McGraw-Hill "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

McGraw-Hill Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
McGraw-Hill President and CEO  Nana Banerjee (no image)
Nana Banerjee
71 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place for the most part"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, people are very passionate about what the do, leadership does care about the employees

    Cons

    Accountability for shared services team "DPG" doesn't exist. Being owned by an investment company Apollo is not conducive to long term investment in the business - just care about short term cash flow.

    McGraw-Hill2017-08-31
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/ life balance isn't bad. Your able to work from home but you have to push for it.

    Cons

    No structure what so ever. Over all bad to work for.

    Advice to Management

    No chance

    McGraw-Hill2017-07-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to establish your career in the beginning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    User Experience In DPG 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill for less than a year

    Pros

    -Work life balance is pretty good for my department - hours are flexible so long as you demonstrate that you do the work, and you can work from home more often in the Digital Product Group, which means that you actually get more done -People really care about what they're working on - I've worked in enough places where there was a lot more apathy and less of a focus on customer satisfaction -At least in my experience, people actually collaborate and support each other on what they're working on. I've worked at other places where the atmosphere was a lot more competitive, but people will actually hear your ideas out.

    Show More

    Cons

    -Pay for junior and mid-career employees in my division is less than the average for the area where I work. -A lot of the software developers and TPMs in DPG seem really overworked and frustrated with the development process -we're not as agile as we should be. They receive far less support from senior management than they deserve, with too much pressure on building features rather than dealing with maintenance. To meet our business goals, we'd need to invest more manpower and resources...which we don't have. -Some (and certainly not all) the business sponsors have a good understanding of the market, but not so much the customer needs that aren't being met that should be incorporated into new feature/product development. They aren't UX experts - and that's OK! But there's still an attitude that "UX makes it look pretty and easy to use magically without enough time and research to back that up," which is driving away good people. I know of 3 really talented UX designers who've left because of the pressure from business units...not because of their DPG technical colleagues.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please consider converting more of the contractors - there are some really talented ones who've worked here for years who are overlooked. I have respect for employees who've been with McGraw Hill for 15+ years - but also please take into account the ideas from more junior employees who understand their domain area and can bring in other best practices and ideas from other industries where they've worked. Some divisions/product groups work with far fewer resources and shouldn't be evaluated by the same criteria as teams with dozens of people are.

    Show More
    McGraw-Hill2017-05-25
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Stressful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill

    Pros

    - Benefits are decent: health, 401(k) with 6% match; life insurance. - Salaries are relatively on par with other companies in the area. - Management will sometimes give a bonus for completing a project successfully (more about that under "Advice to Management").

    Cons

    - Work/life balance is given lip-service and then totally ignored. Someone in upper management was actually overheard saying that if they made the office nice enough, hopefully employees would forget about work/life balance and work more hours. Shameful. - There is definitely a "good ol' boy network" and unfortunately not all good ol' boys make "good ol' managers." - The Seattle office is open plan--it sounds like an Irish bar on St. Patrick's Day ALL the time. Impossible to hear yourself think, let alone talk on the phone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Dangling a "successful project completion bonus" in front of people is actually insulting--it says that you think people are too lazy to do their job without some sort of outside incentive. Give bonuses for a job well done after it's completed so it's a reward instead of a bribe. - You don't have to jump on the latest business fad in an attempt to seem trendy; some fads are worthless at best and counter-productive at worst. Open plan offices reduce productivity and are an insensitive disservice to the countless people who do not thrive in pandemonium and chaos.

    Show More
    McGraw-Hill2017-05-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Products - Outrageous Leadership Egos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    products, pipeline, pay, benefits, flexibility, work-life balance, onboarding, support

    Cons

    leadership egos, teammates practicing unethical tactics, manager

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the talented people and to what information they share.

    McGraw-Hill2017-05-10
  6. Helpful (7)

    "It depends what stage of your career you are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work life balance is the only thing you have there and that is depending what dept you work for

    Cons

    Benefits are very basic tuition reimbursement is basic, considering that they claim to be an e-learning company, they should have a more generous policy even offer to pay for everything due to cutting expenses there is no money to attend external trainning, there is so much you can learn through connect 2 culture and morale are down due to constant restructurings In my 3 plus years, I saw one promotion. Most of promotion happen due to reorgs and you know what that means(lots of works and almost with same pay Very few people hold graduate degrees. Most folks hold a job New Senior management is very hands off, very top heavy, that is why revenue wise they made more money but not employee wise Corporate functions are barely there. Finance dept has a solid operation HR is terrible, a lot of payroll mistakes, need to keep an eye on your paycheck at all times Finance controls everything, not upfront about budgets to sales, a lot of unethical issues

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you make so many reorgs, how can you measure improvement? Hire experts Get more involve, leadership style where you ask your employees what to do and take credit for solution should not happen at this level. You get paid the big bucks for a reason. Keep Investing money on building your platforms as other leaning software companies are getting ahead. You are so slow for innovation that is scary. Cut throat decisions will buy you time, but remember to be ethical.

    Show More
    McGraw-Hill2017-04-25
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGraw-Hill

    Pros

    -- A business transforming from print to digital makes for a challenging opportunity to reinvent and innovate. -- Work-life balance is fair and reasonable. -- Digital product customers are highly satisfied and see positive outcomes from use.

    Cons

    -- Lack of vision and accountability from senior leadership creates a chaotic culture with little planning and very reactive environment. -- Higher-Ed. Marketing re-org. and inexperienced leaders have sapped morale and made it challenging to move quickly and get anything done. -- Industry headwinds have this company significantly retracting in revenue and talent - this not a place for growth.

    Advice to Management

    -- Refocus on talent retention and improving culture - particularly in the Higher-Education division.

    McGraw-Hill2017-04-26
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can make good money, great leadership, upward mobility

    Cons

    long hours, no work/life balance

    McGraw-Hill2017-04-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Finance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY

    I have been working at McGraw-Hill for more than a year

    Pros

    Really good work life balance

    Cons

    pretty indecisive and takes a long time to make an executive decision

    McGraw-Hill2017-04-11
  10. "Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at McGraw-Hill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work / Life balance and family friendly environment

    Cons

    Low compensation. Limited growth opportunities

    McGraw-Hill2017-04-08
Found 107 reviews