a great place to work. The company is always looking for ways to improve employees work/life balance. Throughout my tenure, the senior management has changed several times but, the outcomes have only been a pleasant surprise.

      Cons

      I cannot think of an issue that would need to be improved.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Death by 1000 Cuts ...

      Nov 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good, smart people work at MHE

      Cons

      Expect to get laid off, devalued, or minimized to the point of not being effective. Horrible senior management culture - good old boys, few women in leadership positions. CDO is a bad leader: lack of accountability, lack of adaptability, poor integrity.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It depends what stage of your career you are

      Apr 25, 2017 - Financial Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work life balance is the only thing you have there and that is depending what dept you work for

      Cons

      Benefits are very basic tuition reimbursement is basic, considering that they claim to be an e-learning company, they should have a more generous policy even offer to pay for everything due to cutting expenses there is no money to attend external trainning, there is so much you can learn through connect 2 culture and morale are down due to constant restructurings In my 3 plus years, I saw one promotion. Most of promotion happen due to reorgs and you know what that means(lots of works and almost with same pay Very few people hold graduate degrees. Most folks hold a job New Senior management is very hands off, very top heavy, that is why revenue wise they made more money but not employee wise Corporate functions are barely there. Finance dept has a solid operation HR is terrible, a lot of payroll mistakes, need to keep an eye on your paycheck at all times Finance controls everything, not upfront about budgets to sales, a lot of unethical issues

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Training process

      Jul 20, 2015 - Finance in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company going through an exciting shift from traditional print publication to digital publishing. Senior management is more accessible and more transparent in their decision making and goal setting. Performance is rewarded.

      Cons

      The on boarding process for training new financial employees is non-existent. Large amounts of outsourcing in key shared service areas making identifying responsible parties or managers of vendors virtually impossible. IT support thru ATOS is horrendous. They do not know their client,the systems that are used within the company and have no regard for the impact to the business for interruptions.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company

      Dec 31, 2015 - Learning Technology Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When in sales a lot depends on your local District Manager and leadership team. I am fortunate to have one of the best teams in the Company. Leadership is very flexible with schedules, however push you to do your best and achieve goal by years end. Overall HR is moving in the right direction with different programs that truthfully should have been in-place long ago.

      Cons

      This is a billion dollar startup as many within the company say... they are very growth oriented, however, with the transition to net sales and different strategy implemented this year it will be interesting to see how the next few years work with the transition to digital. The senior management is disconnected with the environment on campus and need to get out to visit with customers more often.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Large but small feeling organization

      Jan 5, 2016 - Manager Sales in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great education company to work for. As big as McGraw-Hill is as a company the department that I worked in was small with about 30 - 50 people, so it felt like a small business. At times, like in any organization, there is bureaucracy, but nothing out of the ordinary. There is an interest for senior management to identify talented people and promote them, but often those are people who are in the "in" crowd. As I felt that I was in the "in" crowd and was promoted I felt that many of my colleagues who didn't fit the "in" crowd group were overseen and passed when it came to give the opportunity to be promoted.

      Cons

      The "in" crowd mentality. There is often a lack of technology risks at the organization.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Without a Modern Salesforce, They'll Never Make It

      Oct 27, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits. Work/Life balance is adequate. Coworkers were mostly good people who just want to contribute to something and make a decent living. If you are comfortable with "managing up" and are good at it, you can remain at this company for decades.

      Cons

      Sales wants to continue as if it is 1990 and cheap, digital educational resources do not exist. Senior management, while finally embracing the notion that products should be developed for the digital platforms first and print second, still can't figure out how to sell digital products. Marketing and product development execs are often promoted from the salesforce, so the lack of good ideas sort of compounds itself. Workers in the trenches are often given vague assignments with no clear direction from management, and seeking clarity is discouraged. MHE just continues to watch competitors and respond to them, rather than taking the lead.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great quality of life... without the money.

      Aug 27, 2009 - Market Research Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Even though the goal is to make money, the way they do it is by making books that help teachers teach better and students learn more - this is rewarding. - Roles are clearly differentiated - you know what your job is. When something isn't part of your job, giving it to the correct person is such a part of the daily process that you don't feel guilty doing it. - There were clear policies in place for practically everything - salaries, benefits, vacations, reviews, admin work. This saved me a lot of time - I didn't have to search for information on everything I needed. It was laid out in front of me from Day 1. - There are yearly performance and salary reviews - I know most places say they do this, but then they really don't. At McGraw-Hill, you really will get feedback from at least two people (your supervisor and his/her supervisor), and probably at least a minor raise in pay. - They have programs that reward people when they do exceptionally good work, or when they have been at the company for a long time. Rewards were significant (I got the lowest level reward, which was $500). - They have programs in place to help their employees grow; for example, they have "volunteer day," book clubs where you actually meet the authors, and mentoring programs. - Hours are not bad at all. I worked 9-5, often left at 4:30, and never left after 6. My department was so good about planning ahead and foreseeing problems that we never had to stay late. - GREAT benefits

      Cons

      - It feels somewhat unstable. I arrived right after a huge round of layoffs, and left right before another huge round. The layoffs weren't decided based on how well people were doing their job - excellent employees from all different departments were let go. I think almost everyone knew others who lost their jobs. Every month or two, another rumor started about new layoffs or a reorganization. This made for a somewhat intimidating atmosphere. - While the atmosphere was cordial, it was not friendly. People spent time with others from their own departments. If you were in a very small department, it was very difficult to get to know many people. - The salary was mediocre at best. This is not so much a flaw of the company as a flaw of the educational publishing industry as a whole. - It is a BIG company. While a lot of the pros in the above section were actually made possible by the largeness of the company, it can also be a negative. You don't know the people making major decisions about your department, your workload, and your job stability. Even if you do a great job and your boss knows it, it won't necessesarily be your boss who decides whether you keep your job when the company reorganizes. It could be someone who you have never met and who has never seen your work product. - There was a bit of a strain between the Macmillan and Glencoe groups - the two had merged right before I arrived, and even when I left two years later, there was an obvious division between the groups. It was still cordial, but slightly divisive. - As with many companies, moving up depended on who you knew. Middle/senior management made some decisions based, in part, on their friendships. If you (or your boss) were not close to the right people, it became a much greater challenge to move up.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

    Popular Careers with McGraw Hill Job Seekers

    Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Learning Technology Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at McGraw Hill? Share Your Experiences

    or