McGraw Hill Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
McGraw Hill President and CEO  Simon Allen (no image)
Simon Allen
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "great time and work-life balance(in 113 reviews)

  • "Great People and Excellent Benefirs(in 64 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "upper management would never be hired in management elsewhere(in 31 reviews)

  • "Abrupt mass layoff annually without any prior notice; no standard of work; no work-life balance(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of McGraw Hill and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company with nice WLB

      Jan 12, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great time and work-life balance

      Cons

      The system is very complex

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      McGraw Hill Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for sharing your experience as a Software Engineer! We are glad to hear you are enjoying your career with us, and thank you for being a part of our team.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Happy I have moved on

      Jan 4, 2021 - Engineering 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      decent benefits.. 401k match (when i was an employee). flexible work from home policy

      Cons

      no product strategy... poor leadership. no opportunity for growth (unless you have an in with HBS). frequent layoffs.. no work-life balance (i was often required to work until 3am on a friday night). i could say more but its not worth it.

      6 people found this review helpful

      McGraw Hill Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for sharing honest feedback about your experience. We appreciate your thoughts as we work to keep pace with the changing industry and evolve as an organization. Please email us directly at talentacquisition@mheducation.com with any additional feedback you'd like to provide, and we'll ensure it's shared with the appropriate teams. Thank you again!

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company to work for.

      Jan 24, 2021 - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance, fair pay, decent benefits.

      Cons

      Not much room for growth and many managers take a back foot on career development of more junior engineers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      McGraw Hill Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for sharing your experience as an engineer at McGraw Hill. We appreciate your comments about work life balance and benefits, as well as where we can improve. Thanks again and best of luck in your future endeavors!

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Toxic place to work

      Dec 28, 2020 - Project Manager in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible hours and work-life balance

      Cons

      toxic culture of lack of ownership, managers throwing people under the bus, layoffs every six months with new managers every six months or a year at most. People being assigned to jobs with no experience or qualifications due to layoffs.

      5 people found this review helpful

      McGraw Hill Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to leave honest feedback about your experience. We appreciate your thoughts as we work to keep pace with the changing industry and evolve as an organization. Please email us directly at talentacquisition@mheducation.com with any additional feedback you'd like to provide. Thank you again.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Overall, a good place to work

      Nov 6, 2020 - Communications Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and a commitment to providing employees with a healthy work-life balance.

      Cons

      The overall lack of communication across business units and senior leadership can be frustrating. Also, there are not many opportunities for growth as an employee.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      McGraw Hill Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for sharing your experience about working at McGraw Hill. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the work-life balance, as well as your colleagues! We appreciate your note about communication and growth opportunities. While we do have a mentorship program and access to many professional development tools and resources, we are always looking to for ways to improve. Your feedback is appreciated! Thanks again.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Was once a great company, but now in steady and consistent decline, which is sad.

      Nov 8, 2020 - Marketing Director in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great employees, decent benefits, work life balance, well recognized brand.

      Cons

      LGBTQ, black, Asian, South Asian, hispanics are not treated well and almost none in senior leadership roles. Maybe a token or 2? Considering that they do business with the government, a blistering EOC audit is inevitable in 2021. Very few black or hispanic men!!!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Marketing Manager

      Dec 13, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, benefits & work perks, training resources.

      Cons

      Unrealistic work/life balance & lower salary than avg.

      2 people found this review helpful

      McGraw Hill Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for reviewing your experience at McGraw Hill. We're glad to hear you enjoyed working with your colleagues, and the perks and resources available to you. We strive to provide a flexible work environment and competitive compensation and benefits. If you'd like to provide further feedback, please email talentacquisition@mheducation.com. We'd like to learn more so we can improve. Thank you!

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work. Pay is low for industry.

      Sep 17, 2020 - Senior Project Manager in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/Life balance is fantastic. Leadership cares about employees. Like anywhere, your boss can be a Pro or a Con.

      Cons

      Pay is low compared to industry.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      McGraw Hill Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for your feedback! It's great to hear about the experience you've had in your 10 years at McGraw Hill! Thanks so much for being a part of our team.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Strong mission and dedication to education.

      Jun 9, 2020 - Associate Academic Designer in Woodland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CEO Simon Allen is a fantastic leader who is very candid with everyone in the company. There is a strong desire to make education equitable and truly be a learning science company. Everything during the stay-at-home orders has been very flexible and focused on keeping the employees safe.

      Cons

      Often like to keep workers on as contract rather than hired employees. The company has been working on the work-life balance issue for years, still a work in progress.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      McGraw Hill Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thanks so much for your review. We're glad to hear you feel supporting by leadership during this time, and appreciate your important feedback about working as a contractor. If you'd like to provide any further feedback, please email us at talentacquisition@mheducation.com. We'd love to find out more so we can improve. Thank you!

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Was a good place to work

      Jul 29, 2020 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-life balance and great co-workers

      Cons

      No longer a growth industry

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      McGraw Hill Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for leaving your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the people and flexibility at McGraw Hill. Thanks for being a part of our team.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 132 Reviews

    Popular Careers with McGraw Hill Job Seekers

    Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Learning Technology Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at McGraw Hill? Share Your Experiences

    or