McKesson Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales

McKesson Sales Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
63%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
McKesson CEO Brian Tyler
Brian Tyler
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "McKesson"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Sales in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Can be a good career destination

    Cons

    McKesson sold off Zee Medical

    McKesson2016-02-23
  2. "Good, strong company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Sales Representative in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKesson for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Infolab is now owned by McKesson Medical Surgical, and they are a good company to work for.

    Cons

    A big company, so one might find it hard to stand out among so many talented and hardworking people.

    Continue reading
    McKesson2016-02-08
  3. "McKesson Medical-Surgical Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKesson

    Pros

    $800 per month stipend for gas/cell/hotel, etc is nice (you'll need it). Very clear about why you're being paid what you're being paid. Eat what you kill. If you make big sales, then you get paid. And if you don't/fall behind your goals, then it hurts. If you get into a good market with a lot if opportunity, then things can go really well. Urgent Cares are popping up like hot cakes.

    Cons

    New "buckets" for commission pay, depending on what manufacturers' products you're selling, has been a real pain for many reps. Ends up hurting the rep if you sell certain items to doctors, when the items they (McK) want you to sell maybe be inferior or just not what the doctor wants. Biggest competitors are other reps in the area and inaccessibility to IDN contracts. Hospital's buying up independent physician offices is biggest obstacle. Plan on losing at least 5-10% of your accounts per year.

    Continue reading
    McKesson2016-01-20
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Incompitence promoted by brown nosing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Forward thinking company. Fast paced. Decent pay. Multi divisional so room to grow.

    Cons

    Managers who are promoted from the good ole boys. Ageist. Tend to find creative ways to axe the older higher paid employees.

    Continue reading
    McKesson2015-11-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Internal Sales Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Sales Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McKesson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    McKesson is a large wonderful company that has a lot of competitive benefits that may not be available to smaller regional companies. They have a significant focus in community programs and contribute to wonderful causes.

    Cons

    Due to its size, it can take a very long time for new programs, promotions, or processes to take affect at McKesson. Sometimes, internal movement and promotions are not as prominent as many may be led to believe because the work load is very busy for a lot of the sub-McKesson groups and they cannot afford to send senior reps into new positions.

    Continue reading
    McKesson2015-09-15
  6. "McKesson at it best and Worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    District Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at McKesson

    Pros

    Fortune 15 company, excellent benefits, Health Care, Good going to marketing tools

    Cons

    Too bureaucratic, too many layer of management, way overboard on reporting requirement, more of a administration office job that than sales.

    Continue reading
    McKesson2015-09-11
  7. "Fair compensation, little training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Support Specialist in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at McKesson for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Exposure to Pharma industry 2. Exposure to Salesforce and SAP

    Cons

    Training only consists of shadowing colleagues.

    Continue reading
    McKesson2015-07-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McKesson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lot's of internal opportunities and great benefits.

    Cons

    Very large company and sometimes very complex to navigate.

    McKesson2015-04-27
  9. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Sales Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKesson

    Pros

    It was good and the cafeteria food was good

    Cons

    It was hectic - I hated the drive home

    Continue reading
    McKesson2015-05-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity to work with a company that has immense size and reputation in the market."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McKesson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits, had a great support staff and all the people that worked there were good people. My boss and boss' boss were all great people and very supportive. It's a lot easier to sell something made by McKesson than a new player in the market that hasn't yet built a great reputation for itself.

    Cons

    I was in a junior sales role - my first role as a sales person - and had a sales manager who had never sold before, so I received very little coaching until it was clear that I needed coaching. On one hand, sometimes learning by the sink or swim method works really well - and I learned a lot; on the other hand, a little coaching early on can go a long way for a junior sales person. I would suggest only experienced sales people to take a job here.

    Continue reading
    McKesson2015-03-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 64 reviews