McGraw-Hill "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

McGraw-Hill Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
McGraw-Hill CEO  Nana Banerjee (no image)
Nana Banerjee
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "McGraw-Hill Education is a family-oriented organization and incredibly flexible creating a solid work/life balance(in 90 reviews)

  • "Great people/culture; flexible work hours/options; rewarding work environment(in 55 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company to be with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Associate in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Management that looks out for sales team. Wonderful work/life balance.

    Cons

    Difficult pricing model to sell.

    McGraw-Hill2019-11-12
  2. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Tech Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Decent pay, You have the option to work from Home or remote. Great professional development opportunities and mentors. Laid back yet very professional work culture. Mcgraw-Hill is a very sold company to work for.

    Cons

    The health insurance can be better.

    Advice to Management

    With management it depends on what team and or department you land in. Management in NY and LA was pretty on point.

    McGraw-Hill2019-07-29
  3. Helpful (22)

    "Run, don't walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay, benefits, and work/life balance are excellent. The company does not discriminate, but hires diverse, quality people. You know you're doing something worthwhile.

    Cons

    Company has been a disorganized dumpster fire since being shed by the parent company and sold to Apollo. Now in the process of a "merger" with Cengage, which presumably wants only the name and goodwill that come with it. Company solves their mistakes with mass downsizings, while incompetent higher-ups and various useless departments are protected.

    Advice to Management

    None. You're finished when Cengage comes in anyhow. You might have considered asking employees to take voluntary pay cuts instead of resorting to mass firings that cost you more than they save

    McGraw-Hill2019-07-09
  4. "Great place to work, flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Dubuque, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They allow for a great work/life balance

    Cons

    Working through some market trends, but working hard to be successful

    McGraw-Hill2019-06-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Fairly compensated, family-oriented, flexible work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in Dubuque, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    McGraw-Hill Education is a family-oriented organization and incredibly flexible creating a solid work/life balance. Collaboration between colleagues and the leadership team is a real positive. Management does not micromanage employees. Rather, you are treated as professionals and trusted to complete your work in a timely and accurate manner. The work we do at MHE is noble. We provide educational materials for... instructors and students. Knowing that our work is making a difference in the world is really important and rewarding.

    Show More

    Cons

    Depending on the position, travel can be intense. The industry is in flux, which has caused some turbulence but has also created opportunity.

    McGraw-Hill2019-04-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, creative people, positive influence in the lives of kids.

    Cons

    Educational market is going through a lot of change.

    McGraw-Hill2019-05-08
  7. "Great experience, more than just a job !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked with McGraw-Hill for 10+ years and they have been good to me. Some of the perks the company offers are a great Work/Life balance, generous vacation/personal time, 401K with matching up to a specific percent, vision/dental/health benefits which include outside resource partnerships such as dependent care support, attorney assistance and other low to no cost resources, flexible scheduling... considerations, and self development tools offered as well. It is a performance/competency based company and they set goals each year of expectations to meet or exceed. If goals are met, there is potential for a merit increase. Promotion within does happen when the opportunity presents itself however, there are job postings for various levels which any employee may apply for if interested.

    Show More

    Cons

    Industry shifts mean the company must find a balance between progressing product and sales with budgets and operational costs.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to recognize talent, remain transparent by communicating pending changes when able or known.

    McGraw-Hill2019-04-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Project Manager in Dubuque, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, Work life balance, great coworkers

    Cons

    Yearly restructures and people being let go. Company dynamic is changing as MH shifts from publisher to eLearning. What we used to manage in publishing, we now also manage in eBooks, etc. Workload had greatly increased over past few years and management has turned a blind eye to it.

    Advice to Management

    Stop eliminating positions while increasing number of product offerings and expecting better results.

    McGraw-Hill2019-02-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time

    Pros

    Lots of creative work, problems to solve. Work/life balance is good.

    Cons

    Old corporate culture, some people coasting

    McGraw-Hill2019-02-05
  10. "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    McGraw Hill is a great place to work. The company is always looking for ways to improve employees work/life balance. Throughout my tenure, the senior management has changed several times but, the outcomes have only been a pleasant surprise.

    Cons

    I cannot think of an issue that would need to be improved.

    McGraw-Hill2018-11-20
Found 105 reviews