McKesson Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

McKesson Account Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
34%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
McKesson CEO Brian Tyler
Brian Tyler
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Life Changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKesson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Words can't describe how amazing it is to work for such a phenomenal company, from the work environment to the leadership and everything in between, nothing falls short of outstanding.

    Cons

    The traffic leaving the office, but even the parking in the morning is great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the phenomenal work!

    McKesson2019-10-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Teamwork Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, constant improvement of employee relations, great salary

    Cons

    Very large company, many people working remote

    McKesson2019-09-12
  3. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Account Manager in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable, nice building, benefits

    Cons

    Harassment, no work life balance

    Advice to Management

    I worked and reported uncompensated hours for 2 years. Management would not look into my claims. Off color comments are routinely made.

    McKesson2019-09-09
  4. "Not so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee, but that is about it.

    Cons

    There are too many backstabbers.

    Advice to Management

    It's not all about the money

    McKesson2019-08-03
  5. "Masters drug company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Manager in Mason, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McKesson full-time

    Pros

    Decent hours, no weekends, okay benefits, relaxed environment.

    Cons

    Starting pay here is a joke, $12/hr + commission. Most inside sales jobs are offering 50-100% more base pay and better comp packages. Change is generally very slow here.

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, Fire the bottom 20-25%% of employees here and IMMEDIATELY redistribute their pay to the 75-80%. There are some people here who are satisfied with the $12, have no desire to grow the business, and they need to go. Forget Masters and River City separately and re-brand as MDC so we can all take care of each others accounts. Bring some ICARE principles to this location. There is zero accountability in other departments, AR here is a joke and customers can never pay their bill or get info regarding their account. This location is in Mason Ohio and $12 can't even cover lunch in this city. Its pretty absurd that McKesson didn't increase starting pay after the acquisition from Denny Smith event after a 50% increase in profit margins after the 1st year. Stop giving all of the good business to "Corporate reps". These guys aren't any better, or more qualified, than anyone else that works here.

    Show More
    McKesson2019-06-25
  6. "Best company in our segment by far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at McKesson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong portfolio and service model.

    Cons

    Freudian comp plan and getting worse. Trying to get in line with Medline and Schein.

    Advice to Management

    Actions not words. Let your sales force sell and get out of our way.

    McKesson2019-05-06
  7. "Courier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Eagle, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKesson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and the people are fun to work with and the team works well together, like one big family. Management is fair and corporate listens to their employees in all levels.

    Cons

    Holidays and weather make the job challenging at times and takes precious family time away. The physical toll the job takes on the body is exhausting at times.

    Advice to Management

    Work on consistent communication

    McKesson2017-09-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Run like the government. Too long to make decisions. Just buy companies to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The sales reps that can't sell become managers. The commissions are low that they bought all the major players. If you like never leaving your home. Great job.

    Cons

    Sales managers that can't support sales. Might as well just hire soccer moms to sell part time because that is what this company is about now

    Advice to Management

    Better pay for sales producers.

    McKesson2017-07-06
  9. "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKesson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits are good. A lot of PTO, great ESPP, and fun company.

    Cons

    They could pay employees more

    McKesson2016-12-08
  10. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKesson

    Pros

    Flexible company permitting work from home. Peers are very helpful and willing to jump in when needed. They understand the need for teamwork.

    Cons

    Lack of corporate direction, leadership and eroded customer base. Customers understand the new software is not the quality it once was. It's hard to constantly work around major issues and missed software dates or features. Always felt like I was lying at the end of my time with the org.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the HIT business and move on. Stick with the pharma business which you do extremely well.

    McKesson2016-09-07
Found 27 reviews