McGregor Boyall Associates Reviews in London, England | Glassdoor

McGregor Boyall Associates London Reviews

Updated February 10, 2017
19 reviews

Filter

Filter

London, England (UK)

3.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Laurie Boyall
11 Ratings

19 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Recruitment consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - IT Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great training, large client list, decent commission

    Cons

    Sales environment, no work life balance, revolving door

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your review and your feedback which we value very highly.


  2. "It's Alright"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice working environment - two more words needed

    Cons

    Lacks commercialism - three more words needed

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback which has been passed on to our Senior Management Team.


  3. "Few KPI's but a lack of direction"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Laid back and few KPI's. Good salary.

    Cons

    Lack of direction, little delegation, top-down style, can be back stabby

    Advice to Management

    None

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    Jan 11, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback which will be passed to the Senior Team. We wish you luck with your future career.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture if you like the 'jack the lad' sort of humour. Very social, drinks every Thursday and Friday nights. No micro management and very laid back for a recruitment firm which is fantastic if you want an easier approach to sales. Good working environment.

    Cons

    Desperately need an IT department to assist with the business as they currently outsource. This is vital for any company as it is the engine driving the business. Needs addressing. The office is slightly run down and could do with simple things like cutlery, new toaster, a microwave that works... Benefits aren't as good as other companies but the working environment is much nicer to work in so it equals out.

    Advice to Management

    Spruce up the office like re painting and kitchen stuff. small things can make a huge difference! A proper IT department is vital and needs to be looked at.

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    Nov 16, 2016 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review and your valuable feedback. Having only very recently outsourced our IT function we acknowledge this is a period of adjustment and are working hard to iron out any kinks to ... More


  6. "McGregor Boyall"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Adult environment that isn't KPI driven. Great people.

    Cons

    MD sits in his ivory tower all day. Senior management very poor. Old boys club. No vision to take the business forward.

    Advice to Management

    Engage with your workforce. Tell your consultants the business strategy.

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    Oct 5, 2016 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback. Your comments will be passed to the Management Team and we wish you the best of luck for the future.


  7. "Recruiter"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Recruiter in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good client base, very nice people, relaxed working.

    Cons

    Little to no training or investment in your development.

    Advice to Management

    Given already

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    Aug 4, 2016 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your comments and your constructive feedback which will be passed to the Management Team. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and wish you luck in the future.


  8. "Genuinely good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good people - Variety of high performers and market specialists that you can learn from. It is also has a good office environment. Non KPI driven culture unlike some of McGregor Boyall's competitors. Very impressive client list so if you're an FS Recruiter you'll be lucky to work with as many clients anywhere else. Supportive team environment and lots of opportunities to socialise and network across the business. Excellent commission scheme paying up to 30%.

    Cons

    Long hours like any other recruitment position. The offices could do with being modernised.

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    Feb 5, 2016 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your positive feedback and for taking the time to leave a review! We encourage a collaborative environment and it is great to hear that is reflected around the business.


  9. "Great place to work!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    McGregor Boyall is a really 'down to earth' company to work for that is sure to keep you laughing throughout the working day. We are a hard working, collaborative bunch that will always help each other out.

    Cons

    You need to have the drive and determination to succeed as you are not micro managed.

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    Jan 29, 2016 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your positive review! It's great to hear that we have such a cheerful and enjoyable working environment. Thanks for taking the time to post a review!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Professional environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Every recruitment company you interview with will talk about how collaborative they are. I've been in the industry over a decade and this is the first time I've found it to be true. I don't know how they created this culture but I reckon it would be nigh on impossible to recreate it elsewhere.
    It's a grown-up environment where you are allowed to get on with your work and bring in the business.
    Of course management use KPIs to get a sense of future pipeline but consultants are not driven by specifics such as call volume. They are encouraged to do whatever brings in the money.

    Cons

    If you are not a naturally driven person you may struggle to maintain best practices in an environment that gives guidance but doesn't stand over you with a big stick.

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    Dec 18, 2015 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for leaving such great review. Collaboration is one of our 4 core values that we communicate to everyone from day one and it is great to hear that we have buy in from our employees. Thanks ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Not the place for S3 school of Recruitment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Search Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Search Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McGregor Boyall Associates full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great working culture - Rewarding for self-motivated people.
    Excellent client relationships in banking.

    Cons

    Poor working environment for KPI driven people and aggressive recruiters.

    McGregor Boyall Associates Response

    Jul 28, 2015 – Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a positive review. We are committed to a culture of collaboration and accountability at McGregor Boyall and we welcome your feedback!


Showing 19 of 31 reviews
Reset Filters